And I’m Back!

Safe and sound from the US of A and have had an amazing time! Seriously from the wonders of the utter bookish brilliance of Booktopia in Asheville, with the legends of Books on the Nightstand and utterly lovely Michael Kindness and Ann Kingman (we found time to do a joint podcast or two coming soon), to the joys of spending lots of time (for the first time) with my Readers co-host Thomas in Washington…

IMG_4150

To having a crazy and wonderful whirlwind of a time in NYC…

IMG_4544

Amazing! All of which I will be reporting back on in much more detail in due course, once I have caught up on the world, jet lag and had a small mini break in London with The Beard later this week (it is all go, go, go) but in the meantime you want to know all my bookish news don’t you? And probably are pondering about the threat statement I made about changes to Savidge Reads!

Well, while I was away I did lots of relaxing and thinking but not actually any reading. Nope not on the plane flights and no not on the Booktopia weekend (get a big group of readers together and they don’t shut up about books), not with Thomas (again too much gossiping along with book shopping and sightseeing) and NYC (more of the same). I finished one book on the flight back and am a little into another plus am about a third way through Gone With The Wind, which I am now dipping into regularly; as some of the language and themes are much harder going than I was expecting. I left The Goldfinch in Washington, hang on before you judge me, I have a copy here and needed the space for new books – I came back with one more bag of luggage than I left with.

Now before I move on I must mention Trespassing with Tremain, my reading of Rose Tremain in memory of Granny Savidge, which has been slightly waylaid – which she would have approved of as she loved travelling and it was a very bookish travelling trip away. So the NEW dates for your reading diaries, as I know a fair few of you are reading along and loved Trespass which was amazing, are…

  • The Road Home – Sunday September the 14th
  • The Darkness of Wallis Simpson and Other Stories– Sunday October the 5th
  • Sacred Country– Sunday October the 26th
  • Restoration– Sunday November the 16th

Yes I have made it every three weeks. Part of this is because so far I simply adore her writing so much  so I don’t want to rush it – yet at the same time I almost want to binge on it, but I must be strong! (Oh The Road Home, you wait!) Part of this is because of the way Savidge Reads will be changing in the coming weeks, well when it turns 7 years old (I know, seven years, blimey) a week on Monday on the 15th. I know, I am such a tease. In the meantime get ready for the answers to all the questions you asked, as well as some mini reviews as I have a clear out and catch up with myself.

But before all that, enough about me, what have you all been up to over the last few weeks? Even more importantly what have you been reading? I want the good, the bad and the ugly!

21 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

21 responses to “And I’m Back!

  1. Welcome back and I look forward to hearing more! Some books I’ve really enjoyed in the past month are The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill, The Farm by Tom Rob Smith, and Middlemarch.

  2. Hope you had a great time in my home city of Washington, DC! Did you get to visit our best indie bookstore – Politics and Prose?

    • I loved DC. I did go to Politics and Prose but sadly whilst I loved it I witnessed a member of staff being so rude to a customer I put my possible purchases down and left empty handed. A shame as I had heard such amazing things.

  3. I missed you! Hope you had an excellent time. I’m halfway through Robin Hobb’s new fantasy book, and it’s excellent.

  4. pam

    yay! welcome back. can’t wait to hear all about your trip. i’m in a bizarre reading funk right now, where all i want to read is 1960s sci fi (think “rosemary’s baby”) and graham greene. guess i’m still going greene for gran! i can’t stop!! this week i’m reading “the power and the glory”.

    • Gran would be thrilled Pam! Expect to be bored silly by my USA shenanigans in the non too distant future. That doesn’t sound like a reading funk to me, just a change of scene which we all need now and again.

  5. Glad you had a good trip! Loved following along on Instagram, and I can’t wait to see what changes are coming down the pike!

  6. Sounds like one helluva trip. Looking forward to your posts about it. I’ve recently loved reading the new Ian McEwan and Neil Bartlett’s latest The Disappearance Boy.

  7. Anton

    This is going to sound quite creepy, but I think I saw you briefly at Politics and Prose… No, I don’t lurk among the bookshelves to observe book bloggers in the wild, I work there.🙂

  8. We definitely saw you that day, and you have helped me find things from time to time.

  9. Amy C

    It was so great to meet you in Asheville at Booktopia! Glad the rest of your time in the U.S. was good as well. Looking forward to hearing the joint podcast you did with Ann and Michael!

  10. Jen

    What did you think of Gone With the Wind? It is my favorite book! ~Jen

  11. This makes me feel a bit better. The last few holidays I’ve had I’ve thought ‘ooo, the chance finally for some mega reading done’ but, frankly, I never quite get around to it! Although reading is of course my most favouritist of things to do I suppose a holiday from work and normal life can also sometimes mean a holiday from reading, especially from the pressure of review deadlines and the like. I’m on a two book per week rule next time I go away :-O truly shocking.

Leave a Reply

