Savidge Reads Library Loot #2

So here is the second in my new series of vlog posts where I get to embarrass myself once more talk to you all about the latest books that I have borrowed from the library, and waffle a lot about why.

The books mentioned in this video, in order, are…

Havisham by Ronald Frame
Black Water Rising by Attica Locke
Florence and Giles by John Harding
Everything I Found on the Beach by Cynan Jones
Miss Ranskill Comes Home by Barbara Euphan Todd
High Wages by Dorothy Whipple
The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi Durrow
Living in the Maniototo by Janet Frame
The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
The Chrysalids by John Wyndham

What have you recently acquired from the library? Have you read any of the above and if so what did you think of them?

34 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

34 responses to “Savidge Reads Library Loot #2

  1. Shukriyya

    “But I did it because it didn’t involve any sport at all.” – Ha!

    I put some of these on my TBR list. Also, I really liked “Frankenstein” when I read it a couple of years ago. Hope you’ll enjoy it as well!

  2. If you like The Plague of Doves, Erdrich’s Love Medicine is a modern classic in the States. I think won some fancy awards back in the day, but it’s more or less the most taught Native American story in literature classes over here. Plus, it’s interconnected short stories, which I love. I think The Round House is the new one, which just won the National Book Award in the US.

  3. I also laughed at the no sport comment! But in a nice way, not a mocking way.
    Someone bought me Florence and Giles a while ago so I really must read it, it does look brilliant.
    I only read Dracula this year, I’ve never read Frankenstein, the cover looks like one of the new Penguin Classics series? All of those covers are lovely, I got an Edgar Allan Poe collection from that series.
    Just got The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, you recommended one of her books a while ago so am excited to read it.
    I enjoy your library loot – I do exactly the same, just wander around and see what appeals. It’s really annoying when someone reserves the books you have and then you can’t renew them. Grr.

    • It is indeed a Penguin edition, they are lovely aren’t they?

      I don’t mind too much if someone reserves the ones I have, means people are reading and I can just reserve them back.

  4. David

    It was ‘The Round House’ by Louise Erdrich that I’d read, Simon, and I did indeed love it – a bit Larry Watson-ish, a bit ‘Snow Falling on Cedars’ and a bit ‘Stand By Me’ (the film), plus (appealing to my inner nerd) all the chapter titles are also episode titles from the first season of Star Trek:The Next Generation (TNG started in 1987 and the book is set in 1988 – the children in the book all watch it religiously, and compare various situations in the novel to scenarios in Star Trek).
    ‘The Round House’ features many of the same characters as ‘Plague of Doves’ so, unlike me, you’ll be reading them the right way around! I haven’t actually gone out and ‘read’ all her other books (yet!), but on the strength of ‘The Round House’ I did buy five of them. ‘Plague of Doves’ might well be my next read – I wanted to leave long enough that it doesn’t blur into ‘The Round House’ in my mind, but not so long that I’ve forgotten the characters. Anyway, I hope you enjoy her.

  5. I can’t remember the last time I actually read a library book. I am so bad at taking them out and then forgetting about them. I am now tempted by Havisham and Everything I Found on the Beach.

    • Please start abusing your library Ellie. I was talking about it on Christmas Day and even though I have to admit that I don’t always read them all, and indeed have masses of books in the house, if you max out your loans you make your library work and that will keep them existing.

      End of speech hahaha.

  6. Barbara B.

    Thanks for all the recommendations. Love the video and I’m sure I’m not the only one who would like to see your cats. Maybe next time?

  7. Cat

    Very nice to sit back and listen to book talk. No worries about pronunciation – Maniatoto sounded fine to these Kiwi ears and lovely to see someone enjoying Janet Frame. Havisham and Florence and Giles are two on your list I must check out.

  8. yay! so excited to see this second video blog post. well done.

    i almost fell off my chair when you turned up with louise erdrich’s “plague of doves”. this is my favourite of hers so far, although i haven’t read “round house” yet (and i hear it is exquisite – even philip roth is going on about it). anyway, i’m so very very happy she’s there with you and i hope you get on well.

    i adored frankenstein; however, be forewarned – the prose is so indulgent and overwrought you might laugh out loud (i did). i think of it as the drag queen of classics. so if you are in the mood for a bit of camp it should suit you just fine.

    happy reading!

    pam

    • I am glad that you managed not to fall off, I would hate to be sued for any post chair fall concussion that could have occurred, hee hee.

      I will possibly leave Frankenstein a while actually, with all the classics for Classically Challenged and Les Miserables I might be a bit over classiced out!

  9. Hi Simon, I’ve read Frankenstein (who wouldn’t if they knew the area it is set in so well) and I think Pam Schofield’s description of the prose is pretty accurate. I enjoyed the book, am glad to have read it, understand why it is a classic etc. but I found it hard going.

    To answer your second question “Ludmilla’s Broken English” by DBC Pierre.

    • I don’t mind hard going but as I just mentioned to Pam I am reading Middlemarch and Les Mis this spring so I might not be in the mood for the prose, we will see. I might swap it for a good crime novel instead.

      Thank you for the DBC clarification ;)

  10. I was so happy to sit down with my cup of tea this morning to watch your book recommendation video! I love these! You remind me of myself when I was 12, I’d take out stacks and stacks of books. Nowadays, it’s just 1 or 2, no time! I read “The Girl Who Fell From the Sky” a couple of years ago for book club and really enjoyed it. Erdrich is quite acclaimed over here, “The Master’s Singing Butcher Club” or something like that was recommended to me. You’ve piqued my interest of the Persephone books, I’ve never heard of this company before, so I’m going to check it out! Although, sadly I won’t be joining you on your nine-year journey, but I applaud your commitment!

    Happy reading and continue with the videos, I love them!

    • Hahaha I will take the 12 year old comment as a compliment ;)

      I had not heard of Erdrich before so I am quite excited about it, and The Girl Who Fell From The Sky… I should get reading them really!

  11. Wendy B

    I loved Black Water Rising so can’t wait for you to comment on it. I quite fancy a few others you mentioned so thanks for that. Keep up the vlogs we love them. Hello to Gran, hope she is doing ok?

  12. Jenni

    I had never before hear of The First Tuesday Book Club and now I’m totally hooked. Thank you for the recommendation!

    • It is beyond brilliant isn’t it? I am a little worried as they are starting it with a new format in Spring 2013… uh oh. Hope that Marieke is still on it as she is one of the reasons that I watch it.

  13. The First Tuesday Book Club is having an hour long special tonight and they will be featuring the 10 Top Australian Books You Must Read Before You Die as chosen by the Australian public. Be sure to stream that one as you may find an Aussie Flavour in your next batch of books. Pam

    • I saw it this week Pam, I saved it for a special treat when I/ wanted to escape the family festivities, I am such a miser, and have come away wanting to read lots and lots of books that I had somehow missed.

  14. great haul ,all the best stu

  15. I’d read Frankenstein several times and felt pretty much the same as Pam and DP, until…

    I had to read it again for an independent study literature class. Looking for something, anything, to motivate another read (and assigned paper), I stumbled upon the absolute epiphany which is the amazing Macdoanld & Scherf Ed. for the brilliant Broadview Press. It was like reading the book for the first time and understanding it at levels I never realized understood before. It’s too bad you don’t have this edition for your first read. I guarantee it would be a much different and illuminating experience.

    I enjoyed the Locke, but it wasn’t quite up to my expectations.

  16. You are hilarious, Simon. Just cracked me up on this Friday here in Texas. So – thanks for that. Also – Frankenstein – this is good, but I think first-time readers will get more out of it if they look up about Prometheus first to get the allusions. Either way, it’s a good read (but not as easy or straightforward as Dracula)….

  17. High Wages! Have you read Greenbanks? I thought that was even better.

Leave a Reply

