Can You Recommend… Books Based in Yorkshire

Well, when I say Yorkshire I actually mean York or Harrogate (alas not when the festival is on). Let me explain… I was hoping to get some winter sunshine abroad in March, hop on a plane and hot the beach with a few books nothing too fancy. However I decided to spend some of the money, and indeed some of the time, on having a (rather literary) tattoo instead. All is not lost with getting away, and who knows maybe there could be some sun involved, as I am going to have a break elsewhere in the UK.

Each year myself and three of my closest friends, Polly, Michelle and Dom, like to have a long weekend away together somewhere in the UK, often somewhere rather random. We went for the thrills and spills of Alton Towers last year and then the most random plastic log cabin near a very odd pub – people stared at the strangers in the village much to our giggles.

We were plotting Whitby this year, however as those naughty monkeys all live in the south it’s a bit of a mad trek for a weekend (we might do a week next year) so instead we have two options – possibly one by the time you read this – which are places on the outskirts of York…

york-city

Or the outskirts of Harrogate…

03_View-over-Harrogate

Either way we will be in some of this country’s most beautiful countryside and near a wonderful town and city with lots and lots of bookshops to explore hopefully. So what I was wondering, as all four of us are rather bookish geeky folk, if you knew of any books set in York, Harrogate or Yorkshire at all? As we may just pick one and have a little book group while we are there, or at least have some books to turn to if it rains and we all get bored of each other, ha! Let me know…

24 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

24 responses to “Can You Recommend… Books Based in Yorkshire

  1. Viola Di Grado’s ‘70% Acrylic, 30% Wool’ is set in Leeds – that’s as near as I got recently ;)

  2. James Herriot old but all yorks based I believe

  3. Behind The Scenes At The Museum by Kate Atkinson is set in York. There’s another one in York that’s on the tip of my brain but I can’t quite remember it. Will come back!

  4. Jared caed Agatha Christie and the eleven missing days

  5. So jealous. Wish I could beam myself over to England more easily. Have fun.

  6. There’s a Peter Robinson stand alone mystery/crime novel I liked called Before the Poison which is set somewhere in Yorkshire… not sure where exactly though.

  7. One of my favourite books set in York is Behind The Scenes Of The Museum,which involves a family who own a pet shop under the minster.

  8. Claire

    I would heartily recommend God’s Own Country’ by Ross Raisin a fantastic rural Yorkshire novel (feels to me it’s set in North/West Yorkshire) and Helen Cadbury’s To Catch a Rabbit, a contemporary crime novel which is set in York – ‘the Wire’ recast in Yorkshire!

  9. The Midwife’s Tale and The Harlow’s Tale are set in York

  10. God’s own country by Ross Raisin – more on the moors, but Yorkshire it is.

  11. Diana McDougall

    hello….indeed all the peter robinson novels are yorkshire based…dales in particular. Winifred Holtby’s South Riding and of course the James Herriot books. You can actually use his as a travel guide around the loveliest spots in the dales and moors…and yes, you are lucky…one of my favourite bits of the world

  12. The obvious one, though maybe too obvious, is Dracula which is set in Whitby.

  13. Geraldine

    There’s the Apothecary Rose by Candace Robb, if you like medieval mysteries, that one is set in York as far as I remember.

  14. Ali

    Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell!

  15. David

    I think Fiona Shaw’s ‘The Sweetest Thing’ is set in York, with a Victorian-set story involving Quakers and chocolate! I haven’t read it, though I have read a couple of hers, one good, one a bit so-so. I have a feeling you might enjoy her though, Simon: I’d say she’s a bit similar to Catherine Hall.

  16. I spent part of my childhood in York, it’s lovely. I would recommend Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson

  17. I have also read The Sweetest Thing by Fiona Shaw and I would recommend that also.

  18. David Nolan (David73277)

    Andrew Martin, who was born and brought up in York, has written a series of novels about Jim Stringer,an Edwardian railwayman who becomes a transport policeman and turns his hand to solving mysteries. The first is set in London and the second largely in Blackpool and hence, from a Yorkshireman’s perspective, on the wrong side of the Pennines. Some of the later books in the series have a Yorkshire setting, notably The Lost Luggage Porter which is mostly set in the city of York.

    Sovereign, the third of C. J. Sansom’s series featuring the Tudor-era lawyer and sleuth Matthew Shardlake, is another mystery set in York.

  19. I suppose “South Riding” doesn’t count , does it?

  20. Pingback: New Reading Arenas… | Savidge Reads

  21. Pingback: A Trip to Harrogate and York… | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

