A Break of Fate

So after having had some ‘head down’ time, which actually became a week of mad reading and lots of author interviews, I was all ready to come back with a review post today, a little post about some bookish treats tomorrow and the latest Persephone project on Sunday. Fate seems to have other ideas though as my wifi has gone kaput and may be kaput for sometime. Plus I don’t get 3G in my apartment (I believe it’s the Victorian ghosts) and so right now I’m typing and setting this all live from the bottom of the garden (where the pixies live, joking, I don’t believe in pixies). But I thought I would try and do a catch up post anyway before vanishing again for a while. So…

This week has been lovely as my belated birthday books arrived from The Beard (it’s our one year anniversary on Sunday, very exciting) this week and what a bounty it was – so much so we’ve had to hire a guard cat to watch over them, you wouldn’t mess with Millie.

20130412-181600.jpg

In case you can’t quite see these are; a copy of Gregory Maguire’s ‘Wicked’ which I already have but the musical cover not the original cover which was on my imported first edition I lent to someone and never got back, ‘Building Stories’ by Chris Ware, ‘Black Vodka’ by Deborah Levy, and the next three Persephone’s that I was missing; ‘The Victorian Chaise-Longue’ by Marghanita Laski, ‘The Home-Maker’ by Dorothy Canfield Fisher and ‘Good Evening, Mrs Craven’ by Mollie Panter-Downes. All very exciting.

Ooh while we are on the subject of Persephone’s, they do lead me to saying that as I am wifi-less discussing Etty Hillesum’s ‘An Interrupted Life’ will be postponed to a week on Sunday. I hope that’s ok?

This week has felt a bit bonkers. Everything is getting finalised for the Liverpool Literature Festival (so having no wifi is really annoying right now) and then somehow I ended up with three author interviews in one week, meaning masses of reading.

I have had the pleasure of chatting to Jenni Fagan for the latest Reader Book Club featuring ‘The Panopticon’ and then have been recording two advance episodes of You Wrote the Book! with Alan Bradley (of the Flavia de Luce series – which I love) and then Taiye Selasi, an author who is as beautiful on the inside as the outside as the picture below shows, whose debut ‘Ghana Must Go’ is doing incredibly well as, well, it is incredible. More on that soon…

20130412-182024.jpg

Speaking of You Wrote the Book, which you can listen to on repeat if you miss me while I have this blip, the latest episode with Joanne Harris is now live and next week I am recording with… Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, so if you have any questions for her then let me know. I am just about to start ‘Americanah’ finally.

I am also off to see Gran for a few days next week so if you have anything to pass onto her then let me know.

That’s me all up to date. I hope to be back ASAP but am seeing it as a break-of-fate from everything in the meantime. In fact actually this weekend is the perfect time to have a huge book sort! What plans have you this weekend? What else is news with you?

7 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Random Savidgeness

7 responses to “A Break of Fate

  1. So cool that you got to meet Taiye Selasi. I can’t wait to get my hands on Ghana Must Go when it comes out on amazon.fr. Could you ask Joanne Harris when if she’ll be writing anymore food inspired fiction novels, please? Thanks! Have a nice weekend with your Gran.🙂

  2. Kateg

    Sometimes a week with no wifi IS A blessing (especially if you ask my husband). I have been stuck reading new books as my husband is painting the living room and most of my TBR is on those shelves, but the library has come through. I am waiting for Ghana Must Go as I had seen the lovely author on a show in the US. I finished the last Flavia de Luce and can’t wait for that interview either. Thanks for the new podcast, between The Readers, You Wrote the Book and Books on the Nightstand my tedious car time flies by! Enjoy your time with Gran

  3. I quite enjoyed your interview with Joanne Harris and I can’t wait to see what she does with the book spiralling out of Gentlemen and Players. Alan Bradley’s interview will be great too. I don’t know the work of the other writer T. Selasi yet …..but I will look for it!

  4. I just read and reviewed The Home maker. It was a “different” pace of read. Have a good weekend.

  5. Louise

    Hope you get your Wifi back up soon!
    It’s my 36th birthday on Saturday, so I’ve ordered some gorgeus tapas, and am planning on making a huge cake🙂 I can usually count on my mother in law to get me at least *one* book🙂

    Wish I could join you at the festival🙂

  6. Sharanya

    You’re talking to Adichie!I’m quite jealous😉 ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’ was the book that got me interested in African literature, and I am looking forward to ‘Americanah’ as well🙂

  7. Wow, when I read your blog or listen to your podcasts lately I’d swear you lead a charmed life. All those amazing books and authors! I so have to find a way to quit the day job…

    Oh, and happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

