Simon’s Bookish Bits #20

Whilst most of the UK carries on going election mad (I am pleased we have a hung parliament is all I am saying) I am bringing you my Bookish Bits a day early as once again this weekend is manic and want to give you some forewarning of some bits and bobs coming up over the weekend as well as well as next week. We also have a link of the week, other bookish bits and some delightfully drawn Bunyips and more. Oh how to fill it all in!!

Well it’s been and still is Persephone Reading Week which Claire and Verity have been hosting and it’s been lovely seeing people’s first reaction to those grey covered wonders. My personal favourite of all the posts has been Simon of Stuck-in-a-Book who has asked everyone to tell him what Persephone titles they have read, I am looking forward to the results. I am also hoping this will all still be open and running all day today so you can contribute and vote, vote, vote! I managed one Persephone this week… more on that tomorrow though!

In non-Persephone based posts over the last week or so I loved a post that Cornflower Books which profiles what her readers have been reading and want to read, it makes for very interesting reading so do have a pop and see that.

This weekend is filled with bookish things coming up and by things I mean events, tomorrow has no less than three events that I am squeezing into a single day. First up is the publisherVintage’s special day at Foyles which you can still get tickets for (I think). If anyone else is going to this then please let me know as it would be lovely to see some of you. I will be bringing a special guest I am very excited about and am only concerned that there might not be enough tea and cake breaks??? If you’re coming do email me.

There is of course the UK Bloggers Meet Up which I am hoping to see some of you at and then I am whizzing off to see Sarah Hall talk at the Peirene Press Salon, phew thank goodness I have nothing planned for Sunday… oh no I do we are all meeting up for the penultimate Not the TV Book Club round at Kirsty’s! (If you have time to squeeze the latest book in, which is A Short Gentleman by Jon Carter, then do give it a try I have been laughing out loud here there and everywhere.)

Right… now for something completely different! You know I asked you to tell myself and the lovely Evie Wyld what you thought a Bunyip was well here are the winning three thanks to the very kind illustrator Joseph Sumner

  

From Bunyips to Lobisomem! In case you are wondering what the fizzing heck that is it’s a Brazilian mythological werewolf and helps to tie in my last part of today’s post which is all about…

Brazil (the image above is the island of Florianopolis that The Converted one and I are planning to buy a house on)! I said way back in Jan I wanted to read more Brazilian books and I am appealing to you all out there (and if you don’t comment then email) to help me hunt Brazilian fiction. You don’t need to do it right now this second but maybe mull it over the weekend as there are some Brazil based posts coming up next week.

Right that’s me done, what’s been going on in your bookish weeks? What you reading right now? 

18 Comments

Filed under Simon's Bookish Bits

18 responses to “Simon’s Bookish Bits #20

  1. Sounds like an exciting day tomorrow – I’m sorry that I’ll miss you!

    (PS: Is there any chance you can make the font bigger in the comments box – I know my eye sight is poor but I can barely see what I’m typing!)

  2. Hehe I like my Bunyip loads. Thanks to Joseph for creating it (and it has wings which is something I never thought of). Will have a think about Brazillian lit, but think I have very little to offer. Sure someone will come up with something.

    Oh and you’re seeing Sarah Hall – please tell her I love her (if that’s not too creepy for you kthnx bye).

  3. I LOVE those little creatures. They sorta remind me of the ugly dolls that are so popular over here. So how totally cool can it be that you and the converted one are going to own a home in Brazil??? When I get a chance I’ll see what kind of Brazilian fiction I can find. The only thing that keeps coming to my mind is the movie City of God, which of course is NOT what you have in mind.

  4. Simon’s Persephone poll has been a great addition to the week and I’m excited to discover the overall results. This week has flown by.

    I won tickets for the Vintage Day but had double-booked myself; have fun and I shall see you in the evening for a little while, you jet-setter you!

  5. Those are some lovely bunyip’s. I’m not sure I would want to meet one in real life though. And that looks like a lovely place to live! I will have to see what I can find about Brazilian literature… and then go visit! hah

  6. Love the illustrations! You are going to be one busy bunny tomorrow. Hope to see you at the meet-up.

  7. I’d love to attend the Vintage event, their books have made up quite a few of the favourites on my top ten, but I’m too far away. The illustrations are awesome, and that island looks the same in description!

  8. Looking forward to seeing you at the meet-up!
    And thanks for highlighting the poll – I’ve been so pleased to see so many people do it, and really interested by the results as they come in. I think I set the poll to be open til the end of the week… hope so!

  9. Look forward to seeing your Persephone thoughts!

    Also, I love my bunyip, it’s absolutely amazing! Thanks to Joseph for that, it really made my day🙂

  10. Those Bunyips are absolutely fantastic! Have fun at the Vintage day tomorrow, by the way.

  11. My god, I love Jenny’s bunyip – it looks like the cookie monster on crack! Hehehehe.

  12. I’ve only managed one Persephone this week myself: To Bed With Grand Music. It was a most thought provoking book, not long, but I can tell I’ll be mulling it over for quite some time.

    I’m picking up Greenery Street tonight, as the week is short, but my list of completed books is shorter. Shall we have a race?🙂

  13. mee

    Eek those are the cutest little bunyips! I’m such a sucker for cute illustrations.

  14. Mome Rath

    Oy — I’m a bit late on this one. For a classic author from Brazil, you can check out Machado de Assis. I just read his Posthumous Memoirs of Bras Cubas (also translated as Epitaph of a Small Winner), and it was a bit amusing, if somewhat cynical for the 19th century. His Dom Casmurro is supposed to be pretty good, too.
    You’re probably aware of Paulo Coelho, who is one of the more well-known Brazilian authors of today. I haven’t read anything by him though, so I don’t know if he’s a good author or not.

  15. I popped over to check out the Bunyips, and then had to give a shout-out to the only Brazilian book I’ve ever read, The Seamstress. It was written in English, but the author comes from a Brazilian family and it’s entirely set in Brazil.

  16. You might be interested in this article about bunyips published in The Age today.

    http://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/horror-on-home-turf-20100618-ympl.html

  17. Pingback: Everything is Teeth – Evie Wyld & Joe Sumner | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

