What Are You Reading Right Now?

So as this week has been bonkers, and because I always love seeing what everyone is reading as I am a right old nosey so and so, I thought we could quickly share what is going on in our reading worlds at the moment. Ever one to share I am just about to start reading Sacred Country by Rose Tremain, which is the next in the Trespassing with Tremain project which I am doing in honour of Granny Savidge. I am really looking forward to settling down with it over the weekend, especially as I have read pretty much nothing since last weekend and also as I am 99% sure I am going to love it as Rose Tremain is becoming one of my favourite writers.

IMG_5762

So what about you lovely lot? Which book or books have you got on at the moment? How are you finding them? What might you be thinking of reading over the weekend?

75 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

75 responses to “What Are You Reading Right Now?

  1. Going to start Elizabeth Pringle, and just finished Our Zoo which was great.

  2. I’m reading The Sunrise by Victoria Hislop on my Kindle. It’s not as fast-paced as ‘The Thread’ (which was FANTASTIC) but I’m hoping it will pick up soon. C

  3. Mariana by Monica Dickens (loving it) and I’ve just finished Straight Man by Richard Russo which was hilarious.

  4. David

    I’m currently reading Jane Smiley’s ‘Some Luck’, the first in her projected trilogy about the lives of an Iowa farming family over the course of 100 years with each chapter covering one year – I haven’t read any Smiley for a few years and this new one is reminding me why I always loved her books. I’m also halfway through David Guterson’s new story collection, ‘Problems with People’, and finding it a bit hit and miss – a couple of absolute corkers so far, but some pretty forgettable stories too.

    • I’ve never read Jane Smiley, my mother really likes her. Why do I associate her with horses.

      • Note. I associate Jane Smiley with horses. Not my mother.

      • David

        She wrote a novel about horse racing (‘Horse Heaven’), that I didn’t expect to like having no interest in the sport but she can make pretty much any subject fascinating (her next one was about estate agents!). She also writes horsey books for girls I think.

      • Weirdly I love the idea of a book about estate agents!

      • David

        Finished both books now – ‘Some Luck’ was really good, but so obviously the first part of something larger: there is an ending of sorts but everything is left hanging for the next book, so I hope it isn’t too many years in coming or I’ll have forgotten where we were up to (and possibly this is why it didn’t get further than the longlist for the National Book Award), though since the trilogy is titled ‘The Last Hundred Years’ and ‘Some Luck’ begins in 1920, presumably Smiley doesn’t plan on getting the final book out until 2020 at the earliest! Maybe I should have done what I’ve done with Amitav Ghosh’s Ibis Trilogy or Adam Mars-Jones’s John Cromer books: I’ve bought them, but am waiting for the trilogies to be completed before reading them, thus avoiding the long gaps (and inevitable memory lapses) between books.

        Just started Samantha Harvey’s new novel, ‘Dear Thief’ and plan on beginning John Dufresne’s 1991 story collection ‘The Way the Water Enters Stone’ tomorrow morning. I read another of Dufresne’s books last month, ‘Johnny Too Bad’ and thought it was fantastic – if everything else he has written is as good he deserves some sort of award for America’s Most Overlooked Writer.

      • Ok you and Annabel are now both freaking me out with all this reading!

      • CarolS

        I’ve only just heard of John Dufresne now, here, off to investigate But another marvellous American writer I’ve just discovered is Brian Morton. I’ve his first and most recent to read but the other 3 are thoughtful and thought provoking in a real literary way. I’ll keep them to reread but in the meantime am lending them out to share the pleasure.
        And I finished Deborah Harkness’ Book of Life in the early hours. The trilogy deserves another read, not sure when…

  5. I am in the midst of volunteering at and attending a Literary Festival this week so my reading in as focused in advance of some of the writers I will be hearing this weekend including Christos Tsolkias’ Baracuda (awesome) and Tim Winton.

    But otherwise I am well into Arctic Summer by Damon Galgut whom I had the pleasure/thrill of meeting and talking to the other day at his appearance. Amazing book and much different from his earlier works as an historical biographical fiction of EM Forester and the impact of his deeply repressed sexuality. Recommended.

    As per Sacred Country I have very strong feelings I will not share until you have finished it. I know this story, I lived it – enough said for now.

    • I too loved Barracuda. Great modern visceral slightly narked off book which I enjoyed. I need to read the Galgut! I have it on my shelves.

      Look forward to sharing thoughts on Sacred Country!!

  6. Planning to read The City Stained Red by Sam Sykes over the weekend but my TBR pile really needs sorting out as Im all over the place as to what Im reading and what Im going to be reading next.

  7. kaggsysbookishramblings

    “Brodeck’s Report” by Philippe Claudel – very wonderful and sad and moving and quite scary too,

  8. I started reading This Boy – Alan Johnson’s childhood memoir for a new book group I’m going to (all ex-teachers from my daughter’s old primary school – eek!) Enjoying it lots – such poverty, yet it’s not miserable.

  9. Ann

    Reading Purgatory Ridge by William Kent Krueger – a lot of American Indian lore in it – love his books – 3rd one I’ve read. Been trying to read them in order which is always hard to do!

  10. CarolS

    Almost finished last of Deborah Harkness’ trilogy, rich, well researched, page turning, engrossing and clever hokum. Or not?

  11. Rob

    I have been waiting for you to ask what we are reading!!!! I have just finished a book that is in my TOP ten of ALL time favorite books……can you guess??? Simon recommended it……..YEP, REBECCA!!!!!!!!!! FABULOUS!!!!!! I come from a very dysfunctional family where paranoia ran rampant so I felt right at home with the unnamed narrator………..THANK YOU Simon!!!!!

    • BRILLIANT! I have just woken up and read this comment and it’s made my weekend already. Hooray. So pleased that you enjoyed it, it’s always awkward when someone doesn’t and I have to send the heavies round😉

  12. Trip to London soon and a visit to the Dickens museum so I’ve just started Bleak House.

  13. Just finished March by Geraldine Brooks (amazing!), and am now reading Dear Life by Alice Munro – haven’t had much love for short stories in the past so I am a little nervous. I feel that if I don’t like Munro there might be something wrong with me…

    • Do you know what I have that Munro collection and I am nervous of it for the very same reason! March is a book I have been recommended a few times. I worry as I haven’t read Little Women I won’t get it.

      • David

        ‘Dear Life’ is the only Munro collection I’ve read and I have to say I liked it a lot, I admired it (they’re stories that work on so many different levels and likely reward several re-readings, though they also offer instant gratification!), but I wasn’t blown away by it as I thought – given her reputation – I would be.
        I do wonder if perhaps she’s an author I should start at the beginning with. “Dance of the Happy Shades” was her first book, I think, written when she was roughly my age now, so likely that will be my next Munro.

      • I don’t think you need to have read Little Women to enjoy March – it’s a beautiful book of its own right (Brooks is a boss at historical fiction!). Having said that, I LOVE Little Women, so I got heaps of warm and fuzzies when the stories crossed over.

      • Oh ok that makes me feel a little better then! I might read The Book of People, or is it called The Peoples Book, next. I loved The Year Of Wonders!

  14. I just finished (I say just, I mean on Wednesday but somehow I haven’t started another book yet; highly unusual) Sworn Virgin by Elvira Dones, which is amazing. Next up is The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell. I’m going to a talk he’s giving in less than three weeks and some friends and I have agreed to read the book first. It’s a big ‘un so I’d best get started!

    • Haven’t heard of Elvira Dones. I shall look her up. I have heard far too much about David Mitchell. Alas him and I just don’t quite work. I know we should but we just don’t.

  15. Jen

    I’ve entered a bit of a reading slump so I’m re-reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for the first time in years. I’m also reading The Men Who Stare at Goats by Jon Ronson, but that isn’t going particularly well (this is 100% my fault, and not any indication of the book’s quality!)

    • Nothing wrong with a reread. We all need a comfort reread now and again. I have Ronson’s The Psychopath Test from the library. I really must read that!

      • Jen

        I just wish that I had all of my childhood books here (they are near Manchester, I am in Japan) so that I had more of a selection to choose from when I want to read something comforting (although I’m not sure you can ever go wrong with Harry Potter)! You should definitely read The Psychopath Test, it was fascinating!

      • I might have it as my commuting and lunchtime book when I start my new job on Weds

  16. I am reading “Van Gough, The Life”- a great read. Also reading an autobiography- “Born Naked” by Farley Mowatt. Both are very good.

  17. I’m reading The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. It’s a bit of a chunkster, but I am enjoying it so far.

  18. Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher. Very funny told via letters of recommendation from a lecturer to a variety of people regarding his students and fellow academics.

    Almost finished so then I’ll be reading your friend Catherine Hall’s new one.

  19. pam

    i recently finished “dr. fischer of geneva”, which might be my favourite graham greene to date. now i’m embroiled in “sophie’s choice”. next up after that is “narrow road to the deep north”. can’t wait!!

    • Well the Flanagan is AMAZING. I will be talking about it tomorrow. Sophies Choice is a book I have always wanted to read, wonder if would find it too hard going. You might want a light read between those too actually.

  20. Iza’s Ballad by Magda Szabó a hungarian classic recently translated

  21. I absolutely loved Tremain’s Trespass and also enjoyed The Road Home. I keep meaning to get to Restoration and some of her others. I’ll be interested to see what you think of Sacred Country. I’m reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness this weekend and also dipping into Pullman’s retelling of the Grimm Fairy Tales. I usually read one book at a time, but the archetypcial subject matter in both is providing a wonderful overlap.

  22. heather curran

    Dear Simon. I LOVE sacred country. Everything by Rose Tremain but I finally read the road home (as part of your tremain challenge for your Gran) and oh Simon I loathed it and can’t wait to hear your opinion. Thanks to kaggsy comment about phillipe claudel… I have had Broderick’s report for a couple years and will now read it. Currently reading Ann-Marie MacDonald’s new novel Adult Onset. It is fantastic! And funny as well, like hilarious. Cya! Heather

  23. I just finished All Quiet on the Western Front which was so good.

    I’m currently reading Insomnia by Stephen King, 77 Shadow Street by Dean Koontz, and Drood by Dan Simmons. I’m enjoying all of them.

  24. quinn

    Just finished amazing novella, real find….I put Gone w/ the Wind near top of TBR after u mentioned it (I had read as youngen)..and then found “Lost Leysen’ tinyest bk….Mitchell’s first bk written when 15! mirrors GWTW characters, very sharp, see vivian leigh as i read….loved it…also has amazing bio info on mitchell and how this was found and pub decade ago.
    did u read gwtw yet? quinn

  25. Jill

    I’m slowly reading my way through Rose Tremain’s Music and Silence. It’s one of those where I read some, put it down for something else and then pick up it again. I’ve also read The Colour and Restoration which is my favorite Tremain novel.

  26. Finished the Alan Johnson memoir this morning, and also A26 by Pascal Garnier (very dark!). Just about to start my first Penelope Fitzgerald – At Freddie’s

  27. I’ve read Slouching Towards Bethlemhem and Cheri this weekend, now I’m back reading Young Hearts Crying by Richard Yates (I keep putting it down in favour of books and I am now determined to finish it.)

Leave a Reply

