Polite Persephone Push

Now I want to prod you all in the direction of a very special week that the lovely Claire of Paperback Reader and Verity of The B Files are running. Yes, a day late on my blog – very rude, but Persephone week is here.

Now if you are wondering what Persephone Books are then you can go here but just to surmise “Persephone prints mainly neglected fiction and non-fiction by women, for women and about women. The titles are chosen to appeal to busy women who rarely have time to spend in ever-larger bookshops and who would like to have access to a list of books designed to be neither too literary nor too commercial. The books are guaranteed to be readable, thought-provoking and impossible to forget”. I also described them this morning to someone as ‘the Cath Kidson of the book world’!

I think some of the titles that they print sound wonderful (I so want to read Virginia Woolf’s “Flush”) and the covers that they do are stunning, even the simple silver/grey ones are a delight and look very classic. It makes you want to have your own Persephone Shelf.

This week you can partake in quizzes, read-a-long with some of the Persephone Classics and just basically immerse yourself in some wonderful rediscovered classics such as ‘Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day’ which is the Persephone Book I most want to read in the world and yet don’t own. I did grab some from the library a few weeks ago.

So am I joining in? Well I was slightly worried that I would be spending a week in ‘Wolf Hall’ but I am racing through it and though it won’t be till later in the week I shall definitely be aiming to read a couple of the ones I have borrowed and then reading more post-Persephone week. I will of course be joining in with the discussion and partaking in the competitions and everything. I think this is going to be a really popular themed week in the Blogosphere and so am very much hoping that we will see Persephone week emerge once more in the near future!

Who else is joining in? What makes you desperate to own a Persephone book? Which Persephone book is your favourite? What would you recommend to someone like me who hasn’t read a single one yet? Any Persephone pointers are most welcome.

20 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts

20 responses to “Polite Persephone Push

  1. I’m joining in, quelle surprise!
    Trying to read one a day…

    • Blimey Simon t – one a day well done you, if I can clear Wolf Hall tonight (which am aiming for and it will be no porblem either – its fab) then I will possibly try all four I took out by the end of the week.

  2. Four?! Wow!

    I read my first Persephone book last night and was impressed, but I’m trying to read all the Bookers before the short list is announced and I have the book club read, so I don’t think I’ll be able to squeeze any more in. Good luck!

    • I think I got four from the library, maybe it was three… Having checked it is the three, oh dear my memory is going which is a worry! I am going to try and read some this week as I would feel bad if I didnt even manage one. Maybe the short stories by Mollie Panter Downes are what I will go for first, read a few a day and its done, easy.

  3. I do hope you enjoy the ones you’ve got Simon – I look forward to seeing what you make of them!

  4. “It makes you want to have you own Persephone shelf”…

    Here’s one I made earlier:

    http://paperbackreader2.blogspot.com/2009/08/grey-shelf.html

    I love ‘the Cath Kidson of the book world’ description! Very apt.

    Thank you so much for the plug; I am delighted how popular this has been already amongst the blogosphere and I imagine that we will make it a recurring challenge.

    My favourite Persephone will appear tomorrow but, in my experience, it is difficult to find a Persephone that isn’t a delight in some way.

  5. I also have my own Persephone shelf – actually, two of them. I love seeing them together, but it would also be fun to integrate them, and have them more like little surprises in amongst my other books…

    • Oh you see now I am even more envious. When I am back from holidays I am so going to the actual Persephone shop for a bit of a spend. Maybe we should organise a group trip, though that could be lethal!

  6. PS: YOu can see my Persephone shelf tomorrow!

  7. “Polite Persephone Push”, seems a very fitting way of seeking to promote the titles of this marvellous publisher. It would be difficult, by contrast, to imagine a “Persephone Flash Mob”! I like your alliteration here too. I wonder what it is about alliterative language that so appeals? Is it something that trends linguistic barriers or is it a peculiarly English fascination?

    I digress. What I really meant to say was, do get hold of Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day. I enjoyed it enormously. Amusing books are such a pleasure when they work for an individual reader. It was seeing it mentioned on your blog (and that of Simon T) that prompted me to pick it up, so thanks to you both for that.

  8. Simon, I read my very first Persephone yesterday, which is, incidentally, Miss Pettigrew. Do read it soon, I’m sure you’ll love it. It’s so charming. Have fun with Wolf Hall! Hope you finish it very soon so you can join us already.

  9. justicejenniferreads

    Didn’t really even know what this was! Thanks for pointing it out. Not sure if I’ll be able to participate as this week is already extremely swamped, but I will keep the list in mind in the future!

  10. Pingback: Been On A Bit of A Book Bender « Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

