Sweet Tooth – Ian McEwan

There are some authors we each hold so dear that as soon as they have a new book coming out you are simply palpitating at the very thought. Ian McEwan is one such author for me; I am a big fan of all of the novels of his I have read and indeed many of his short stories, so that over time he has become a favourite, even if I have occasionally been a little non-plussed by a story or book along the way. I was particularly excited about ‘Sweet Tooth’ as from the start there were murmurs that this was McEwan’s first proper ‘thriller’, I say proper because there are often thrilling literary elements in all his novels, so as soon as it arrived all life was on hold until I had read it, yes that is how excited I was.

****, Jonathan Cape, 2012, hardback, fiction, 320 pages, kindly sent by the publisher

‘Sweet Tooth’ is set in London during the early 1970’s which, looking back, was a time of great uncertainty with the IRA and the Cold War and a time of social change illustrated in part by, as McEwan brings up more than once, supermarkets and supermarket trolleys cropping up here there and everywhere. It is in this period that our narrator, Serena Frome (rhymes with ‘plume’), ends up working for MI5 and becoming a spy as part of a project called ‘Sweet Tooth’. Serena is given the task of, with her beauty and love of books, getting author Tom Haley to join in a government funded venture which promotes authors with leftish views, apparently this happened. Yet at the same time is Serena being toyed with and spied on herself as an affair with one of her lecturers, who led her to MI5, starts to be scrutinised when it appears that he wasn’t quite the spy everyone thought he was.

One of the things I liked about ‘Sweet Tooth’ so much from the start was that there is so much going on albeit so subtly you do ponder in the first 80 pages if there is going to be a ‘thrilling’ pace at any point because lots of things meander along. As we get to know Serena’s story, which is told after 40 years of hindsight, the hints of her sexual freeness, family background and obsession with escaping into books slowly builds a portrayal of her, though we are never sure quite of her motives or actions. I should mention her that there is a certain coldness and distance from her, coming no doubt from all that happens in the story we read and being a spy, that I did initially think ‘this is so not Ian McEwan’. Yet whilst much is hinted at as the story develops there are almost too many strands none of which are quite fully fleshed out.

As Serena meets Tom Haley everything really kicks off a gear and yet it all slows down at once. The mention of the IRA and Cold War even politics, which I was finding oddly fascinating, sort of fall away to be replaced with a tale about an author in the 1970’s. The book becomes less and less a thriller and more almost a fictionalised account of the author himself. If I was a thriller fan I have to say about 160 pages in I would have been feeling quite cheated, as a fan of McEwan I read on because I wanted more of the story and to see where Serena, who I found oddly compelling as I didn’t know if I liked her or not, went (and the twists at the end do make the book) and also to learn more about Ian McEwan, oh hang on, I mean Tom Haley.

‘My evenings now were empty. I came home from work, took my groceries from ‘my’ corner of the fridge, cooked my supper, passed the time with the solicitors if they happened to be around, then read in my room in my boxy little armchair until eleven, my bedtime. That October I was absorbed by the short stories of William Trevor. The constrained lives of his characters made me wonder how my own existence might appear in his hands. The young girl alone in her bedsit, washing her hair in the basin, daydreaming about a man from Brighton who didn’t get in touch, about the best friend who had vanisged from her life, about another man she had fallen for whom she must meet tomorrow to hear about his wedding plans. How grey and sad.’

The thing that really sold me on the book was the fact that it is all about books, in fact to be honest it is much more about books and writing than it is spies. As I mentioned Serena is a book lover and as we learn of her love of books, as book lovers, we like her a lot more. As she reads up on Haley, his journalism and retells, which seemed slight odd at first, his short stories (which read a lot like McEwan’s early short stories funnily enough, these were wonderful) we almost get a literary critique from as Serena analyses them looking for Haley in them. It is quite an unusual technique, and indeed novel, in a lot of ways and will either really work for you, once you get past the ‘this isn’t really a thriller’ element, or will fall completely flat.

I think, in hindsight and after giving it some thought, ‘Sweet Tooth’ is very much a book from McEwan for his already established audience, which his publishers have labelled his ‘thriller’ rather than saying ‘McEwan does a book about spies and books’ because it might sell better (though it’s McEwan so it will sell regardless, let’s be honest) and reach a new audience. This could prove an error as anyone seeking a thriller won’t get what they are expecting, and that could lead to some serious disappointment. I personally was expecting something along the lines, only different because it was McEwan, of William Boyd’s ‘Restless’ which I really liked. Subsequently I spent a little time being disheartened that the thrills and spills weren’t really there, as I imagined with McEwan they would have been so good, but was won over, and ended up liking the book a lot, because I felt it was the first time I really got into the head of Ian McEwan which I was happy with and also it is a very bookish book. Objectively though, my fandom aside, I am not sure a ‘thriller’ fan would feel quite the same way though.

19 Comments

Filed under Ian McEwan, Jonathan Cape Publishers, Review

19 responses to “Sweet Tooth – Ian McEwan

  1. I am intrigued, I have read several Ian McEwan books and enjoyed them, and this one sound like my kind of thing – I do like subtlety!

  2. gaskella

    Got to get me a copy asap!

  3. Col

    I’m a fan of Ian McEwan too so have been looking forward to getting a copy of this. From your review I’m intrigued – sometimes with his books I find myself not finding the story great but still loving the book because of the way he writes! This sounds like it might be one of those – cant wait to find out either way! I’ve also got his interview about the book for BBC 2 last night on Sky+ so will have that to watch over breakfast later this morning!!!

    • Oooh I haven’t thought about that actually, the whole writing over story with McEwan, but you might be right. That said I just couldn’t do ‘Saturday’ I need to try and read that one again at some point.

  4. I love him and would really like to read this! Thanks.

  5. JoV

    If anyone is looking for a McEwan’s thriller book, it would be “Enduring Love”. I was amaze how fast paced the book is. One of my favourite.

  6. Great review, but not sure where I stand on McEwan really. It sounds to me like a strong set-up, and then a let-down..like most of his stuff then. Solar anyone? That was a blatant excuse to cash-in. I’ll give it a go, because he can write beautifully at times – his problem is, he doesn’t know what to write about. Look at Atonement for example – a glorious first half, then dribbles off into a standard snooze-along with a rather trite ending. Maybe this will be better…

    • Ooooh thats a little bit of a harsh critique on McEwan, I don’t find him an author that lets me down often, only Solar left me a little puzzled. I also think I do have overly high expectations of his books.

  7. Well, I read it, didn’t I. And I bloody loved it. So much better than his previous efforts. What a read! http://thebookboy.co.uk/sweet-tooth-ian-mcewan-review/

  8. Michael Duffy

    I felt really conflicted when I finished it. There’s a bit of an academic ramrod against Ian McEwan but I loved a few of his novels when I read them over the past few years; comfort of strangers, Saturday and on Chesil beach for instance. I’ve written a review of the book too, looking back I think I’ve not given it the credit it deserves , but this may be due to my high expectations… http://gatsbyscar.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/sweet-tooth-by-ian-mcewan/

    • Michael that might be just the same reason that I enjoyed this book so much but didn’t love it quite as much as I wanted to, even though I liked it alot, because I expect soooo much. I’ll do it all again with the next one.

  9. Pingback: Sweet Tooth, by Ian McEwan | Novel Insights

  10. dawn

    Sometimes I love Ian McEwan’s work, sometimes not so much. I’m 107 pages into Sweet Tooth and it just seems to be getting interesting. Your review gives me hope that it won’t turn out to be a giant “MEH.” I’ll keep going …

  11. Pingback: When The Fan Hits The Shit!!!!……….What I Thought Of Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan | theonlywayisreading

Leave a Reply

