It Looks Like I Have a Crime to Solve…

Today while I was sat at my desk work, work, working away, I had a random text message from my neighbour. She was rather worried as she has signed for something for Sumci Salidge at our address and it looked a bit dodgy as it was covered in evidence tape. My mind went into overdrive. Firstly I wondered if I had done anything really naughty that the law could be after me for. Then I wondered if my divorce papers were finally here. Then I started thinking of the movie Seven and that scene with that  box. I then had a meeting and forgot about it until I got home.

Indeed it was a box that was covered in evidence tape which said ‘Do Not Open’, which of course made me want to open it…

FullSizeRender

So I did…

FullSizeRender (1)

Well, I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw all the evidence bags – I was in my element! I should here explain that my dream job, had I finished my A-Levels and gone to university after, would have been to become a Criminal Psychologist or Profiler. You know like Sue Johnston in Waking The Dead, the person who they call in when they want to work out who the killer might be, what their personality, predilections and motives might be. I would have found it fascinating. (Instead I have ended up working in events and business tourism with a sprinkling of booky delight.) So to get this box was just too much.

FullSizeRender (2)

There is dust and a brush for finger printing, a blue light torch for looking for blood stains (see I know what I am talking about), a magnifying glass, seven cents, a USB stick and various files and clues. This is all for the sampler of the new novel Flesh and Blood by Patricia Cornwell, which as you read you must refer to the numbered evidence and make sense of it all. So actually being a detective as you go, amazing. I cannot wait. I haven’t started yet, but plan on giving it a whirl over the weekend. I will report back in the next week or so…

7 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

7 responses to “It Looks Like I Have a Crime to Solve…

  1. DI Savidge investigates. *cue really cool detective show music ala Bergerac or something* This is awesome, and I love the fact that there is an ALS in there. I feel someone is going to have a rather splendid weekend🙂

  2. Coolest promo EVER! Have fun with your detecting…I’m guessing that you are not alone with secretly wanting to be a detective. Thanks for sharing a glimpse, and do keep us posted with your progress.🙂

  3. Such fun! I hope the book lives up to the promo hype… I’ve stopped reading Patricia Cornwell lately.

  4. What an awesome way to promote the book! How fun!

  5. This is so exciting! Such a brilliant way to drum up excitement for a book.

  6. That’s brilliant. I’m not a Cornwell fan (I know, I know) but what a great way to build up some excitement and intrigue about a new book.

Leave a Reply

