A Bookish Advent Calendar…

A few weeks ago a lovely big envelope arrived here which, for the few seconds before I ripped it open, looked rather mysterious. Too big for a letter and too small for a book, which are my favourite things in the post as everything else tends to be a bill of some kind – the evil things. I soon discovered that is was in fact a mixture of the two, for inside was a card (containing a lovely letter from my friend Michelle) which also doubled up as a brilliantly bookish advent calendar…

advent 1

How brilliant is that? I have held off sharing it on here as I wanted to wait until there was a date to open. In hindsight this is most foolish as I have realised you may have all wanted to have one in advance of this advent season but should you want one you will have quite a few to open by the time it arrives.

advent 2Where can you get this? Well it is made my those lovely bookish bods at the Bodleian Library and there shop can be found at www.bodleianshop.co.uk so head there and snap one up – you may also find some lovely presents for loved ones there too, I would like about  a million of the things on there it has to be said.

advent 3

Oh and I thought I would give you a peep behind December the 1st’s window so you can see how intricate and beautiful the images, all from the Bodleian Libraries’ Collections, are behind the ‘daily doors of December’ as I have called them since I was about 22 – you thought I was going to say five then, alas am not that grown up. I have also realised that this can be reused every year, so it is good for the environment and for your health as there are no chocolates. Note: don’t think ‘oh there is no chocolate’ so I will have three Jaffa cakes instead, someone very silly did that this morning. Anyway… moving on. I guess this means I have to now officially allow The Beard to put the Christmas tree and decorations up. Just call me Scrooge Reads for the next month, the bookish bah humbug of Christmas.

6 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

6 responses to “A Bookish Advent Calendar…

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings

    That’s just lovely Simon – but what have you doe?? You’ve sent me off to the Bodleian site, where I may just go bankrupt……🙂

  2. I bought a Bodleian Library Advent calendar three years ago for my daughter, it”s wonderful and now a permanent part of the Christmas dess

  3. David

    As someone who hates the concept of the chocolate advent calendar, I find nice ‘proper’ ones (ie: with pictures) are getting harder and harder to find. I have one for this year, but I’m definitely getting myself one of these and putting it away for next year!

  4. Looks fabulous, what a great idea!

  5. Col

    Like the look of this. Will be another of those heavy hints to my family this! We’re stalling on our tree this year – last year it was in bits by about December 20th – it was less a tree and more a carpet of needles by then!

Leave a Reply

