The Savidge Reads Advent Calendar Day Two (Delayed and Deleted, Bah Humbug)

Apologies for the belated second Savidge Reads Advent Calendar post, on the second day of Christmas the internet gave to me… a nasty virus which wouldn’t allow me to log onto anything, it simply opened my internet window said I had done something terrible and then closed down my computer. Sadly this has meant something even more awful has now happened, a complete computer wipe and rewrite. Annoyed much? Oh yes. However weirdly there is a bright side to it in some ways.

I was saying a while back that I was pondering on all the books I have read this year and haven’t written full book thoughts/reviews on. Well the semi written posts are all gone now so that seems to solve the problem. My list of bloggers I visit has vanished so I have adventures searching for all of them to come and probably finding new ones along the way. Also my TBR spreadsheet of all the books I own and where they are has vanished so now I have no idea where any of my books are in which boxes. It feels oddly liberating (and you should see the amount of space I now have on my computer, I just need to figure out how to get the wifi working again – thank goodness for smart phones in the interim). It feels like a new start and just the time to get thinking about my new reading resolution which I aim to start not on January 1st but December the 21st – more thoughts on that soon.

I can imagine you are all thinking ‘stop going on and tell us what book you are giving away today’. Well… I had aimed to giveaway a book which I was almost finished reviewing but that’s all gone down the pan (I will finish this review as its one of my non-fiction books of the year) and so instead as the virus’s name has a criminal link, which I won’t put in here as I don’t want to attract its attentions again, and because I think its criminal to spread these evil things I thought I would give away a crime book which though I haven’t read as yet, is at the top of the TBR and looks like it should be brilliant. (I have met the author though and interviewed him for The Readers Manchester Literature Special.)

The book is ‘Burned’ a debut crime novel by Thomas Enger, here’s the synopsis…

“A Brutalised Victim in the Wilds: A solitary tent is found to contain the body of a half-buried woman. She’s been stoned to death. There are lash marks across her back. One of her hands has been cut off. A Lone Voice: Two years earlier internet reporter Henning Juul lost his son, Jonas, in a domestic fire. As he returns to work, physically and emotionally scarred, Henning struggles to escape this past and to be taken seriously again as a reporter – by his colleagues, his ex-wife and the police. A Mystery Ignited: Told to cover the story of the woman in the tent, he finds an increasingly dangerous trail and, despite an early arrest, he is convinced that the story is more complex than the police think…”

That to me sounds like a gripping thriller and I am very much looking forward to some icy Nordic crime (note the iciness is a tenuous link to the time of year), I was going to say that I can imagine reading this in front of a fire on the sofa, I am not sure with the title how appropriate that might be. Anyway, the lovely Faber and Faber - and I think what they are doing with their crime division at the moment is marvellous – have kindly offered two paperback copies of this to give away internationally. All you need to do is simply leave a comment telling me what your favourite icy crime has been this year and why before 11am GMT tomorrow Saturday the 3rd. Simple as that.

10 Comments

Filed under Give Away, Random Savidgeness

10 responses to “The Savidge Reads Advent Calendar Day Two (Delayed and Deleted, Bah Humbug)

  1. Orla

    Have you ever thought about using a site like LibraryThing (or Goodreads) to keep track of your books and where they are? I use LibraryThing and I find it to be great. And you can pick up some great recommendations as well!

  2. No giveaway entry for me, especially as I’ve not read an icy crime! How remiss of me. Smilla’s Sense of Snow is still the first book that pops into my head when you say ice crime though :)

    Wanted to say EECKS so sorry about the virus. I am terrified by the thought of losing everything, wow. Liberating perhaps but… Wow. Best of luck recovering!

  3. You have a TBR spreadsheet…?!

  4. caroline Scott

    My favourite icy crime novel this year has been Hypothermia by Arnaldur Indridason. It begins with a suicide that just might be a murder but develops into a novel about missing people, love and dealing with loss. I found myself thinking about its themes long after I’d read the final page and that cannot be said for all crime novels.

    P.S. As someone who has recently experienced a hard drive melt down you have my sympathy over the computer virus!

  5. Argh, poor you with the virus! I had the same thing happen to mine a few years ago – lost lots of photos too. Apparently clever IT people can get some stuff back…
    (No entry for me this time, as I’m far too squeamish for crime!)

    And I do recommend LibraryThing – I go to it on my phone in shops, to check whether or not I have a book before I buy it!

  6. Susan in TX

    So sorry about the virus! There’s something very disconcerting about losing everything off of the computer. I must say, though that this “It feels oddly liberating (and you should see the amount of space I now have on my computer,” had me laughing out loud! If it weren’t for bookish stuff on my laptop, it would probably only have the factory stuff. :) I hope you are able to recover all that you would like to recover (On one hand, I understand your relief at losing the TBR spreadsheet, but on the other hand, I think my heart skipped a beat at the thought! ;) Esp. after hearing you talk about it on the Readers podcast this week.)
    No entry for me this time – just had to post some sympathy and best wishes for you.

  7. Frankie

    I always feel so terrible when this happens to folks – seems like you’re taking it with your chin up, so good on you! The TBR lists would be especially upsetting. Hope the Wifi gods smile upon you soon!

  8. Bet

    I had a nasty virus a few months ago and lost everything. My techie friend was able to find the source of the virus, but was not able to restore much of my data. :-/

    I would love to enter! My favorite, most recent, icy crime novel is The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo. I found it un-put-downable! I liked the political and psychological twists, though it was awfully sad.

  9. Poor you — but may I suggest you consider getting a Mac? This kind of thing is almost unheard of on them. As for icy crime — I am a huge fan of this as you may know — and the last one I read was also the best this year — The Hypnotist by Lars Kepler (actually a pseudonym for a couple of literary academics). Rather brutal at times but highly intelligent and well written with lots of red herrings and twists and turns — I loved it.

  10. EllenB

    I just finished, and very much enjoyed The Boy in the Suitcase by Kaarberbol & Friis, two Scandinavian authors who are, I believe, Danish. Although it does not take place in the winter it has that very Scandinavian crime novel feel to it and is quite gripping.

Leave a Reply

