Head Down; More Reading, Less Everything Else…

I shouldn’t really be typing this. I should actually be busy reading and nothing else. But having looked at the next few weeks it seems that all I should be doing is reading and pretty much nothing else. You see, the thing is my bookish projects have started to get a little out of hand, though in a good way, I think…

Books Ahead

What you see above this is two piles of books I really need to read over the next few weeks, yes I said weeks. On the left are some of the books that I need to read or re-read for discussions that I will be having at the Liverpool Literature Festival (you can find the brochure here IOW Listing Brochure 22-3). I say some of the books as I am still waiting on a few and need to dig out a few Jeanette Winterson and Philippa Gregory novels before the big World Book Night launch that I will be reporting on and involved with launching this year in Liverpool and sort of kicking the festival off.

On the right we have some more books that I need to be reading (again am waiting on a few copies of other books by these authors) in preparation for forthcoming episodes of You Wrote The Book! which seems to have kicked off with a bang and now I am kicking myself with joy at some of the authors who have said yes (though Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Caitlin Moran still need final confirmations) and so might be making the podcast weekly instead of fortnightly.

Here I should note that I am in no way complaining about all this, it has left me all a bit daunted/panicked and a little muddled too. Which is why I need to stop talking, tweeting, photo posting, and blogging – well at least lessen them all – and just get on with reading shouldn’t I? I haven’t even taken into account that I will be reading the entire Women’s Prize shortlist for We Love This Book. Erm, let’s move on, shall we? Ha!

Anyway, I thought I would explain where I am at and why the blog and I might be a little quieter for a month or two (of course reviews of these books will pop up, as will bookish thoughts and reports from various events and things). I have said ‘Middlemarch’ reading is now postponed until further notice, I was going to say May or June but I don’t want to make a promise that I can’t keep so will update you after May if that is ok. Right, best get on with some of this lovely reading hadn’t I and stop this waffling on. What are you all reading at the moment?

P.S if you see me on Twitter too much can you tell me off, ha!

11 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

11 responses to “Head Down; More Reading, Less Everything Else…

  1. Wow the brochure has some fantastic stuff in it! Wish I could be there. I live in Normandy but the time isn’t right for me. There’s a lot going on.

  2. wordandpiece

    That’s a lot of good books, huge fan of Jasper Fforde!

  3. I’m reading a forthcoming novel called The Movement of Stars by Amy Brill, which is pretty good actually. Next up is Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, so I look forward to her possible appearance on your podcast!

  4. Laura Caldwell

    I am reading Sophie Hannah’s Little Face, having just finished Hurting Distance (wrong order). I am also just starting Barbara Pym’s Less Than Angels. I usually have a number of fictions going at once, and often some non-fictions too.

  5. You are a busy bee aren’t you!🙂

    I’m just starting ‘Harvest’ by Jim Crace, then it’ll be another Iain Banks as part of BanksRead.

  6. Reading (Canadian writer) Kelly Armstrong’s Werewolves,Eizabeth Berg’s The Handmaiden and the Carpenter, Elswth Thane’s The Williamsburg Novels book 7 Homing and Anne Tyler’s Celestial Navigation at present. Hunting around old book stores for treasures as well. I like to mix up the contemporary with the antique!

  7. Wow, and I thought I had a lot of reading to do, clearly I don’t know what it is like to have a lot of things to read! Good luck with all this reading!

  8. What a lovely pile of reading you have! I recently finished Ghana Must Go and I’m quite sure that you will love it. I’m envious to see Jackie Kay’s newest in your stack.

    Currently, I’m 1/3 of the way into Jan-Philipp Sendker’s The Art of Hearing Heartbeats (but still feeling so-so about it); halfway through Thomas King’s The Inconvenient Indian (loving it); halfway through The Where, The Why and the How: 75 Artists Illustrate Wondrous Mysteries of Science (it’s wondrous); and almost finished listening to Ian MacEwan’s Sweet Tooth (not what I expected, but I like it).

  9. It’s a terrific line-up of events and I’m going to try and get to as many as I can. Are you participating in the Moby Dick marathon reading? Really excited about Lightnight too! The city is going to be bursting with literary goodness.

    Good luck on all the reading.

  10. good luck that is one hell of a pile simon ,but sure when you get your head down it will dwindle ,all the best stu

  11. simonsylvester

    Careful with Jasper Fforde – he’s addictive.

Leave a Reply

