The Green Carnation Prize 2013 Longlist

Some of you will have already probably heard the news that the Green Carnation Prize 2013 longlist, which celebrates LGBT writing, was announced earlier today. For the first year in the prizes four years I’ve actually not done been on the judging panel or indeed been involved in the judging process/discussions (I have been doing all the admin behind the scenes) so it has all been rather weird and also extremely exciting as I have been desperate to know what the longlist would be. Well, here it is…

  • Gob’s Grief – Chris Adrian (Granta Books)
  • Five Star Billionaire – Tash Aw (4th Estate)
  • Maggie & Me – Damian Barr (Bloomsbury)
  • Environmental Studies – Maureen Duffy (Enitharmon)
  • Fallen Land – Patrick Flanery (Atlantic Books)
  • Black Bread White Beer – Niven Govinden (The Friday Project)
  • The Sea Inside – Philip Hoare (4th Estate)
  • May We Be Forgiven – A. M. Homes (Granta)
  • The Kills – Richard House (Picador)
  • Fanny & Stella – Neil McKenna (Faber and Faber)
  • Almost English – Charlotte Mendelson (Mantle Books)
  • Far From The Tree – Andrew Solomon (Chatto & Windus)

What an eclectic mix! I have only read two and a half of these so far (loved the Barr, need to review the brilliant Govinden – though I have interviewed him – and am now reading the Homes, by coincidence. for book club this week) and so I have decided that I will try, when the mood takes, to read them before the shortlist is announced on November the 5th. You can find out about the longlisted titles in more detail here.

What do you think of the list? Which of these have you read and what did you make of them?

22 Comments

Filed under The Green Carnation Prize

22 responses to “The Green Carnation Prize 2013 Longlist

  1. Roger Park

    I’ve also read Damian Barr’s “Maggie and Me” and loved it. I’m also just a few pages from the end of Andrew Solomon’s “Far From the Tree” which I am finding fascinating but it’s also so in depth that it’s rather slow going at times. Certainly anyone with a child who suffers from one of the conditions he describes will find it invaluable. In my own case, my grandmother was deaf and so I found the opening chapter on deafness of great interest.

  2. I’ve only read a few, but I absolutely loved Fallen Land. It’s one of my favorites so far this year – such a timely, uniquely creepy story.

  3. queenofthepark

    Homes’ novel was just brilliant, keen to hear what you think
    I have Almost English on my birthday TBR and I think it’s next up
    Didn’t persevere with Five star Billionaire. very long and didn’t hold me
    Some fascinating titles there

    • Alas as you will be able to see from my review on Friday I didn’t love the Homes as much as I hoped I would though I think her writing is incredible, there was just too much of it and too much going on in it. I adored Almost English, gorgeous book.

  4. David

    I’ve only read ‘Fallen Land’ (which I loved – a literary thriller that I thought was even better than ‘Absolution’) and ‘May We Be Forgiven’ (absolutely bonkers but I thought that was used to great effect to show how mad the modern world can be). I have copies of the other three Booker longlisters and the Govinden though I’m not sure when I’ll get around to them as I’m currently immersed in reading my way through this year’s Giller Prize longlist and trying to finish reading the Booker shortlist (plus there are a few new Australian novels that I really want to get to, including a new Alex Miller).

    ‘Gob’s Grief’ is an interesting inclusion – I bet there aren’t many instances of a book turning up on a prize list 12 years after initial publication!

    • Oooh I don’t know David, I think a few books have been longlisted long after they were first published Emma Donoghue’s The Sealed Letter was another a while back. Though I don’t think it is common, shows an additional plus to prizes though doesn’t it!

  5. I’ve read one of these and have two others on my shelf already. Looking forward to checking out the rest of them!

  6. I’ve read none of these. I’ve read plenty of vintage LGBT fiction, but I don’t think I have read anything current since I read Aciman’s Call Me By Your Name. This might be a good time to change that. (But two of those are enormous, I might steer clear of those.)

    • I liked Call Me By Your Name, though I have never looked at a peach the same way again – that is all I am saying. I will say though, if you want an LGBT ‘story’ not all of these have that, in fact not many do. I think you would LOVE Maggie and Me.

  7. The only one I’ve read is Far From the Tree, which was excellent. I rarely read nonfiction so the fact that I not only got through all 800 pages but enjoyed it really says something. The only other book on the list I’ve even heard of is May We Be Forgiven. I’ll have to check out some of the others!

  8. I actually gave up on the Homes and I rarely leave a book unfinished….

  9. what a diverse list this year ,all the best stu

  10. I’ve only read Maggie and Me, which I LOVED, so fingers crossed that wins. I want to read Fanny and Stella as well.

  11. Pingback: Saved for later | Olduvai Reads

Leave a Reply

