The Man Booker Prize 2012

So today is the big day and we will find out what the judges of the Man Booker Prize 2012 have decided as a collective are their best 12 or 13 books of the past year. I personally love all the waiting and the guessing in the lead up to the announcement as well as all the discussion once the list has been announced; all of the ‘oh I can’t believe that this was on the list when that wasn’t’ etc. The debate it creates about books is fantastic and who can complain at that?

I also really love trying to guess the books that will make the Man Booker longlist each year. I am always way of the mark and look completely inept but who cares, again it is all part of the fun. I was asked by the lovely Katie at We Love This Book, rather in advance as I am away; if I would suggest some titles I would love to see on the list this year. You can see it here (which will open in a new window).

These are not my predictions though, I doubt my tastes will match five judges, I also think that we will see a lot of familiar faces this year (Amis, Carey, Banville etc) with previous listed authors being automatically being entered again. I have been thinking about this recently I can’t decide if I think that this is a good thing or a bad thing to be honest, there are pro’s and con’s.

As I mentioned before I am sadly out of the country while the announcement and all the initial debate is going on (the joys of being able to schedule posts ahead of time) which will be lovely as I will (hopefully) be relaxing in the sun but I am miffed that I will miss it all going on at the time, I will have to wait until I am back. So I thought I would ask you all a little favour…

I am hoping that some of you will please leave your comments (which I have been rubbish at replying at, sorry, I will be better when I am back and have had a proper break) below with your guesses or books you would like to see listed (or links to them), thoughts on the books when they are listed and what you would have liked to have seen appear on the list as well as or instead of. Then I can come and join in with you all when I get back – especially as I don’t have Facebook and the Man Booker website forum pages have vanished in the revamp. Oh and… Are any of you planning on reading the lot?

4 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Man Booker

4 responses to “The Man Booker Prize 2012

  1. David

    I’m glad to see you liked both the Favel Parrett and Lawrence Norfolk, Simon – I’m can’t wait to read them myself. The Parrett I’ve had my eye on since it came out in Australia last year (if only Aussie books weren’t so expensive to begin with and the shipping costs from there crippling!) and I loved Norfolk’s ‘The Pope’s Rhinoceros’ – one of those books that creates a world you can completely lose yourself in.

    To be honest of the 52 eligible books I’ve read so far I’d be pretty happy for any of about 20 or 25 of them to be on the longlist, as it seems to me to be shaping up to be a very good year for fiction.

    My top hoped for titles on the longlist this year would be ‘The Street Sweeper’, ‘The Deadman’s Pedal’ and ‘The Coward’s Tale’ all of which I thought were really exceptional, though I don’t think that last one will make it – Bloomsbury released it back in November which does rather suggest they don’t consider it a prize contender and so probably won’t have submitted it.

    On the automatic submission of previously listed authors, I’m not sure. It means each publisher/imprint can submit more titles and more titles by authors that perhaps wouldn’t otherwise get a look in, but it also means each year there are potentially more books for the judges to plough through, and being shortlisted once doesn’t make a must-read author.

    • I was completely off as usual David but I quite like being wrong with lists like this and being introduced to lots of new books which is what this years list seems to do. Never a bad thing.

      Must look up those books you have loved.

  2. Louise Trolle

    Interesting list!

    http://www.themanbookerprize.com/news/2012-longlist-announced

    I haven’t read any of them, but I’d like to read:
    The Teleportation Accident
    The Garden of Evening Mists
    Communion Town

    • I have to say Louise, I really, really, really like the list. It seems fresh and exciting and I am really glad that it wasn’t the firm favourites that everyone predicted. I am desperate to read Swimming Home and The Yips, well I have started The Yips and am desperately reading it haha.

Leave a Reply

