No Resolutions, Just Reading

So when I was talking about the first books of the year yesterday (I am now reading Ali Smith’s Artful) I mentioned that I would talk about my reading resolutions for 2014 today. Well this was slightly misleading as I have decided that this year all reading resolutions are out the window.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against them and have done them in the last few years. I could say that this year I will be more adventurous, I will seriously tackle the TBR, read every book by my favourite author, read more translated works or non-fiction, I could go on. The thing is though it adds pressure to reading and reading should just be a pleasure not a pressure.

Last year with everything that happened with Gran, the chats I had with her about books (mainly her saying life is too short, read what you want you never know what your last book might be) and everything else and also just how my relationship with reading and blogging (more on that next week) changed because of everything that was going on I just feel the need to simply read and read lots. No rules, no only old books or only new, no ‘I must’ or ‘I mustn’t’ read this that or the other… or anything at all – just reading. That is it. Hopefully you will join me on the journey that the books in the year ahead!

How about you? Have you made any reading resolutions or are you throwing caution to the reading winds this year too?

17 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

17 responses to “No Resolutions, Just Reading

  1. Just to have more fun reading and blogging Simon and less of the new although that is hard sometimes

  2. That’s just what reading should be – fun, and no pressure. Sounds like a perfect non-resolution.

  3. Martina

    So moved by your recollection of your Gran’s comments
    It is a timely reminder

  4. Agreed! Reading is for the very right reasons that you hold dear because life is too short for that other pressure. Sounds like you have been on this positive path for awhile anyway and realized where it leads .Always enjoy your blog and the new ideas you bring forth.

  5. Am going to focus on my TBR books in the first instance and then am randomly picking books from the Book Jar for fun. However the Book Jar only has books I think I’ll like. Other than that it is open slather.

  6. Apart from resolving to read only from my TBR mountains until the end of March, I am going to read what I want when I want for the foreseeable future. I totally agree, it’s so much less fretful that way. I will keep my stats though as that interests me.

  7. kaggsysbookishramblings

    I couldn’t agree more Simon. I have set myself some minor challenges but have already veered away from them and apart from trying to reduce Mount TBR, I am just going to read what I want – the enjoyment has to be all.

  8. David

    I agree with you, Simon -reading should be enjoyable – but I don’t see resolutions as restrictions, more just a way of prompting myself into exploring books I might otherwise neglect. They usually broaden my reading rather than narrow it.
    So in 2012 (prompted by reading Sarah Hall’s ‘The Beautiful Indifference’) I resolved to finally tackle some of the 40-ish short story collections I’d amassed (yet failed to read) over the years. I set myself the goal – here in a comment on your resolutions post that year – to read one collection each month. Without that I’d probably not have bothered, but I instead read 41 collections in 2012 and 48 in 2013 and my short story tbr pile now stands at about 120 collections (!).
    In 2013 I resolved to read more ‘old’ books. That wasn’t quite so successful but having the resolution in the back of my head meant I did try and read at least one each month and as a result ‘discovered’ several wonderful authors who I plan to read much more by – Olivia Manning, Charles Baxter, Larry McMurtry, Charlotte Wood and Mollie Panter-Downes to name a few.
    This year my resolution is more of a project than a goal – I’ve always been put off tackling multi-volume series of novels and trilogies because of the commitment involved, but I’ve enjoyed reading the ‘Fortunes of War’ books so much that this year I’ve resolved to finally get around to reading Paul Scott’s ‘Raj Quartet’ and maybe Robertson Davies’ ‘Deptford Trilogy’, and then if I’m feeling really brave I might tackle Anthony Powell’s 12-volume ‘A Dance to the Music of Time’.
    Far from seeing these resolutions as a pressure (fortunately I don’t have to prove I’m sticking to them on a blog!😉 ) I find them liberating and exciting.
    Hopefully 2014 will be a great reading year for all of us.

  9. I’ve set myself the challenge of reading one non-fiction book a month – I always tend to stick to fiction but I’ve read two non-fiction books since I’ve started and have loved them both. Aside from that, just reading for pleasure and blogging when I feel like doing so; if I set myself too many targets, I inevitably get behind and stop enjoying it.

  10. I agree, reading should be enjoyable and sometimes making resolutions can take the fun out of it. I’ve made 2 resolutions this year, though: one goal is not to worry about how many books I read or how long it takes to read them, as long as each book is read well – I don’t want to quickly move onto the next book, but take the time to appreciate the one I’ve just finished. My second resolution is to diversify my reading selection and move out of my reading comfort zones, which should be fun!

  11. I’m doing my usual two Months of Re-Reading as it reminds me to go back to books I love, not just seek the new all the time. How many times do we say, “Oh, I’d love to read that again” … so I am. I am doing one of those century of books things, but I’m just seeing how long it takes me to happen to read a book for each year of the 20th century, because I’m interested. Nothing more than that.

  12. I’m participating in the TBR Challenge over at Roof Beam Reader because there are books that have been on my TBR list for ages that I know I would like. Otherwise, I’m just maintaining my ongoing struggle to read what I want to read and not be swayed by the reviews, awards, and popularity of books that don’t sound like I’d like them. I keep falling for it, and then feeling like I’ve wasted my time on books I should have known to avoid.

  13. I think your resolution sounds perfectly right after the difficult year you have had, and I guess that’s what all resolutions should be: a statement about who want to become a certain point in time.

    My resolution is to reconnect with the bookish blogging world, through blogging again myself (52 posts 2014) and commenting as much as I can. And also by keeping up with new releases. This is a bit against the grain of the blogosphere where everyone seems to be going back to older books and their TBRs. But it’s been a couple of years since I was up to date. I’ve made a list of books I’m looking forward to, with the dates they are coming out, so that I can read and write about them when everyone else is.

  14. Fully agree. Think the last time I made any NY resolution was about 20 years ago! Also, I don’t see why one should wait until a new year begins to make any resolution.

    I’m happy to pick up reading regularly again since about one and a half years ago – I let myself get bogged down with work in the last couple of years. So in the recent months, I’ve been reading like there’s no tomorrow and it has been such fun and so stimulating. Maybe I’m making up for lost time! I plan to continue to reading whatever piques my interest, new year or not.

  15. I’ve zero reading resolutions; your gran was very wise, read like it’s your last book.

  16. Adam Stone

    My aim this year is to read more different books that I might not normally read. I hope to have some interesting reads as a result of this!

  17. I get why you’re not making goals for this year, but I have decided to read 55 books again, while I’m still trying to make more specific goals. The main thing is that we enjoy our reading experience. I wish you a Happy New Year with lots of awesome future reads!🙂

Leave a Reply

