Who Would You Like To See On The Man Booker Longlist?

It is a mere week away that the Man Booker Prize Longlist 2012 will be announced. After the interesting year that it had last year (which some might think is an understatement, I actually liked the surprise list last year) it will be interesting to see what this year’s new group of judges list as their best twelve or thirteen books from the submissions.

I have been asked to write a list of the twelve books that I would like to see on the list for We Love This Book and so I have been mulling it all over this morning (though I have until Monday to hand my thoughts in) as it is very different as to what I think will actually get longlisted next week, which I will report back on nearer the time.

So I thought in the interim, because everyone likes a guessing game and a list of books don’t they, I would ask all of you what you would like (and what you think if you want) will get longlisted for the Booker this year. I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Are any of you planning reading the longlist or shortlist this year? I will read some of them, if I haven’t already, but as I am deep in prize submissions for the Green Carnation (hence why for a while there might be more ‘bookish thoughts’ posts than ‘reviews’ on the blog) it will only be the books I really fancy giving a whirl.

Oh and whilst I am asking questions… do you think I should have a Savidge Reads page/account on Facebook?

5 Comments

Filed under Man Booker

5 responses to “Who Would You Like To See On The Man Booker Longlist?

  1. David

    I’ve just been thinking about this as there is a similar longlist speculation post over on farmlanebooks. I’m not going to try and guess the longlist – too many books I’ve yet to read that have a buzz around them (Timothy Mo’s ‘Pure’, Keith Ridgeway’s ‘Hawthorn & Child’ etc) and lots of potential “big name” contenders yet to be released (Zadie Smith, Ian McEwan, Rose Tremain, James Meek, Lawrence Norfolk, James Kelman, Howard Jacobsen, Pat Barker). But, these are the eligible books that I’ve loved most this year and I would be thrilled to see any of them on the longlist:

    ‘The Street Sweeper’ by Elliot Perlman
    ‘The Deadman’s Pedal’ by Alan Warner
    ‘The Forrests’ by Emily Perkins
    ‘The Coward’s Tale’ by Vanessa Gebbie
    ‘Bring Up the Bodies’ by Hilary Mantel
    ‘Scenes from Early Life’ by Philip Hensher
    ‘Alone in the Classroom’ by Elizabeth Hay

    I could easily think of another 10 or 15 that I think are strong enough to be contenders though. Will I read the longlist? Probably some of it. I do usually try to read the shortlist (though I didn’t last year).

  2. gaskella

    Re the Booker – I don’t think I’ve read any of the contenders year as I’ve read so much more from my backlist. Re a Facebook page – It’s another thing to manage, and will dilute blog stats by people commenting there rather than here. I have my personal FB page and link to the blog…

  3. I ve not read any but have done a guessing post Simon of twelve books plus three I counln’t decide on ,all the best stu

  4. Louise Trolle

    Like Gaskella, I’ve been reading a lot of books that have been lingering on my shelves, so I’ve read very few “new” books – but I might read some of the long -list, at least those that doesn’t look too bleak (there are often a lot of very *serious* on there!🙂

  5. Melissa N

    The only eligible book that I’ve read is Bring Up the Bodies, which was brilliant. I usually wait until I can get a book second-hand or as a paperback, so I don’t read many brand-new books. I loved Wolf Hall so much, that I was able to talk myself into buying the hardcover of Bring Up the Bodies.

Leave a Reply

