Can You Recommend Any Good Bookshops In… Cornwall?

So after my earlier request, here is the second of the two ‘can you recommend any good bookshops in…’ posts today. This one is from one of the Savidge Readers, Susan, who has asked for your recommendations of bookshops in Cornwell as she and her husband are visiting this month. So can you help?

Lands End, Cornwall

I myself haven’t been to Cornwall for years and years and years, I should add I would love to, so I cannot be of much help. That said I do know of one. Hurley Books, also known as The Cornish Bookshop, is run by Liz Hurley (no not that one) in Mevagissey. Now whilst I haven’t been to visit myself, back when Polly and I did Discovering Daphne season on our blogs, Liz really supported the whole thing, especially as Daphne of course loved Cornwall and made it her home, yet another reason I would love to go. In fact maybe I should ask Liz if I can go and live there and help out for a week or two hahaha.

Back to the realms of reality, which bookshops in Cornwall would you recommend if you are from that beautiful area, or indeed if you have visited?

4 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

4 responses to “Can You Recommend Any Good Bookshops In… Cornwall?

  1. What a coincidence! I went to St. Ives at the beginning of the summer and only posted my review for one of the bookshops a couple of days ago:

    http://bundleofbooks.org/2012/09/01/st-ives-bookseller-st-ives/

    There was a second bookshop in St. Ives that I really liked but haven’t started the review yet I’m afraid. It’s called The Harbour Bookshop. It’s not hard to miss because St. Ives is quite a small place.

  2. FleurFisher

    I can only do the far south-west, but here goes:

    For new books The End of the World Bookshop in Penzance, The St Ives Bookshop in St Ives and The Falmouth Bookshop in Falmouth. All have a good general stock and a lot of Cornish books.

    For secondhand Newlyn Books in Penzance (art as well as books) and there’s a very good bookshop in Falmouth opposite the Falmouth Bookshop. Truro has a small shop in an arcade near the cathedral with a diverse stock, and there’s another shop best suited to those who want older editions of serious authors.

    Fowey has Bookends, which is wonderful for DDM and her contemporaries, but you do need a good budget.

    There’s a lovely cafe/ bookshop in St Just and Penzance has the Morrab Library, one of only a handful of independent libraries left in the country. It’s well worth a visit, and there is always someone on hand to show visitors around, but there are building works in progress at the moment.

  3. Launceston has quite a good one, called Launceston Books, if memory serves.

  4. I was about to recommend the St Ives Bookseller, but bundleofbooks got there ahead of me :)

Leave a Reply

