So What Are You All Reading?

Because frankly I am haven’t been reading anything. A week of six days, averaging 16 hours long, of the opening week of the festival and, bar the odd chapter of The Year of Reading Dangerously: How Fifty Great Books Saved My Life by Andy Miller (which is really making me think about what I read and how I read, so I have been thinking more about books than reading them), I have not really read a thing. I have mainly be running around sorting out event space and the occasional crisis/diva which has been knackering yet perversely fun. I did manage to get to see some sunshine though today as I had a mini treat by being allowed on the roof of the building.

Rooftop

However, this is all going to change as I have a day off tomorrow… woohoo (I may pass out with joy next weekend when I get two days off) and I am planning on just spending the day reading in the garden whilst The Beard builds a shed – I live with someone who doesn’t love books but who loves DIY and is a trained chef, so swings and roundabouts. I cannot wait.

So while I decide what I am going to get back in the swing of reading… What are you all reading at the moment and what else have you read that has been brilliant, as it might give me some inspiration and direction. Let me know!

29 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

29 responses to “So What Are You All Reading?

  1. I’ve just finished Cider With Rosie, I was going to go back to The Goldfinch which is langashing on my shelves with a bookmark in it, but I’ve started to read Wind In The Willows instead.

  2. The Spinning Heart. It is wonderful.

  3. Barbara in Southern California

    Hi Simon,
    I am more than halfway through “Every Man Dies Alone” by Hans Fallada. It is wonderful and for me, it’s written in such a way that it’s easy NOT to get all the characters mixed up. Could be the brilliant translator’s talent. A review of the book said it was taken from a true story in 1940 Berlin and it’s about the local resistance to the Nazis. It’s a real period piece and I am completely engrossed it.

    • queenofthepark

      Ah! Synchronicity! Just saw this,Barbara.
      Alone in Berlin is alternate title!
      My local library based book group chose it and it generated such a good buzz
      Lovely to read your comment today

  4. queenofthepark

    The Collini Case by von Schirach
    For reading group so outside comfort zone but takes me back to Berlin as did Alone in Berlin earlier. Same Book group. Same city.
    Reminds me of a very chilly wet weekend there last December.
    Comfortable? Not! Intriguing ? Absolutely

  5. I’ve just started Perfume: Story of a Murder by Patrick Suskind. I saw the film ages ago and was intrigued by it. I even went to Grasse in South France to see it with my own eyes. It’s not available on kindle, so I’m actually holding a proper copy…it’s a great treat and a fab read so far. Dark and pretty funny too🙂 enjoy your day off!

  6. Beth Knight

    I just finished reading All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. I loved it, a 5-star read. Right now I’m reading My Salinger Year, a memoir by Joanna Rakoff.

  7. Just finished a Barbara Pym..No Fond Return of Love….good stuff, Pym fan here. I want to develop some of my writing style along Pym’s influences!

    Also finished a rather cosy thing…alright, an extremely cosy thing…but it held my interest like a return to the nursery but with a bit of a twist.( dragons, badgers, a handsome lawyer love interest for Miss Potter, a cranky old mother, an inquest held in a pub by humans and another inquest held in a garden shed by dogs and cats……The Cottage Mystery Tales of Beatrix Potter by Susan Wittig Albert…good for a sweet rest from reality…!

    Starting later tonight…You by Joanna Briscoe…back to the land bohemian backstory….on the moors…some haunting stuff in there…past and present storyline about choices of love…

    …and also started..The English Air by D. E. Stevenson,,,for a little variety I am also reading about micro farming and a lifestyle book by Daphne Oz!…and some other stuff…always about six books on the go…!

  8. Right now, “No Exit” (Sartre’s play, so it won’t last long), beta reading some manuscripts, and still working on Jodi Picoult’s Nineteen Minutes (I like it).

  9. I’m taking a break from women’s fiction and hence have dived into Hemingway’s macho world with To Have and Have Not. It’s a sad story, but I like it.

  10. Just finished This is the Story of A Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett and now starting The Memory Trap by Andrea Goldsmith , one of my favourite Australian authors.

  11. I’m reading Half Bad by Sally Green – racing through it and loving it, and also Dark Entries – cult horror stories from the 1960s by Robert Aickman – very creepy.

  12. I reading Isabel Allende’s The Infinite Plan and have just started dipping into The Canterbury Tales

    • mcresswell

      Love The Infinite Plan! The only book I’ve ever had to write an essay on and not hated afterwards.

      I’m currently reading Matt Haig’s The Humans, and it’s excellent.

  13. I’ve just finished Glow by Ned Beauman. Fantastic thriller. Couldn’t put it down.

  14. kaggsysbookishramblings

    Still Proust….. But also a very engaging new book, “The Stonehenge Letters” by Harry Karlinsky – fiction masquerading as non-fiction and very good indeed!

  15. Kateg

    Not great at all, but cruising through The Cuckoo’s Calling by Rowling/Galbraith. It was on the shelf at the library and didn’t smell bad so I picked it up. Not sure what is next up, maybe S.J. Bolton as I have only read the first and Dead Scared keeps eying me from my shelves.

  16. Reading Into the Trees by Robert Williams ready to review. It’s not bad!

  17. Halfway through David Gilbert’s & Sons and I’m really liking it. He has the right balance between story and style. His writing isn’t showy but every now and again a beautifully crafted sentence jumps out. Also Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings is a Great American Novel. I’m amazed it seems to have slipped under “the prizes'” radars.

  18. pam

    half way through margaret atwood’s cat’s eye and LOVING it. she is so fab. after i finish that one, i’m already thinking i’d like to dig into a mystery/thriller. maybe tom rob smith’s the farm. gone with the wind is still sitting smugly on my shelf. will i ever start it??

  19. I just finished RUBY, by Cynthia Bond, and it positively knocked me on my ass. It took me right back to your “Confronting vs. Comforting” post. Totally confronting.

  20. Just started The Bees by Laline Paull. I am beyond excited! I’m feeling a new Margaret Atwood on the horizon🙂

  21. julikins

    Leaving the Sea by Ben Marcus. Hilariously dark. I’ve never read him before but am very impressed!

  22. q

    almost finished w/ my very first Barbara Pym! Excellent Women…
    loove it and her….and i never would have gone in this direction w/out our most fabulous bloggers out there bringing these names to the fore…thank u one and all…hope u’re having most! peaceful cupcake filled day off…
    q.

  23. Good luck with the festival, Simon! You appear to be thriving under the pressure which is marvellous. The thriving that is, not the pressure.

    I’ve just begun a Miss Marple adventure after the wonderfullness that was The Vacationers by Emma Straub.

  24. Just finished A Coffin for Dimitrios, started HHH at your suggestion and realy like it.

Leave a Reply

