Savidge Reads Library Loot #5

I won’t write a big long intro about the return of my Library Loot vlog post, as I do that in the video. I will say you might like to make yourself a cup of tea and grab a fairy cake as it lasts about 16/17mins – who knew I could waffle so much? Anyway hopefully you will enjoy me embarrassing myself once more talking to you all about the latest books that I have borrowed from the libraries of late, a list of which you can see below, and waffling a lot about why.

The books that I have borrowed from library number one, in author surname order, are…

The Afterparty by Leo Benedictus
Sleepyhead by Mark Billingham
Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo
Nothing to Envy – Barbara Demick
I’m the King of the Castle by Susan Hill
Zoo Time by Howard Jacobson
The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman
The Chalk Circle Man by Fred Vargas

The books that I borrowed from library number two, in author surname order, are…

The Bridge by Iain Banks
World War Z by Max Brooks
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
Lightning Rods by Helen DeWitt
Starlight by Stella Gibbons
Landfall by Helen Gordon
Why We Broke Up by David Handler and Maira Kalman
Pig Iron by Benjamin Myers
The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi
Bad Blood by Lorna Sage

Phew, that is quite a selection. Do let me know your thoughts on any of the books on the list you have read or if there are ones that you’d like to give a whirl. Also let me know what you have borrowed from the library of late, or even simply what you are reading at the moment. Look forward to chatting to you about them in the comments below, hint! Ha!

18 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

18 responses to “Savidge Reads Library Loot #5

  1. The Icarus Girl is great and quite strange. I haven’t met very many people who have read it though, which I think is a great shame. I keep meaning to read more of her books… Interested to see what you think.

    • I agree: Icarus Girl is great and strange. We had a spirited discussion of it in my book group a couple of years ago. Lots of mysterious things, from the choice of title to the ambiguous ending. Well, I didn’t think the ending was ambiguous, but other people in my group disagreed.

  2. Simon, I’m embarrassed to admit that I haven’t been to the library in years – and they just built a beautiful new library right down the road – so I guess no good excuse for not going. I could walk it’s so close. So, confession over, that looks like a great list and I think you’ve inspired me to take a walk to my local library! BTW – they have a great statue display on the front lawn.
    http://www.city-data.com/picfilesc/picc32959.php

  3. I can’t watch the video–when I click on it, it tells me the video is private.😦

    The only one I’ve read is Behind the Beautiful Forevers–it’s very good.

    • Oops. Sorry. Changed the settings without knowing. Should work now. Let me know😉

      • It worked, thank you!

        I’m currently reading Naked Lunch by Burroughs…and I have absolutely no idea what’s happening. I’m going to push on, though.:/

        I’ve added quite a few of the books in your video to my ever-growing list.

  4. Laura Caldwell

    I can’t see the video either-marked private.

  5. I loved The Afterparty by Leo Benedictus – I picked it up from Poundland (or maybe 99p Shop) – which is a surprisingly good source of random books!

    It was a real page turner that I finished in a day, leaving me with so many questions. The concept behind the style of the book is really clever – a sort of book within a book (within a book?)

    I reviewed it on my blog (shameless plug) here: http://0651frombrighton.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/the-afterparty-leo-benedictus.html

  6. Alex in Leeds

    I loved Lightning Rods, it was one of my favourite books of 2012. It’s satire and black, gallows humour rather than laugh out loud comedy but it’s done very, very well. A great choice for going off the bookish beaten track with.🙂

  7. wow, that’s an impressive and ambitious haul. Good luck with getting through them all. The Icarus Girl is the only one I have read and I really liked it and remain in awe of the talent of such a young writer, as she was when she wrote it.

    I’m currently reading Colum McCann’s Transatlantic after being sent a lovely hardback from The Guardian, a random gift from their shelves after they highlighted extracts from my Zadie Smith review of NW. Really enjoying it.

  8. Wow, that’s an impressive and ambitious haul. Good luck with getting through them all. The Icarus Girl is the only one I have read and I really liked it and remain in awe of the talent of such a young writer, as she was when she wrote it.

    I’m currently reading Colum McCann’s Transatlantic after being sent a lovely hardback from The Guardian, a random gift from their shelves after they highlighted extracts from my Zadie Smith review of NW. Really enjoying it.

  9. I really like your library loot vlogs. I just maxed out my library card too. I’ve just started Sleepyhead myself for my book group. I’m only a few chapters in but it’s good so far, I do love my crime though. Didn’t know he wrote Maid Marian, I loved that programme!
    I’ve not read The Icarus Girl but did enjoy White is for Witching. I’ve read the Agatha Christie, her books are always enjoyable.
    I just read the new Neil Gaiman book which I loved and may have to re-read. Aside from that my concentration has been useless lately so I’ve been reading lots of Sara Paretsky’s crime novels.
    Enjoy the books!

  10. Hope you enjoy your foray into the world of Poirot – one of the great joys of reading that Agatha series is feeling her palpable disdain for him that peeks through at times. He’s basically insufferable until his one redeeming quality (crazy good detecting skillz) comes out at the end, so I enjoy resenting him during most of the story.
    Do you use eLending much from your library(s)? I find that’s my favorite feature of my eReader. It makes it easier to take risks because it doesn’t even take up shelf space for me to try something new. And no worrying about getting it back to the library on time!🙂

  11. Wow, that’s a lot of books.
    I currently have both World War Z and Why We Broke Up on loan from the library as well. I’ve never read a zombie book…so World War Z would be the first. And you’re right Why We Broke Up is YA. The cover is pretty especially for the hardback, beneath the similar dust jacket/cover…the book is actually white with illustrated rose petals.

  12. EllenB

    I loved The Imperfectionists. I believe you will love it, too.

  13. I loved The Imperfectionists as well! I tried both Behind the Beautiful Forevers and World War Z and couldn’t get through either of them. I read about the first 50-60 pages of Behind the Beautiful Forevers and it was fine, but I felt like I got the idea and didn’t need to read the rest. World War Z was just dreadfully boring, and no book about zombies should be boring.

  14. Vanessa

    I read Why We Broke Up. It was not my usual cup of tea but I loved the illustrations.

Leave a Reply

