I’ve Been Away, What Have We All Been Reading?

Oops, it appears that Savidge Reads has been left in a state of neglect this week while I have been away having far too much fun got my own good, and indeed for blogging it seems. Where have I been? Well thank you so much for asking (hee hee) I have actually been in London for the last four and a bit days and it has been a really wonderful time, even if I have come back even more tired than when I left. I meant to schedule posts while away and then thought ‘chill out, Savidge’ so I did.It does mean you can expect a bumper week of blogs next week though…

Post Office Tower

I will give you a full catch up in a post over the next few weeks but some of the highlights have been; meeting a potential Green Carnation sponsor, discussing prize judging with Natalie Haynes, drinking cocktails out of a giant clam with Kim of Reading Matters, feeding the ducks on Hampstead Heath and ending up in a scene from The Birds with Catherine Hall and her two little boys – who know me now as Uncle Sugar Bear, meeting up with one of the other Not The Booker judges, celebrating Gay’s The Word bookshops 35th Birthday – where I saw, but didn’t dare speak to, Sarah Waters –  before going clubbing with Kerry Hudson and showing bemused 20 years olds people in their 30’s can still dance… even to the Macarena and cocktails in Waterstones with Polly and Michelle. It has been brill and I am rather sulky to be back.

I also, thanks to the 2.5 hours it takes to get to and from Liverpool to London and back (take out a snooze on the way as I left Liverpool at 8pm after a late night work seminar and a big snooze on way back as I was so hung-over from Saturday night) I did the first big binge reading that I have managed this year. It is Ray Robinson’s Jawbone Lake which I am about 70% through and finding a very gripping ‘literary thriller’.

Train Reading

Which led me to wondering what you have all been up to and what you have all been reading. So divulge all please…

19 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

19 responses to “I’ve Been Away, What Have We All Been Reading?

  1. The Bling Ring. Spoilt little rich kids stealing from famous spoilt little richer kids. The end of days…

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings

    “Life: A User’s Manual” by Georges Perec – huge and wonderful and I’m still trying to work out how to write about it…

  3. Mark Turpin

    I’ve had a productive book binge this week. First I read Remains of the Day by Kazio Ishiguro, then Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami, and am currently reading For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway.

  4. Kateg

    Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner. It is a recent classic about so many things. Mostly a marriage and the development of the American West and it is so much more interesting than I have made it sound…

  5. I’ve read Police by Jo Nesbo, which I loved, and now on to Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, who is one of my favourite writers.

  6. Just finished Jo Baker ‘s Longbourn which was very good, want to re-read P&P again, and now on Curtis Sittingfeld’s Sisterland about psychic twins.

  7. I finished ‘Earth Abides’ by George R. Stewart this afternoon. It’s an early post-apocalyptic SF novel (and somewhat of a blueprint for much subsequent post-apoc stuff). More of an extended thought experiment than a novel, really, but it gets more dramatic and novel-y towards the end. Very moving; final chapters are even a bit (shhhh) post-modern :O.

    But then there’s the very uncomfortable fact that much of the book is very..er… of its time. Especially with regards to its presentation of black people and the main character’s views on women. So it’s a book you have to kinda wrestle with.

  8. I’ve been losing reading time to immense amounts of transcription work and seemingly immense amounts of wedding shopping (actually two and a bit days and a few bad moods!) but on track again now – did some First World War remembrance reading for a start, as part of my Month of Re-Reading.

  9. Glenda Mock

    Reading Stoner , by Williams. What a great read- saw it reviewed and my philosopher son loved it too- I let him read it first. Wonderfully written picture of a life in the early 20th century, academia and life in those times beautifully drawn. One of those books where you really want to know what is going to happen!

  10. Ann Fuller

    Reading the Devil’s Star by Jo Nesbo. Love the series.

  11. Missed your invite to the drink up with Kim. Bookertalk likes cocktails too you know and though in a more mature part of her life cycle can also show you young spots what dancing is🙂 Instead I read The Alone to the Alone, a black comedy from 1947 by the Welsh author Gwyn Thomas. An odd book.

  12. Sounds like a fab London break! Look forward to catching up with your reading. Mine has been: Death in the Museum of Modern Art (moving collection of short stories about Sarajevo under siege), Audition by Murakami Ryu (disappointing) and currently Makine ‘Music of a Life’.

  13. David

    I’m looking forward to your review of ‘Jawbone Lake’ – I quite fancy it because of the setting but I read a review (for the life of me I can’t remember where) that put me off parting with my money, so I’m hoping you’ll convince me otherwise.

    What have I been reading? Some new stuff, some old stuff that has been on my shelves too long. I’m nearly at the end of Olivia Manning’s ‘Fortunes of War’ series; I finally got around to Tash Aw’s ‘Five Star Billionaire’ (a perfectly okay book but didn’t deserve to be on the Booker longlist); David Adams Richards’ ‘The Bay of Love and Sorrows’ from 1998 (he’s a favourite author of mine and I’m slowly working my way through his backlist); Brian Payton’s ‘The Wind is not a River’ is a really good WW2 novel that uses an episode of the war I’d never heard of – bits of the story feel a touch contrived and the ending can be seen coming, but it is so well written and thrilling I’ll forgive it those niggles (but why oh why does the UK cover give away an important bit of the story?); Jerry Pinto’s 2012 novel ‘Em and the Big Hoom’ is finally published in the UK this May and it is heartbreakingly brilliant.
    On the short story front I’ve recently read Bernard MacLaverty for the first time and am wondering where I’ve been – he’s fantastic and I plan to read much more by him.

  14. I am about half-way through the new novel by Carolyn Chun “Nobody Will Bury Us If We Die Here”. This is her second piece of experimental fiction, her first novel (“How to Break Article Noun”) which I certainly recommend won the 2012 Kenneth Patchen Award Winner for the Innovative Novel.

  15. I’m jealous of this London jaunt, it sounds marvellous! (It’s also lovely to hear you are chilling out after beginning a very busy job.) [That reads sarcastically, but I mean it sincerely.]

    I’m on my last Patrick Melrose novel by Edward St Aubyn, I’m not sure I can face its end.

  16. Sarah

    London sounds like fun (cocktails from giant clams!). I finished The Goldfinch, read Tom’s Midnight Garden (per suggestion of Cornflower Books), and MC Beaton’s Penelope Goes to Portsmouth. Tonight I begin The Rebel Angels. It’s the first in the The Cornish Trilogy by Robertson Davies.

  17. The commute is good for two things only: sleeping and reading! It’s where make the most progress during the week. I’ve got a ridiculous amount of reading done too, at the expense of blogging …. :*) whoops! Am currently reading Nadifa Mohammed’s new book and enjoying must more than I thought I would. Turns out that trouble and strife in Somalia has depressed me less than I thought it would.

  18. OMG–you saw Sarah Waters! She’s one of my literary idols. I’d probably not dare to speak to her either.

  19. Well, that does sound like a fancy literary jaunt indeed! Hope coming home wasn’t too disappointing after all🙂 I have just read Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, which I expected to be a bit tough but was actually very readable, while also tremendously poignant. I highly recommend it. And I’ve just started The Ship Who Sang by Anne McCaffrey, which from page one I could tell I was going to enjoy. But I’m only on page 25, so anything could happen!

Leave a Reply

