Savidge Reads Books, My Independent Bookshop

It has always been a dream of mine to have a bookshop that one day I could call my own. I think it is most bibliophiles dreams if we are honest, an excuse to fill up pretty much every space in a building we can with books before passing the right ones on to other lovely readers. Well now I do have my own bookshop of sorts Savidge Reads Books.

Savidge Reads Books

Apparently it lies in some unnamed city on a road called Fiction Street. No, I haven’t gone mad or all Second Life (is that what it’s called?) on you, fear not. I am just one of the many, many book lovers who has joined the initiative that Penguin Random House and Hive.co.uk have set up to encourage people to shop locally and support local books from local book lovers. I can hear you asking the question that I was asking when I heard about it ‘how on earth does it work and how on earth does another online retail site benefit local bookshops?’ Well check out this video here to see…

Basically, if you couldn’t watch the video, book lovers open a shop, choose some books to recommend, people buy them and Hive donate money from that purchase to a local bookshop of the sellers choice. Alas Scarthin Books (I was thinking of me and Gran’s joint favourite bookshop) aren’t listed but the wonderful Oxton Village Books down the road, now housed in the local museum and art gallery – cultural perfection, are and so I have nominated them.

My plan is that on the first of every month my bookshop window will change. I am going to recommend three different favourites (can you guess what they currently are?), three recent reads I have loved and reviewed in the last month and three books you might not have heard of or tried (despite my best efforts) and really, really should. I am hoping My Independent Bookshop will start allowing you to label shelves as that would show them off really nicely.

I am also thinking of a fourth shelf to use for some other books but am not sure what, contemporary favourites and then have a classic favs? A crime shelf? What do you think? I would (as always) love to know your thoughts, you may inspire me. So do go and have a gander, feel free to buy some of my wares and join (let me know if you have joined or do join please) and I will let you know in a month’s time when the new stock is in, as it were. This is going to be so much fun, and hopefully good for local bookshops!

9 Comments

Filed under My Independent Bookshop

9 responses to “Savidge Reads Books, My Independent Bookshop

  1. I’ve signed up to that too. It’s such a lovely idea.

  2. This is amazing! Signing up right now.

  3. persephonenich

    What a great idea! Best of luck with it. I wonder if Random House will do the same here in Australia.

  4. Pam

    What a fun idea. I’ll look forward to following it and perhaps I’ll pick one title from your shelf each month to look for in my local bookshop since Australia hasn’t done this yet. It would still support my local bookshop I go to all the time.

  5. I have one already too. Good luck with yours.

  6. I see you’re currently reading The Raw Shark Texts. It’s truly fantastic. I hope you like it as much as I did.

  7. louise trolle

    I signed up too (and chose a random shop to support – as I’m not from the U.K) there are quite a few books I can’t find, but I managed to make a nice shelf🙂

  8. Am I being very dim that I can’t find a link to this?🙂

  9. Pingback: My Independent Bookshop; Independent Booksellers Week 2014 | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

