You Wrote The Book!

So a week or so ago I asked you all about author interviews and mentioned that I was off working on a solo podcast, whilst very much continuing The Readers with Gavin of course. Well I can reveal that I have finally found a name for it…

YWTBBanner2

Thank you all for your suggestions on here and on GoodReads too. I actually came to mind when I was recording with Patrick Ness as I asked him about a character, who admittedly was only on one page of his new book, that he couldn’t remember and I said ‘come on, you wrote the book didn’t you?’ and it seemed to stick and now it is here for good. So what is it all about?

Well, each fortnight over the coming months I will be joined by a special guest author to discuss their life as a writer and as a reader, from the current novel they have published to the first book they read and everything in between. It is the sort of thing I would love to listen to, and indeed do listen to many shorter versions of as parts of other shows so I have made mine longer, and so I am hoping it might be right down some of your alleys.

The first episode is now live on the website and indeed on iTunes and I felt very lucky indeed as my first guest is Maggie O’Farrell who I am rather a big fan of (I will be reviewing ‘Instructions for a Heatwave’ tomorrow) and who I was beyond chuffed said yes to coming on, she was a fab guest and somehow I managed not to go all fanboy like I was expecting to.

Over the next few weeks I will be being joined by Patrick Ness, Joanne Harris and Alan Bradley. And of course I would love you all to be part of it if you fancied, so if you have any questions you would like to ask the author, or any feedback then you can email youwrotethebook@gmail.com or comment on twitter @youwrotethebook. Yes I know more emails and tweets but it actually helps to keep them separate. Anyway have a listen and let me know what you think, fingers crossed you like it, and also let me know if there are any authors you would love me to try and snag for the show.

5 Comments

Filed under You Wrote The Book!

5 responses to “You Wrote The Book!

  1. good luck will download to my iphone and listen in the week ,all the best stu

  2. David Nolan (David73277)

    Good luck with this latest venture. Have you considered attracting new listeners by posting short extracts on Audioboo? They do not charge for uploads under 3 minutes in length. As far as I know Mixcloud.com also allows users to upload audio for free. As their name suggests, they are home to lots of very “cool” types, spinning what I think the young people call “choons” (a very different sort of dance music from the kind found in Austen novels), but they also have a spoken word category which has in the past hosted Penguin Podcasts and the Guardian Books podcast.

  3. Martina

    Loved the interview with Maggie O’ Farrell, Simon. looking forward to reading her latest and to hearing your next You Wrote the Book!

  4. I love the name! Can’t wait to hear you talk to Joanne Harris, I’m a big fan.

  5. You interviewed Patrick Ness? Wow! Can’t wait to hear that! I’m not very good with podcasts, but I’ll give this a try.

Leave a Reply

