The Best Love Stories Ever Told…

So before a week of reviews next week (well maybe a week of mainly reviews as I have become terribly behind with them all) I thought I would ask all of you lovely readers out there a bookish Valentine’s Day, for that is what today is, question. No, it isn’t will you marry me, ha. What I would really like to know is which are the best love stories ever told?

You see earlier in the week when myself and Thomas were gearing up to record the latest episode of The Readers we wanted to talk about love stories but realised we hadn’t really read any. I could think of three; Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles, Jojo Moyes Me Before You and David Nicholls One Day. All of these I have loved (pun intended) but have to say they don’t all end in the most delightful of ways, yet maybe that is what I think the nature of love is set to end like? Anyway, my old faithful response of Rebecca didn’t seem right and Jane Eyre is debatable as Rochester is a bit of a bastard really on occasion. Oh and of course I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice.

So I would love (did it again) some recommendations of old and new books that are love stories, yet aren’t so saccharine I might vomit in my own mouth. There I have thrown the gauntlet down, do your worst😉

14 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts

14 responses to “The Best Love Stories Ever Told…

  1. I love Margaret Hale and John Thornton in Gaskell’s “North and South,” of course, and Lucia and Renzo in Manzoni’s “I Promessi Sposi/The Betrothed.” HVD🙂

  2. Jeremy

    I love Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan & The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, however, the latter doesn’t end so happily.

  3. You haven’t read Pride and Prejudice either?! Thank god!😀 I love The Elegance of the Hedgehog, no sickly sweetness, just subtle, beautiful relationships🙂

  4. “The Front Runner” by Patricia Nell Warren is a cracker.

  5. V

    This is really tough. I like D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterly’s Lover, but it’s not really a fairytale ending.

  6. Col

    I don’t know if it’s the best but one of the most unusual and memorable I’ve read was Douglas Kennedy’s ‘The Woman In The Fifth’. It was really different and I loved it!

  7. How about “The Cat” by Colette? Of course it has an unhappy outcome for the girl but you did say you wanted to avoid “saccharine”!

  8. Love in the Time of Cholera. Stunning.

  9. I feel like every book is some sort of a love story, somehow, but anyway these love stories come to mind:

    Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
    Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
    The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Peony in Love by Lisa See
    Paper Towns by John Green
    The Princess Bride by William Goldman
    Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

  10. I’m not sure if you’ll find it saccharine or not but my favourite romantic character is Gabriel Oak from Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy🙂

  11. I second North and South. Middlemarch and Villette also have lovely story lines. And the love story between Edward and Elinor in Sense and Sensibility is far better than Pride and Prejudice.

  12. Frenchie Caro

    I second North and South too, Margaret and Mr Thornton’s love story is beautiful and not saccharine at all !

    As for Jane Austen, Elizabeth Bennet & Darcy’s story is great but so is Anne Elliot & Captain Wentworth’s one in Persuasion.

    What else ? Rhett Butler and Scarlett O’Hara in Gone with the Wind ; and Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw in Wuthering Heights !

  13. sue N

    I love the Peter Wimsey / Harriet Vane stories, especially Gaudy Night and Busmans Honeymoon.

  14. I agree with The Song of Achilles, and The History of Love by Nicole Krauss, and would add to that Silk by Alessandro Baricco and Ignorance by Milan Kundera.

Leave a Reply

