World Book Day 2013…

Really it is probably preaching to the converted mentioning World Book Day here, yet I did feel it would be wrong of me not to, for that is indeed what it is. People were asking me if I was doing anything special for World Book Day, rather shamefully I am not. Though as I type this I have just sorted out a lot of events for ‘In Other Words’, Liverpool’s Literature Festival and been on the blower about a bookish trip to London I am making at the end of the month –so in a way my day has been so bookish it has made me feel a little booked out. However I still think I should mark the day in some way, but how?

Well I have stolen the idea off The Readers, the book based banter (books, books, books) podcast I co-host, and the section we now call ‘Reading Horizons’ and used to call ‘What We Have Read, Are Reading and Want To Read Next’. So I thought we could all spill the beans on that and see what we can inspire everyone else to read by sharing them and some thoughts on them.

Reading Horizon

So I have just read ‘The Wizard of Oz’, which I will be reporting back on fully tomorrow, for the very first time. This was in part because Hesperus Press have done the most amazing covers in their editions this year and also because I have become obsessed with the new Oz movie – just from the trailers, which I have been watching twice a day just for a fix. I have a slight obsession with the Wicked Witch of the West and so am also very excited that I am seeing the film tomorrow night, so wanted to read the book before that.

I have just started, literally today, ‘Life After Life’ by Kate Atkinson. I am a HUGE fan of Atkinson, I love her Jackson Brodie books and her literary fiction, especially ‘Human Croquet’, and her short stories, some of which I must reread soon. I have to admit I have had this proof a good few months, after throwing a small – very small – tantrum about not getting it when loads of people had it (diva moment, very, very rare) then it arrived and I was just too excited to read it. You know that feeling of ‘I love this author, I will love this book… but what if I don’t or what if no other book this year will compare to it?’ That!

Finally, ‘The Hunger and the Howling of Killian Lone’ by Will Storr. I know relatively nothing about this book but I was asked if I would like to read it as it might just be up my street. It arrived and with taglines like ‘The secret ingredient of unforgettable food is suffering’ and ‘There are no ghosts. There are only stories too stubborn to die.’ I think it will indeed be right up my street.

So now over to you, share the book love. What have you been reading, what are you reading, and what do you fancy reading next… and why?

9 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Random Savidgeness

9 responses to “World Book Day 2013…

  1. Laura Caldwell

    The fiction that I am reading as of this minute is Peaches for Father Frances (aka Peaches for Monsieur le Curé) by Joanne Harris. It is the third in a series beginning with Chocolat but really the direct sequel to the second book (The Girl with No Shadow AKA The Lollipop Shoes). It is not as good as Chocolat (neither was The Girl With No Shadow) but it is nice to return to the village of Lansquenet. The other fiction book that I am reading is Middlemarch for the “Classics Read.” I started it months ago and am enjoying it, but need to read about half of it still. I have The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister and Le Road trip by Vivian Swift out from the library, so perhaps they are next? We’ll see. Must finish Middlemarch, must finish Middlemarch…;)

  2. Laura Caldwell

    sorry: “Peaches” book is the direct sequel to the first book, not second. Although “direct” is not quite the right word.

  3. I’ve been reading Stranger in a Strange Land and it has been kicking my behind. I’m hating it! It was the pick this month for my book club, which is on Saturday. It is what it is. I can at least say that I read it, but don’t count on me praising it.

  4. Darn it! I just wrote a really big comment for this – then my computer crashed as it was posting and, alas, all was lost. Grrrrr
    I’ll try to remember it:

    Just finished reading: ‘Nova’ by Samuel Delaney: it’s this influential Space Opera that subverts a lot of the preconceptions surrounding sci-fi. The noble space captain, for example, is re-imagined as this selfish, violent man obsessed with his own personal glory. A kind of anti-hero. It’s really great. Also, Delaney was, like, 22 or something ridiculous and depressing like that when he wrote it..

    Currently reading; ‘By Light Alone’ by Adam Roberts, which is sci-fi-cum-thought experiment about humans developing the ability to photosynthesize through their hair. The book then imagines what a world would be like if nobody needed to eat. It’s partly a serious examination of global poverty, and partly a satirical farce.

    Next up: Ummmm… I’m not sure. I’ve got quite a bit TBR tower on my desk at the moment. Maybe the new Ali Smith one? Got some Ursula K. Le Guin here too. Oh, or maybe the last book in Cormac McCarthy’s Border Trilogy. I tend not to decide until I the second before I start reading something…🙂

  5. almost never by Daniel Sada the favourite Mexican writer of Roberto Bolano that has finally been translated into English ,all the best stu

  6. David

    Just finished reading: Maggie O’Farrell’s ‘Instructions for a Heatwave’ which I liked, but wasn’t at all wowed by (as I mentioned to you on Goodreads) but I know you rated it very highly. I do hope you’ll review it as I’d love to see how and why it clicked for you and whether that makes me reassess my own opinion.

    Currently reading: Kent Haruf’s ‘Benediction’ which I could easily have read in a day or two, but am eking out and savouring. It has been a nine year wait since his last novel so I don’t want to rush it as goodness knows when or if his next one will come along. Suffice to say, I’m loving it just as much as I loved his other four books – a truly wonderful writer.
    I’m also reading Edith Pearlman’s ‘Binocular Vision: New and Selected Stories’ which was a finalist in America for the 2011 National Book Award and won the National Book Critics Circle Award – I’m only four stories in so far, but it’s really good stuff and I can see why it is being talked about as essential reading. Also the Pushkin Press hardback is a beautiful object.

    Want to read next: always subject to change (and whim!) this – I might read Michelle de Kretser’s ‘Questions of Travel’ just to try and keep on top of the new releases I keep buying, but what I really fancy reading is either George Johnston’s ‘My Brother Jack’ (which Kim was talking to you about on The Readers) or ‘The Mountain and the Valley’, a Canadian modern classic by Ernest Buckler from 1952 which just sounds like a lovely book.

  7. I’ve just finished ‘Island beneath the Sea’ by Isabel Allende, which I can only describe as AMAZING, ‘The Woman in White’ by Wilkie Collins (I have mixed views on that one) and ‘The Draining Lake’ by Arnaldur Indrioason (equal parts intrigue and frustration).

    I’m currently reading ‘The Jewel Box’ by Anna Davis because my brain needs arest (and how can one resist anything set in the 1920’s??)

    The next books I’ll be reading are ‘Dracula’ by Bram Stoker and ‘Heart of Darkness’ by Joseph Conrad because they’re the last of my set books that I need to get through… The next books I WANT to read are the ‘Wicked’ trilogy by Gregory Maguire.

    Looking back on this comment, I have really bizarre taste.

  8. I am currently reading a collection of short stories by Edgar Allen Poe (it’s one of my ‘read more classics’ moments), next up I have My Soul to Take by Yrsa Siguroardottir, which I bought after reading your review of it. However, I now have a hankering to read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz!

Leave a Reply

