Just Richard Flanagan and I, Having a Chat…

Blimey where have the last two weeks gone? Last week seemed to be taken up with the Green Carnation Prize longlisting meetings and discussions (and all the admin that followed), plus a few author interviews, then I was off back home to the Peak District to stay with my mad aunty Caz and then this week I have been prepping for something else which I can’t talk about yet. This isn’t me trying to be mysterious and coy. I am just waiting to find out what is what. Anyway…

One of the interviews I recorded last week was with the lovely Richard Flanagan for You Wrote The Book, well he only went and won the Man Booker Prize this week! I thought being a bookish lot you might like a listen to it maybe, perhaps? If so the link is here.

I will be telling you all about The Narrow Road to the Deep North on Sunday but in the interim let me just say it is quite, quite amazing. I still can’t quite shake it. Kim of Reading Matters has been telling me to read him for ages and I have wanted to read this one in particular since I saw it discussed on The First Tuesday Book Club with Jennifer, Marieke, Jason and co. I can certainly see what all the talk has been for.

So have a listen if you fancy it. Just because I am nosey though, what are your thoughts on the Booker prize this year, both the lists and the new rules?

3 Comments

Filed under You Wrote The Book!

3 responses to “Just Richard Flanagan and I, Having a Chat…

  1. Talk about perfect timing, Simon!

  2. CarolS

    What an honest wonderful man!
    Thank you

  3. Tasmanians are thrilled with this read. I have followed his career since he first started churning books out b/c I worked with his sister years ago in one of the schools I worked at. I have read some of his books and have really enjoyed them though he is very much Tasmanian and I think if you didn’t know this state inside out you would miss some of what he writes. This latest book is a genius and I’m so happy he got the recognition for it he did. It took him 12 years to write it.

Leave a Reply

