So I’ve Been Thinking…

Firstly, I hope you have all had a lovely Easter break? You may have noticed it has been a bit quiet on here, or you may not of course, and have been having a bit of a break myself. My intention when I was in London last week was to do ‘live’ posts from all the events, both bookish and personal, that I went to on my mad non-stop whirlwind of meeting publishers and authors, seeing the sights and catching up with friends. In the end I just got too caught up in, for the most part but more of that shortly, having lots of fun and simply enjoying myself, and the idea of blogging weirdly (and most unlike me) felt a bit like reporting back.

Books I bought and was given in London (top) books arrived at home while was in London (bottom)

Books I bought and was given in London (top) books arrived at home while was in London (bottom)

I didn’t think much of it at the time yet when I got back there was no desire to report back or even really blog about the books that I had been discussing and I think part of this might have been the fact that I had a lot of book overload, I didn’t read whilst I was away either. You probably all get this on occasion, sometimes when you hear lots and lots about lots and lots of wonderful books your head wants to explode a) at the prospect of the amount of reading joy ahead b) because you start to freak out thinking ‘how will I ever read all the books I want to read, no really, how?’ So I think that was all a lot to compute and added to it. I also think I got a bit blogged out.

I have loved blogger meet ups in the past and getting to know both new and older bloggers. I have made friends, and I mean ones who visit and I visit as well as those I talk to online, and it has in the past been a real joy. I have never noticed any divides between the new ones and the old ones and indeed, and I think I am counted as old school but who knows, I have encouraged new bloggers. Its all been lovely. So I was really excited about the various, there was more than one, blogging events I had lined up. Really excited.

Yet last week I felt there had been a change. I have seen the ‘grabby’ attitude of some bloggers on twitter when they simply demand they get the latest book, only its every book not one or two, yet to watch people simply walking through the door at events and taking double/triple copies of a proof almost had my jaw hitting the floor – well it did when the event had finished and I went to have a mooch as I had been chatting to bloggers, authors and publishers during the breaks in the event. Also over hearing some discussions like ‘did you know I get XXX stats, I bet its more than X blog’ and ‘I don’t care if I offend the publishers or authors on my blog’ (this was said in front of two authors and a publisher who was hosting the event) and then to be greeted with ‘I’m X, not that you would know as you don’t follow me on Twitter’ left me a little bit bemused, saddened and disheartened. After the incident on Twitter last week when I discovered that a few bloggers, though I don’t know which, had said to publishers that ‘Simon of Savidge Reads said’ they could have proofs of a book just bothered me more and more.

I know that this was only a select few in a much bigger group, and indeed as I caught up with so many lovely bloggers it almost counteracted it, yet the thought niggled in my brain almost constantly. Not only that but I started to wonder as an early blogger, though I know not one of the very first, but it has been six years, if I had in some way created this level of ‘expectation’ that seemed rife? Actually, not expectation – entitlement! Did the fact that I shared pictures of the books I got be they an occasional ask or unsubmited (like some of the books above), which then a blogger or two emailed the publisher and said I had said they could have copies (this happened before I went but had really annoyed me as I am sure you understand) mean other people expected the same? Had my enthusiasm come across as entitlement?

It got to the point where I was questioning if people might be questioning my motives. I hope people see this blog as, a personal diary of sorts, mainly filled with books and bookish thoughts, from someone who just loves and enthuses about books and would keep doing it if all the free copies stopped coming in and no one read it anymore, so basically like the first few years I did it. I won’t lie but I went into a real fog about it this weekend and have been mulling whether I want to be a part of the community or not anymore and even if I wanted to stop blogging full stop. No navel gazing honest, this was just pondering. Though a few bloggers I have discussed how I have been feeling with with said they didn’t think I should (partly as some people might get pissed off, partly they worried I might get a lot of grief – sod it, this is all from a nice place), I have decided to post about how I was feeling, not to tell tales or cause a stir or offend anyone but because it was on my mind and I like to be upfront with anyone who pops here and not be shy of saying what is bothering me.

So what is my solution? Well, I just have to carry on as I was though I think it might be a bit less, partly because I keep saying I will read more (and have spent an hour writing this when I should have been reading Joanne Harris) and that needs to happen, also I need to get the social/work/blog a bit more equal and also because I want to hone the blog, its contents and my writing, a little more in different ways. I also have Gran’s health, the Liverpool Literature Festival, The Readers and You Wrote The Book! (which if you love Patrick Ness you might just want to hear the latest episode of) to do as well as my freelance and spending time with The Beard and the cats. Phew! So I guess everything is the same really, but a blogging wobble has helped me regain my focus on the blog and everything around it. I think. We will see. I needed to say something though, maybe it does make me a bad blogger, but positive from negatives I always say…

37 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

37 responses to “So I’ve Been Thinking…

  1. Sue N

    Hi Simon, I certainly see your blog as a diary with books, love the cats and stories about your family, I would not read the other kind of blog, too much ego. Keep on doing what you are doing and ignore the prats. X

  2. I’m pretty shocked by their behaviour Simon. When you mentioned it on Twitter I thought it was just stat talk but they sounded downright rude. I know I get a lot more books than some but I only ask for ones I really want and sometimes I don’t evn feel comfortable doing that. I don’t know the circumstances of other people’s book acquisition so I would never think I am as deserving as them. Eg you get loads but I know some are for your work and I also know that sometimes we have no control over these things. Books just appear!

    I don’t want people to think I’m bragging but I love sharing books and I like seeing what other people get too.

    I certainly don’t see that crowd as the norm. I know I’ve missed out on “free copies” at events because i’ve been too busy nattering but never seen that level of grabbiness. There are so many lovely, humble, generous bloggers out there. Carry on doing what you love and try to ignore those who would ruin it for the rest of us.

  3. (Warning- I’m about to brag about my blog stats)
    I get about 15 views a day, and I don’t even care…. I love writing my blog but there seems to be so much ‘perfection’ from the the obsessive bloggites that sometimes they leave me feeling a bit inadequate. When I first started my blog I imagined meeting lots of like minded people to talk about books and art and puppies with, but it doesn’t seem to have worked out like that… These people make me feel like I’m still at school, reading on a bench by myself.
    P.S. I love your blog, and it’s definitely more like a diary than anything lese… these people were ibviously just morons.

  4. Sweet Fanny Adams

    A bad blogger? You? I love it when I come in from work and there’s an email from your site, cheers me up no end. I’ve lost count of the number of books I’ve bought based on your reviews and I have never been sold a pup, so to speak.
    As for the specimens you encountered at the fest, I think they are to be found in all walks of life and they are pathetic. Some may call them closets. As for questioning your motives, the very fact that you even thought it is answer enough. Keep up the great work but do take time for yourself (bit of self-interest there from me, ha ha). x

  5. So sorry about your negative experience Simon. This is the kind of attitude on the blogosphere that has made me stop posting so much on my own blog. The greed of some bloggers really put me off. There is a lot of insincerity sometimes and that can ruin things for some.

    I hope you don’t let a few bad apples keep you from doing what you love most. We certainly appreciate your work!

  6. rosemarykaye

    Hi Simon,

    I only discovered your blog relatively recently and I very much enjoy it, so please don’t stop! I do think it’s one of the best I’ve seen, and I especially like your friendly tone and the way your personality seems to come across in your reviews.

    Unfortunately. as Fanny has said, there are people like this in all walks of life – be gad that you’re not like them. I absolutely understand about ‘re-balancing’ your life, but please don’t desert us completely! You’ve got all those Persephones to tell us about!

  7. Oh, Simon–I just started following your blog not too long ago, and I love everything about it. You in no way come across as entitled or anything of the sort.

    When I see books that haven’t been published pop up on blogs, I have never felt like I should be able to read it early, too (and I’m a book blogger). I love that other bloggers keep me informed of what kinds of books I can look forward to. I think if those people whom you speak of in this post weren’t book bloggers, they would have the same attitude about something else they’re into, and that attitude is really unfortunate.

    Please don’t let anyone make you feel like you shouldn’t continue book blogging. You bring so much to the community and all of your projects are just wonderful. I would miss your blogging immensely.

  8. So here is the thing. Publishers want to get books out there. They ‘seed’ books so they might sprout and gain readers. Some will get loads of attention and bloom. Some get ignored by bloggers but thrive anyway. Some get celebrated by bloggers and die. Some get celebrated by everyone and do reasonably well. Some books that would have done well in April don’t do well in October. It’s a mystery this book selling lark.

    Blogging though is a conversation. Everyone does it differently. My blog is completely different to yours. We both talk about different books most of the time. We talk on The Readers podcast and discover lots of shared interests.

    In America this month there are over 179 SF/F/H books being released but their coverage mostly will be minimal. In the UK I’ve got a list of 15 odd books coming out next week that I’d love to read. I physically can’t. Though I’ll pop up post to let people know. I’ll pop up on twitter and Instagram images of books bought/sent to share their existence.

    The danger is diversity. Or lack of it. And having your own mind. It’s easy to supplement your reading, if you’re a successful and known book blogger, solely with books from publishers. That weights your blog and your reading to current.

    In fact if I was navel guessing my whole blog in March apart from An Uncertain Place by Fred Vargas has been about new books. But I’ve had great fun doing it. It’s been energising. Though only 1/4 of reviews so far this year have been books published this year.

    But this month is probably going to be different again.

    I think entitlement is the weirdest thing. I’ve bought a stupid amount of books this year because I’ve heard good things about them making me want to read them. Bloggers and my friends on twitter have that power.

    They hunt out and highlight books to read. They share the love. I’d feel weird dashing off emails like a magpie saying I’ve seen this book – send me – I’ve seen this book – send me – that’s taking the piss for one and secondly. Are you really going to read them or do you want them to feather your nest?

    But it seems that some do. And as for stats. It’s nice to be loved. But as all blogs are different they are have different audiences. Just like book sales. It’s hard to judge. Does have 1000 hits a day sell more books than 100? You can’t really tell. Though I put up some Amazon links at Christmas and was chuffed to see 20 odd books being sold directly. I worry that they’ll like them I hope they do.

    Anyway. My motivation for blogging is sharing the love. I can’t see any other reason.

  9. Sorry you have had some horrible things happen Simon, there are always a few people who sour any community. I am glad you will be carrying on – you would be missed otherwise. I am just glad that I have started blogging again with re-newed enthusiasm – connecting with other readers and bloggers. I don’t care about getting free books – I’ve had one or two – but really I have so many of my own that I really do want to read that I haven’t time for more. I don’t care much about stats either – but I do love talking about the books I love, and engaging with others – and your blog along with many others is all part of that community that I enjoy being a part of. Keep up the good work.

    • I was going to say what Ali said, so I’ll just say DITTO. I had a worry when I thought I was just shouting about my reading into the abyss and worried that I was being egocentric, but a good few people came out of the woodwork. I would never ask for a free book and know that most book bloggers wouldn’t.

      I think there’s a lot of stuff about “monetising” your blog that is maybe giving people the wrong idea. I get a lot more hits on my professional blog than my book one, but have decided not to go down the route of taking ads, even if they would make me a bit of money, as my blog is there to help people and provide information, not sell to people (well, it advertises my services but not in a pushy way). There are a lot of people on the the more decent end of the spectrum out there, I promise!

  10. Sweet Fanny Adams

    Sorry to hog this twice, but just had a thought – Simon, if you are thinking, “oh no, I didn’t share my thoughts to get followers to say nice things about me” – we know you didn’t! It was very interesting. As Myworldly said, we just appreciate the work you put into your blogs.

  11. Simon – love your blog. Don’t let other greedy grubby people steal your fun. I, for one blogger, have decided not to accept books for review bc I don’t want to feel any pressure from any one (or myself). You gotta do what’s right for you, my friend. All best wishes from Texas, liz.

  12. Sorry to hear about your recent bad experiences. Please try not to be too disheartened even if it appears to be a bit of a reality check, Do keep on doing what you want to do in the way you want to do it, and continue to be a great example of how to share the love for books (and everything else you want to share).

    On a much happier note, I listened to your podcast with Patrick Ness this afternoon and loved it. Amazingly, you two talked about something I’ve been writing a long post on so I shall be linking into it – very timely indeed. Thank you.

  13. Simon, if you enjoy what you’re doing just keep doing it. I enjoy reading what you’re up to. I follow (and have followed) several blogs. If I find someone is just too ridiculous with their own ego I simply delete them off my list. I think blogging is for the fun of the writer, if others enjoy it then that is nice too but can’t take people in cyberspace too seriously. Have fun and just keep living. cheers, Pam

  14. I can’t believe people behave like that. Well, I can, but it really upsets me.
    Your blog is my favourite book blog, mostly because I love that you are clearly writing about a subject you love and not doing it to get free books or whatever. If you were writing just to get readers or stats or free stuff it would probably be a rather soulless blog.
    I have been blogging (very sporadically) and it has never even occurred to me to try and get free books. Mostly because I have plenty to read as it is, and don’t just want to write about new stuff to get attention. I haven’t blogged in a while as I’ve been spending more time reading!
    I always assumed you got many free books because of your day job, although have realised I don’t know what that is! I would be really annoyed if people were getting free books from using my name, I can see why that would make you wonder about people. But I’m sure that’s a greedy minority, and most of us are reading you for your obvious passion for books and your entertaining blog entries. Don’t give up. x

  15. Books

    I think book blogs can be wonderful things, as are any forum in which books can be discussed. However, my experience of the bloggers I follow on Twitter is that they just covet new books: it’s take take take. And when I read the reviews I’m shocked: they’re cloyingly sycophantic and badly written. I can’t understand how they’d be of any use to a publicist. It’s also very interesting to note the amount of love such bloggers will pile on a book when they know the publisher, or better yet, the publicist, or – jackpot – the author is on Twitter. I can’t say that these books aren’t worthy of the praise – their opinion is as valid as mine – but there are some seriously dubious titles being heaped with adoration while, at the same time, books that I have seen in photographs of their ‘books in the post’ are ignored because there’s nobody relevant for them to link back to.

    However at the same time publicists are clearly using these bloggers. They make them think they’re better than they are, but they work with books and I know they’re seeing what I see when they read these reviews. And then they tell the blogger that they’ll show the review to the author, when to do so would be a professional embarrassment. It shows a complete lack of integrity on their part. And I just don’t understand what they have to gain from it. They’re sending free books to these bloggers, but who is reading the reviews? It’s just another example of how insular the book industry is at the moment. Publicists are using the bloggers for statistics: look, this book received 17 favourable reviews! But that message isn’t echoing beyond the publisher, the blogger and the book industry people reading their conversations on Twitter.

    It’s such a shame, because I do think that book blogs are so important to the industry. It just frustrates me to see respectable publishers pandering to bloggers who are clearly only in the game for some free swag.

  16. Perhaps there’s a bit of a generation gap (not that I’m saying you’re old!) between newer bloggers and the old school. This sense of entitlement may be quite common now, ironically fuelled by the fact that bloggers who have been doing this for years have got to a position where they do get a lot of books – mainly by a lot of hard work and networking.

    Perhaps some (not all…) newer bloggers see the benefits (the books, the followers, the stats) and haven’t clicked that these things don’t happen overnight. Even though blogging is a hobby, there’s a lot of time and effort that goes into it.

    Now back when I started blogging, I had to cycle ten miles on my exercise bike to generate enough electricity to power up the internet, then wait three hours for each page to load (kids today, pfft)…

  17. Ruthiella

    I whole heartedly agree with all the above comments and thank you Simon, for sharing your wobble with your readers. Do what you need to do to keep your life and your blogging in balance. Post like this one, as well as the ones about your Gran, your cats,the Beard, other people’s book shelves, etc. on top of your obvious love of books and passion for reading are what make your blog unique and fabulous.🙂

  18. I spent the Easter Weekend reading Joanne Harris, Chocolat ( quite good) and Gentlemen and Players (very wicked good), thanks to you and your excellent blog. Sorry to hear about the hassles you’ve experienced lately, but that is the way it is sometimes in work situations. Just draw your own line in the sand and don’t let the (——–) get you down!

  19. Great post, great weblog. No more to say other than keep ploughing your own furrow and don’t worry about the bad guys.

  20. Just do what you enjoy doing, Simon, I love it all: posts about books you received, reviews of books you read, stories about your Gran, your cats, your new podcast You Wrote the Book, and of course The Readers, with Gavin. Each week I look forward to the two of you bantering about books. Please don’t stop with any of this.

  21. David

    I don’t think that kind of behaviour is peculiar to a new breed of bloggers, Simon. Maybe I’m becoming a grumpy old man long before my time, but that sense of entitlement seems to be becoming endemic amongst the younger generation in particular (I know not all of them, before anyone gets uppity). Demanding free books, expecting to be a pop star despite a complete lack of talent or willingness to graft – all symptoms of the same problem. I suppose you just ignore it and try and set an example. “I don’t care if I offend the publishers or authors” doesn’t sound to me like an attitude that equates with good reviewing. I recently stopped receiving the RSS feed (techno-numpty here: not sure if that is the correct phrase or not!) of one particular blog which will remain nameless, because of the blogger’s repeated and vociferous attacks on Hilary Mantel – they are of course entitled to their opinion of her as a writer, but it struck me as plain unprofessional (and I know bloggers aren’t necessarily professionals, but if you’re going to put your reviews out there and expect them to be taken seriously I think a degree of professionalism is essential).
    As you know, I don’t blog, but if I did I certainly wouldn’t feel like I was entitled to advance copies of anything. Crikey, I get sent contractual copies of books I’ve illustrated to which I AM entilted, and even then I feel like the publisher has done me a kindness!

    Just as an aside, it’s all well and good bloggers getting review copies of new books, but what often happens is that every blog is reviewing the same handful of books at the same time. Yes, that creates “a buzz” but it can make for dull blog-reading. Whilst I will read those reviews on the handful of blogs that I follow and trust (and it is nice to be able to discuss them), I find it much more interesting when you (for instance) are reviewing the Persephones or some of the older stuff you’ve read this year, or Kim at Reading Matters is doing her Australian Literature month, or KevinfromCanada is revisiting older books that have had a major effect on him. The new books I tend to already know about but it’s the reviews of more obscure ones that have me reaching for my debit card.

    Anyway, your piles of books: I can’t wait to read ‘Americanah’ and I’m interested in ‘The Other Typist’ too. ‘The Gift of Rain’ is good – I suspect I just read it at the wrong time last year (for a while it seemed like every other novel I read featured a character with memory problems), but images from it have certainly stuck with me. And I was reminded a bit (only a bit) of ‘The Red House’ when I read the Maggie O’Farrell last month – hers held together better and is by far the more compelling, but I thought Haddon’s had an ambition in the way he played with multiple voices that O’Farrell’s lacked.
    And I’ve had ‘Tigers in Red Weather’ on my TBR for yonks and must really get around to it.

    Just keep doing what you’re doing, Simon – you do it very well🙂

    • David

      Edit: sorry. Not read ‘The Gift of Rain’ at all. I’m thinking of ‘The Garden of Evening Mists’! Apparently those memory problems are catching…

    • rosemarykaye

      David, I so agree – I much, much prefer the blogs about interesting aspects of literature – books round a theme, or a re-visiting of older novels. (That is what I am hoping to do on my own blog, as I love 1950s novels – and it’s also why I love Simon’s blog, and especially his Persephone Project. I tried to set up a reading group at my local library looking at themes in literature rather than the standard ‘read two books a month’ thing, but the idea wasn’t well received by the staff, unfortunately, who thought no-one else would take to it. Hey-ho!)

      As for the younger generation – I know you did emphasise that it’s not all of them, but I must just add my twopennyworth to that – my younger daughter (aged 14 and an avid reader) has recently started reviewing and she is amazed and delighted if anyone sends her a book – she is more than happy to review books that she’s bought or borrowed from the library, she’s just so thrilled if anyone’s prepared to post her reviews on their blogs (she does have one herself too, but I think it’s always a boost if someone else thinks your thoughts are worth sharing.)

      As ever, such interesting comments on this blog. Simon – DO NOT give up! Please…

  22. Hi Simon It’s good of you to be so frank about this. The event at which we met last week was the first time I’d been to a bloggers’ gathering – I realise it was only one of several you are referring to. I was struck by everyone’s genuine enthusiasm for books but it doesn’t surprise me in the least that you would be shocked and saddened by what you saw.
    I really believe that readers of book blogs can tell who has a real passion for what they’re doing and it would be a great loss if those bloggers – including you, quite clearly – were to be put off by the greed and bad manners of a few individuals.

  23. Maria

    I’m sorry to hear that anyone can try to spoil something you love (reading and talking about books is an experience I feel related to love) and are good at so… don’t stop writing this blog while you enjoy it and don’t give these people one more second of your thoughts.

  24. Dee King

    Dear Simon,

    I just recently discovered your blog–via “Books on the Nightstand” via “The Readers.”

    You are a breath of fresh air, and I just love you! The behavior you describe, that has you so discouraged, is in every profession and segment of life and deserves no attention. Opportunists all. If we let this bad leech-like behavior keep us from our joy, there is NOTHING worthwhile that will get done.

    Your love and passion make life sparkle. I am sorry to hear of your pain. I hope this past week will wash through you, and we will have the chance to continue learning about you, books, and reading.

    I send you love and hugs. Please continue!

    Dee

  25. I guess I’m quite naive about book blogging, as I didn’t really know the scale of this sort of thing: So many proof/review copies being sent out to/taken by bloggers? Wowza! I think I’ve only been offered review copies twice in my 3 years as a blogger (and I turned them down both times: my TBR pile is big enough without adding stuff I’ve not sought out to it) — and I’ve never requested a review copy from a publisher (do people do that, or is it considered rude?). I think the pressure of knowing a publisher or author is checking my site and waiting for a review to pop up would freak me out a little bit. Also my meagre average of 8 hits a day isn’t likely to attract any publishers/market people, I imagine. (… not that I want such people hounding me to write reviews).

    I used to be a manager for Borders books, and we were regularly sent unsolicited proof copies of novels (most of which were egregious garbage) in the hope that our store would then buy lots of copies when a particular book was released. We never did. We mostly used the proofs as coasters in the staff room!🙂

    Shocked to hear about the behaviour of certain bloggers: and it’s a shame that people place so much value on stats: Sheesh, I’d have given up a looong time ago if blog hits were important to me.

    Excellent and very important article, as always Simon.
    Love your blog!
    Tom.

  26. meeting other bloggers is great ,loads of lovely books simon there ,all the best stu

  27. Sadly it’s yet another example of the entitlement attitude that seems to prevail in certain groups. Just reminds me of those horrid people who load up their plates at the breakfast buffet until the food is practically falling off the plate. Then they leave half of it. Just ignore them and keep doing what you’re doing.

  28. Ooh, that’s really cheeky of them to use your name to get books. It was really great to see you again and I hope you do continue your blog in whatever form you want as I enjoy reading your posts.

  29. wordandpiece

    I hate the sense of entitlement, if I’m ever sent a book or if I request one on Netgalley I’m so grateful and always try to make sure the Publishers know that. Don’t let the few ruin it for you. I’ve discovered some authors I’d never heard of thanks to your blog so you’re doing me a service. Thank you very much

  30. Stuart

    I’m just a book lover who enjoys your passion, humour and take on life. I hope you continue to write your blog.

  31. Martina

    Your blog is a must read for me,Simon. It is so fresh,lively with a balance between the new and the vast world of other titles!!
    Don’t be down hearted , this comment stream must be an antidote to your disappointment. As others have wisely said, this behaviour in all its forms appears fairly universally.

  32. Sad to hear about your experiences Simon, but don’t let it discourage you. The greediness of other bloggers (and I agree with many of the comments here that their “reviews” wouldn’t be worth reading anyways) is their problem, not yours. I worked in publishing for many years and I use to be sickened at the number of galleys and actual books that were being mailed out to just anybody, mostly to get those “stats” but also because the publicists and those in charge of digital promotion rarely bothered to weed out the legitimate reviewers/bloggers from the greedy and lazy ones. And guess what usually happened to those books/galleys? Those bloggers would usually sell them to used bookstores. But ultimately the responsibility for this craziness lies with the publishers and this insane, useless obsessions with stats and facebook “likes” which supercedes any original marketing ideas.The emperor completely has no clothes. If they don’t want this result, they shouldn’t produce so many galleys and should do their homework. So take the free books – you know that you are a legitimate booklover and blogger and it shows on the blog. And you don’t just review the big guys with all the galleys – a lot of the smaller, indie presses have some of the most awesome marketing campaigns. They HAVE to as they can’t afford to produce tons of galleys. And you’ve reviewed some of them too which they’ll appreciate more than a stupid tweet that will disappear in a nano-second. That is if anyone bothered to read it in the first place.

    The other thing that good publishers/publicists know is that legitimate bloggers who may get tons of books sent to them are also great book buyers, not only for themselves but they are the types who always give books for gifts. And will usually if not always buy them. It’s great for the book industry to keep these connections up.

    So keep the faith and keep on doing what you love doing.

  33. dot

    I really hope that you don’t stop blogging, I would be very sad! I know what you mean though, I feel like there has been a real shift recently, in the last month I have had three emails from new bloggers asking me how I get free books! I am still extremely humbled when a review copy drops through my letterbox or an email arrives about a new book, I would never ask for a copy of something and like you, if the review copies stopped coming, I would still be here blogging away!

  34. Pingback: Rambling: Reading More, Thinking More, Talking Less | Gav Reads

Leave a Reply

