Spineless Classics

If you like blog posts brimming with pictures then you are in luck today (if not jog on), especially if you like pictures of books. However these pictures of books are pictures of books with a difference, as they are pictures made up of books… well the words from books. Lost? Confused? Well let me illustrate to you what I mean…

Yes that is really a rather beautiful picture of The Phantom of the Opera using all the words from the book. How clever is that? Let’s see another one shall we?

That is one of my favourites as I think it conjures an image of the book up amazingly and rather instantly, I also really love the book Matilda. While we are on the subject of Roald Dahl, you can even get a few coloured pictures now including this one…

 Yes the words are even in the seagulls flying over the city. Isn’t that just amazing? These bloody marvellous creations are made (by the aptly titled) company Spineless Classics who have basically created a wonderful selection that any bibliophile would simply love to have adorning their walls. I am currently in the process of moving my bedroom around, as it is huge (22ft squared) and am planning on not only putting a free standing bath in one section but also having another ‘study section’ which is going to be sectioned of, and screened, by really tall bookshelves. Guess what I am going to have hanging over my desk? One of my very favourite tales of all time (it is off getting framed at the moment) in a very iconic shape…

It will certainly be a talking point, well if people can take their eyes away from the bookshelves that surround it that is. I will report back when it is up and the room is all done – might be late spring 2014 the way things are going. Anyway, I thought I would share these with you, even if some of you have most certainly heard of them before. You can get kids classics, modern classics, Austen and Bronte’s, all sorts. Though I was just thinking, wouldn’t it be amazing if they could do you your favourite book to order in an image you think reflects the book, for example I would love ‘Rebecca’ in the shape of Manderley or with Mrs Danvers silhouette. (If they now do this you know where the idea came from.) What book would you most love to have on your wall in words and what would you choose the words to create an image of?

21 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

21 responses to “Spineless Classics

  1. Aren’t they beautiful? I would *love* to see one of “The Master and Margarita”, showing the terrible trio of Woland, Koroviev and Behemoth!

  2. oh, such lovely imagery. Love them all

  3. They have the ‘Wizard of Oz’ one in one of our local bookshops. Want!

  4. I have a couple of these from a company here in the US called Litographs. I loooove them. I have one of the Grimm’s Fairy Tales and another of Great Expectations.🙂

    • Ooh I have not heard of them, I will have to look up the competition😉

      Brothers Grimm would be brilliant. I would quite like Rapunzel in the shape of a tower with her head leaning out and all the hair.

  5. I think I’d love one of Bilbo and Gandalf in The Hobbit🙂

  6. Louise Trolle

    You should check out http://www.litographs.com/ too! They do the same with t-shirts, bags and posters. I got a really nice Picture of Dorian Gray poster for our kitchen

  7. I LOVE these posters, my friends got me Alice in Wonderland and A Midsummer Nights Dream for my birthday this year – I haven’t put them up yet so I can get them framed.

  8. LauraC

    I gave the Alice in Wonderland framed to my daughter last Christmas.

  9. They’re gorgeous, aren’t they? I’ve had my eye on them for a while. I quite fancy the Peter Pan one.

Leave a Reply

