Granny Savidge Reads Update #1; Big Thanks

I promised you updates on Granny Savidge Reads and so here without fail is my first one and it involves a lot of thank you’s. Firstly though, how is Gran? Well, touch wood, while sadly she still has no feeling or movement in her left hand side it appears we might have been through the most dangerous/nerve wrecking bit, you know the stuff that doesn’t even bear thinking about. However we are by no means out of the woods. Seeing her yesterday for most of the day (when she wasn’t asleep, how rude when you have visitors, ha) was the first time she has looked so bright, well as bright as you can in the circumstances, this week but her headaches and nausea and frustration are high. We still have a long way to go, but let us not dwell on that.

I told her that you had all been sending her your well wishes and she was really grateful and wanted to me say a big thank you all for your thoughts. She was also delighted with her iPod from myself and The Beard, which I had filled with the only audio book I owned personally until this week, ‘Gillespie & I’ (because if I ever sleep on my own now I like a familiar story in the background) which she laughed and said I had been ‘determined to make me read for quite some time, now I have no choice’ (Jane, if you read this she was being wry).

You may have noticed I said it was the only audio book I owned until this week as I have been rather inundated with them thanks to lovely publishers (and also three I borrowed from the library) and this is only the beginning apparently…

Even more are on their way, which is such a lovely gesture and I am very grateful as she will probably be in the hospital for quite some weeks/months to come and will now have hours of entertainment and stories to come. So yet more thanks from Gran and from me to the lovely people at Simon & Schuster and Orion, whose books are pictured, and to Penguin, Sceptre, and Random House who have parcels in the post en route. (Is it bad if I listen to some of them myself?)

I will be off to see her, and update her iPod, tomorrow and will keep you posted on how she is doing. I won’t do it too often as a) it will be a long haul and progress might be slow b) I don’t want her getting too used to all the attention. But seriously, a big thank you for all your support, it means a lot to me, Gran and indeed the Savidge family clan.

11 Comments

Filed under Granny Savidge Reads

11 responses to “Granny Savidge Reads Update #1; Big Thanks

  1. I’m glad to hear she’s on the mend! What a wonderful gesture from the publishers, very sweet🙂

  2. Such a lovely gesture from the publishers! I am very impressed with their generosity. I hope Granny Savidge is doing well and that you are all managing to keep your spirits up during her rehabilitation.

  3. Lots of great bookish, happy thoughts to your gran. Lovely she will be able to listen to all these stories.

  4. Kate G

    Simon. I am so sorry to hear about Granny Savidge. I hope she is able to enjoy her audiobooks and wish you all strength during rehab. Please take care of yourselves as well as Gramny Savidge!

  5. So glad to hear things are looking up! I hope she enjoys all the great reads and is up and about very soon

  6. Very glad to see this update. How thoughtful of all the publishers to send the audiobooks! That is incredibly kind. Continued good thoughts and best wishes to Granny Savidge. (Sorry didn’t get a chance to comment on the original post.)

  7. Glad to hear she’s doing okay. Hope she enjoys Gillespie and I, which is a great story.

  8. I’m glad to hear Granny Savidge Reads is getting better. I know how you feel. Remember that this is really strong generation. My grandpa got out of it almost completely and was taking his usual walks again. Think positive and I’ll be sending lots of positive fluids your way. All will be good. It has to.

  9. Just back from Boston to read your weblog. I too hope that the progress, slow though it may be, will continue its positive course. My father made a fairly complete recovery from a serious stroke. Best wishes to you and your grandmother.

  10. Kristen M.

    If well wishes and love could heal someone on their own, right? But I have faith in Granny Savidge and all of these wonderful books should give her brain a good nudge toward healing itself! Warmest thoughts from chilly Seattle.🙂

  11. The Miriam Margoyles Dickens Women is wonderful and she will love it. So glad to hear she is getting better x

Leave a Reply

