The Lighthouse – Alison Moore

I really should listen to people more and stop making assumptions so quickly, I really should. One book that has certainly highlighted this recently has been reading Alison Moore’s debut novel ‘The Lighthouse’, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize this year. I had assumed that with a lighthouse on the cover it would be about the sea and boats, which it isn’t but I don’t read blurbs so I just assumed it would be. Then I heard it was a ‘walking book’ and as a child who went on too many walking holidays (sorry Gran, I do think of them more fondly now) that put me off too. However Trevor of The Mookse and the Gripes raved about it to me when we recorded a Man Booker special of The Readers and now, having finished it, I am kicking myself for having not read it sooner.

Salt Publishing, paperback, 2012, fiction, 184 pages, borrowed from the library

Futh, which I admit I initially found such an unusual name it bothered me to start with and slightly distracted me, is a man who has decided to take himself off on his first holiday alone walking in the German countryside. As we meet him on the ferry we learn that he has recently become separated and in some nostalgic way has done what he and his father did when his mother left and head to Germany for a break of sorts. It is this almost circular and mirroring of the past and the present that we see more and more of as ‘The Lighthouse’ goes on. As Futh walks in the days that follow certain things mainly scents, as he is a chemist who creates artificial scents which I couldn’t help think was inspired by the fact the only thing of his mothers he had was a perfume bottle shaped like a lighthouse, remind him of the past and memories start to come back that he can’t quite figure out, yet as the reader we can which I thought Moore had planned rather intricately.

Now I am aware that I have fallen into the trap of making this book sound like it is a ‘walking book’ and actually it is so much more and that is where the second strand of the novel comes from in alternating chapters. Ester is a rather unhappy landlady of a B&B in Germany called Hellhaus (which is German for ‘lighthouse’) where Futh comes to stay. Her husband, Bernard, no longer seems interested in her and so finds herself sleeping with single men who stay at the hotel, and who will have her, in a way of getting her husband’s attention. This works but not in the way she hopes, his reaction is of a darker jealousy which cleverly creates a sense of unease and dread in the reader for all concerned.

“In the past, she always used beds she had already changed, but since receiving complaints about the sheets, she makes sure to use rooms not yet cleaned. Or she uses rooms whose occupants are out for the day, brushing off and straightening up the bedding afterwards, and sometimes, while she is there, browsing the contents of drawers and suitcases, picking up perfumes and lipsticks, testing them on herself. If guests ever notice their possessions, these small items, going missing, they rarely say anything.”

Both the characters of Ester and Futh are polar opposites yet they have similarities and are so fascinating they make you read on. She appears from the outside a little cold, sexually dominant and manipulative; you learn how she went for Bernard when she was originally dating his brother etc. Yet really ester is a woman who fell in love with a man who became bored of her and she became bored of her life, she wanted romance and indeed still collects and reads Mills and Boons, the promise they offer consoled with drinking gin during the day. Futh on the other hand is one of those people who seem to amble through life a little bit confused and is often overlooked, misunderstood or finds himself misunderstanding the world around him. I did love the fact that wherever he stays he has to work out an exit of safety, hence why he doesn’t like planes. He is someone who goes under the radar possibly because he is actually a bit boring. It is this ambling nature and of not understanding or being understood which makes the ending of the book all the more horrifying, but I won’t say more on that subject.

“He has got into the habit of always determining an escape route from a room in which he is staying, imagining emergency scenarios in which his exit is blocked by a fire or a psychopath. This began, he thinks, when he was in his twenties and living in an attic flat. His Aunt Frieda, worrying about stair fires and burglars, gave him a rope ladder. It seems important he should always know a way out.”

Another thing I really admired and found rather enthralling was the circular feel to ‘The Lighthouse’, something which the title seems to allude to right there and indeed the quoted paragraph above does too. Themes of how history repeats itself, with Futh’s mother (also called Angela) leaving his father for being boring, and then his wife does the very same thing. The very walk itself he goes in is circular, the bottle in his pocket is a lighthouse, Esters hotel has the name, the place Futh saw his father hit his mother and ended their relationship was on a walk to a lighthouse etc. Occasionally these fall into symmetries and seem a tad too much, the fact Ester dated one brother then another and Futh’s wife might have had an affair with his estranged step brother, or the fact Futh creates scents and carries an empty bottle of his mothers and Ester collecting perfume bottles seemed one too far but because the book is so, so good I ended up overlooking it, even if it did seem to be one connection that was thrown in for the plot a little.

I think ‘The Lighthouse’ is one of the most accomplished debut novels that I have read in quite some time, and indeed is one of my favourite novels of the year so far. It is a book that says so much and is brimming with themes and ideas in fewer than two hundred pages. It has shades of dark and light, there is some real humour at Futh’s expense making the darker undertones all the darker, the unease build throughout and the ending all the more upsetting. I had to keep re-reading the last few chapters. I would highly recommend you give this book a whirl and am thrilled that the Man Booker judges chose this over some more famous names or I might have missed out.

Who else has read ‘The Lighthouse’ and what did you think? Have you ever been put off a book by its cover and/or what you have assumed about it or thought the subject matter wouldn’t be your thing (I am also thinking of Madeline Miller’s ‘The Song of Achilles’ here) only to love it and wish you had read it sooner? Oh and you can read Trevor of Mookse and the Gripes thoughts here and also Kim of Reading Matters here as it was Trevor who said I should read it and Kim’s review that made me get this from the library!

17 Comments

Filed under Alison Moore, Books of 2012, Man Booker, Review, Salt Publishing

17 responses to “The Lighthouse – Alison Moore

  1. Oh, bless you, Simon: I am just like you. I also took one look at the cover and title and thought it was about the sea (which in my case I like) and then heard it was about a walking holiday (which I also like – at least, in theory)… So I suppose if I was really keen to read about those topics, I would be disappointed, then?

    • Hahahaha I don’t think that you would be disappointed no. It is much more about a walking holiday, and the thought processes and changes to a mans life that it brings, than the sea though. Do give it a whirl, I think you would like it.

  2. David

    I enjoyed it too, Simon, and agree it is a very good debut novel. I found Futh an intriguing character and I swung several times during the novel from having sympathy for him to disliking him and back again which I think is pretty impressive on the author’s part. There was a scene from Futh’s childhood that she kept returning to – the picnic – where each time you got a bit more information, that I thought was very cleverly done.

    I liked – to an extent – Moore’s use of metaphors and symbols but for me I felt she took it a bit far sometimes: the lighthouse is used to mean a variety of things and she does rather clobber the reader over the head with it, and her repetition of some symbols can feel heavy-handed. The Venus fly trap particularly sticks in my mind – it works well as a metaphor for one predatory female character, but when she uses it again for a second woman it feels less like an echo or a mirroring than over-use, since the chances of both women having one seems slim. I think she could have trusted the reader to connect the two characters without the big signpost.

    But I was very pleased the judges put it on the Booker longlist or I might have missed it otherwise, and it is certainly a rewarding read. And I much preferred it to ‘Swimming Home’ which it felt similar to.

    • There is some strange similarity with Swimming Home and this novel, not in plot or even prose, just a mood maybe?

      I quite liked the repetition, it made me feel the circular nature of the novel, for me though it was the ending, dread of it and oddball character of Futh that made it such a success with me.

  3. Well, this is great news, Simon! I thought you would like it. Now, just imagine a Booker shortlist with this, Swimming Home, Hawthorne & Child, and The Apartment (the latter two are the MB Prize chairs best non-longlisted reads of the year, apparently). That would have been something.

  4. A glowing review! I’ve always passed this one over before but your review has really tempted me, it sounds excellent. I am very guilty of quickly making snap judgments about books based on their covers/the blurb and I do sometimes wonder what gems I have missed out on. Luckily I have bloggers to highlight the best ones for me!

    • I think the cover is so important with a book, sadly though no cover can appeal to everyone and they might miss out as I nearly did with this because of my own fiction prejudices. I too am glad of other bloggers who made me give this a whirl.

  5. janakay

    I, too, loved this book—in fact, I think it’s one of the best I’ve read this year. Like you, I had some initial resistance to the protagonist’s name (kept wondering how it was pronounced!); the plot structure was handled so skillfully, however, that the extensive use of symbolism didn’t bother me. This was one of the books that made me glad that I did my little “read the MB list” project this year, as I probably wouldn’t have otherwise found this book. I’ve since looked for other works by Moore and found them principally at Nightjar Press, which has published a couple of her short stories (as well as short works by other interesting writers).

    • I was thinking about this as it should be in my top books of the year, and I assumed it would be – possibly tieing with Swimming Home which has a similar mood to it. That said I went back and I have read so many great books this year it might not even make the ten, if it doesn’t it would easily be 11th!

  6. Pingback: Audiobook Review: The Lighthouse « The Indiscriminate Critic

  7. Pingback: Savidge Reads Books of 2012 – Part Two… | Savidge Reads

  8. Hi. I’m a Spanish student of Translation and I have choosen The lighthouse to made a literary translation for one of my subjects. I have liked a lot the book, but I think I haven’t understood it well since I don’t know what the ending means. I’m doing a summary of the book in my project and I have to write about it. Would you mind explaining it to me? Thanks!

  9. Pingback: Audiobook Review: The Lighthouse | The Indiscriminate Critic

  10. guest112

    Hi together, I’m a German student and I bought me the book during my Summerholidays 2013 I spent in Cornwall. I also liked the book and it was very easy for me to identify myself with Mr.Futh. Can you agree with me in this point? In my opinion with the ending the author Alison Moore wants to express, that Mr.Futh was a very special persons whos ending is open. The reader can imagine wheather Ester has punshied him (but is she a type who do something like this?) or wheater Mr. Futh had luck and could get into his room and had only to wait until his car was getting repaired. In my opinion this was one of the best books I’ve ever read in another language and generally.

  11. Pingback: He Wants – Alison Moore | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

