Now We Are Six!!!!!!

“Happy Birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy blogging birthday dear Savidge Reads, happy birthday to me…” Imagine that sung in my most beautiful of singing voices! Yes, today Savidge Reads is officially six years old though weirdly it feels older than that. It was six years to this very day that I first put my tentative toes (or tapping fingers) into the blogosphere and wrote a review, of sorts though I am quite embarrassed by it now, of Susan Hill’s ‘The Various Haunts of Men’. More dreadful reviews/bookish thoughts followed, most of which I have since deleted because they were mortifying, and no one read it for ages and ages. And now here were are…

Now We Are Six

To actually celebrate a blog birthday seemed rather a bonkers idea in years past, however this year with all that has gone on (and, without blowing my own trumpet, the fact that the blog went to number one here) The Beard decided we should celebrate it and has only gone and made me the blog-birthday cake above – any excuse for us to eat cake – and also bought me two new books. This was made all the more special as they came with the Books Are My Bag bag after a little jaunt out yesterday to Linghams. Anyway the books are ‘Coco Chanel; The Life and the Legend’ by Justine Picardie (which I was so sure I had in hardback but couldn’t find the other day) and ‘New Ways To Kill Your Mother’ by Colm Toibin (the title of which I love) which is some literary history and criticism all rolled into one I believe. Both non-fiction too as now I am six I really feel I should be challenging myself more.

I am also going to have a little mini bookish party of my own later today as I finally settle down to read (in big fat gulps) my current bookish obsession ‘The Luminaries’ by Eleanor Catton. But before that we are off on a Famous Five like adventure to a lighthouse. I am hoping for a picnic with some of that cake with lashings of ginger beer or pink lemonade once we get there.

Anyway, a big thanks to those of you who have joined in the fun here at Savidge Reads over the last few years and all the lovely bookish banter and the like, it has been bloody lovely. Here’s to the next six…

31 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

31 responses to “Now We Are Six!!!!!!

  1. yay! agreed – here’s to many more. enjoy your day, simon!

  2. I once saw a spoof of the fab five (I think) and I love the oft-repeated “…bags of lettuce, heaps of tomatoes, and lashings of ginger beer.

    Congratulations. May you continue on to whatever medium makes blogging obsolete.

  3. I didn’t realise Simon that we share a blog birthday – my own is 5 today! Congratulations on your 6th – long may it (and mine) continue.😀

  4. Wow! Six, that is amazing. often, blogs hit the wall at three! Congratulatons and many, many more!

  5. Melissa N

    Happy blogging birthday, Simon! The cake looks lovely!

  6. Happy celebrating to you! Thanks for sharing with us for so long. I look forward to more to come.

  7. Congratulations on six years blogging, that truly is a milestone to be proud of! Your reviews are very insightful and enjoyable to read, so let’s hope they continue for many more years. I have recently started my own literature blog and would love you to have a look: http://thereadinglight.wordpress.com
    Hopefully I can continue as long as you have!

  8. Happy Blogging Birthday! I hope you’ve had a good day🙂

  9. Congratulations Simon! And looking forward to many more!

  10. Congratulations, Simon! I look forward to the next six…

  11. Happy blogging birthday! It’s always a pleasure to read your entries. Hope the lighthouse was brilliant!

  12. Emma Hamilton

    Happy blogging birthday! Hope you had a lovely day.

  13. Congratulations – that is like forever in internet terms! Seems like I have a lot to catch up on with your past reviews and comments about books, but I always enjoy hearing from you.

  14. Happy blogging birthday! Sounds like you are celebrating in style!

  15. Ana

    Many happy returns, Simon and sincere congratulations! Excellent way to celebrate the two successes
    So glad you are reading Catton I have it by the bed. My own birthday loot from my dear sister no 5. Look forward to your responses

  16. Happy birthday! I love the idea of a blog cake. I wonder if someone will make one for my next blog birthday…

  17. nbtOO

    Congratulations! Many Happy Returns! Update on the details on the picnic and cake.

  18. Congratulations! Blog birthday cake sounds amazing. Enjoy your day.

  19. Congratulations – and love the AA Milne allusion. Cheers

  20. Happy Blogoversary, Simon.. And keep going, I love your blog and your, as you call it sometimes, ramblings

  21. Congratulations! I love the cake… this month is my 4th blog birthday – I will have to buy it a cake for it’s 5th!🙂

  22. congratulations Simon. replying really late, just catching up with the 900+ posts on bloglovin after a week off the grid…

Leave a Reply

