Classically Challenged Giveaway #1; Persuasion by Jane Austen

So to get Classically Challenged off to a wonderful start officially Oxford University Press have kindly offered to give away three copies of ‘Persuasion’ by Jane Austen on my blog and another three on AJ’s blog too. It is the first read of the series, so with only three and a half weeks to get it to you and let you have time to read it for the first Classically Challenged discussion on Sunday the 28th of October this initial giveaway is UK based only.

So what do you have to do to win one of these gorgeously covered copies of ‘Persuasion’? Well, now that you have asked, you need to do a little persuading for me and for AJ. You see ‘Bleak House’ and ‘Great Expectations’ are neck and neck with votes to be read in December and we would like you to simply recommend one of them in the comments below, and/or in the comments on AJ’s post, telling us why you loved it so much. If you haven’t read either yet then you can simply state which one you would most like to read out of the two. It is that simple.

You have until midnight GMT on Saturday night to enter the draw and the winners will be chosen at random out of a hat and announced on Monday when we announce which Dickensian delight we will be reading from your votes. Good luck and don’t forget to double your chances by visiting AJs blog too!

9 Comments

Filed under Classically Challenged, Give Away, Oxford University Press

9 responses to “Classically Challenged Giveaway #1; Persuasion by Jane Austen

  1. Pingback: Classically Challenged Giveaway #1 – Persuasion by Jane Austen

  2. Oh Hurrah!! I missed Classically Challenged part 2, so this is the first I’ve heard that you chose Persuasion (or rather, it got the most votes) esp. as it is my fav and I pinned my colours to the mast early on. I don’t want to enter the give-away as I already have a copy of Persuasion, but in terms of Dickens, they are both crackers, but for me Bleak House nudges it I suspect because I studied Great Expectations and am honestly a bit sick of it!!

  3. I would vote for Bleak House because Great Expectations is so well known, it would be nice to give Bleak House a go. I am, like yourself, an avid reader and yet am a little classically challenged so I am hugely excited by this!

  4. Nadine Nys

    It is a difficult choise, but I would go for Great Exceptations…
    BTW, I’m glad you didn’t end up with Jude the Obscure. I finished it last week and it is indeed the most depressing book I ever read. I like a bit of drama but this really was too much.

  5. Russell Gray

    Great Expectations – how can you pass up the tale of an orphan boy with a mysterious benifactor, who becomes wealthy. Then is bewitched by a young girl raised to hate me, by one of the craziest and most wonderful characters in literature (yes, I mean you Miss Havisham). After reading Rebecca, I have to say Great Expectatioins is right up your alley.

    Bleak House is good and more likely a better piece of literature. But it is not as great a story.

    (P.S. In the new movie Helena Boham Carter playing Mis Havisham in the new movie version coming out – is perfect!!!)

    Russell

  6. mee

    I’ve been meaning to read Great Expectations for a while now, though have not really taken the plunge. Hope you guys pick that one, so I may get that last push to start!

  7. Katy

    I vote for Bleak House. Not only did many of the characters’ lines and descriptions make me belly-laugh out loud as I read it in bed at night, but the BBC adaptation version with Gillian Anderson is really marvelous and added motivation to finish.

  8. I would like to read both but seeing as I now own a copy of Great Expectations I vote that one. You reading it might encourage me. No need to enter me in giveaway I have a lovely copy of Persuasion already.

  9. Kate G

    I’m in the US, so sadly no new copy of Persuasuin for me (although I just borrowed a nice new Penguin Classics copy from the library!). Personally, I did not finish Bleak House while I was in college; it bored me to tears. I was barely 19 and am a much different reader now. I have read Great Expectations recently, so to challenge myself, I vote for Bleak House!

Leave a Reply

