Read Any Warhol?

This week I had the pleasure of going to a special preview of the new Andy Warhol exhibition which has come to Tate Liverpool (yes, we do much culture and art oop North – there is more to the UK than just London, ha!) this week.

It was amazing to see some of the wonderful art that, being Warhol, I have seen pictures of but never in the flesh before. There’s something very surreal (and a bit tingly) when you see world famous pieces in the flesh. I couldn’t get over the Brillo boxes, Campbell’s soup tins and of course the Marilyn’s…

IMG_6127.JPG

The beard and I managed to selfie bomb with Marilyn as you can see. Anyway, one of the things I hadn’t realised was that he had designed so many books covers, being the geek I am I will have to look up these titles…

IMG_6121.JPG

I had also forgotten about the books that Andy Warhol had written. I knew they existed and am sure one of the libraries had them recently. Now of course, as is always the way, I am really intrigued by them. Especially by A.

IMG_6120.JPG

The only things that worry me are that it will be too bonkers/experimental for me or too clever. So I wondered if any of you have read A and if so what you thought of it? I am tempted to give it a whirl. (If you have read any of the books he designed the covers of above let me know about those too!) Oh and if you are in Liverpool at all anytime before the 8th of February do check out this marvellous exhibition, though one room had me really trippy – which might be the point, at the brilliant Tate Liverpool on the Albert Dock!

6 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

6 responses to “Read Any Warhol?

  1. Oh My God! Yes I have read A. Somewhere in the house the copy lurks. I have not thought about it for years. I recall it as a rather incoherent read but the message that sticks with me is the classic Warhol personal edict – When you meet someone new, be sure to tell them all your flaws first so that they won’t be disappointed when they discover them later. Not exactly sage advice I learned the hard way and now many years later I am actually working hard to drop the barriers that I tend to build around myself in real life.

    I ordered this book way back in the late 70s when I was in my teens. This was when you went in to a small book seller and they took out the big Books in Print to find out if a title was available and months later it they would call to tell you had arrived. I remember my mother humouring me when I ordered it. I was obsessed with Warhol and the entire underground New York scene as a teenager. My mother is from Brooklyn and for years we got the Sunday New York Times battered and beaten up by mail and I owned the Entertainment section. Growing up in rural western Canada with classic and profound gender dysphoria (female bodied, male identity complicated with definite attraction to men) I became increasingly aware a growing gulf between the way I thought and experienced the world and other girls and women. The gender blending and strong homo erotic energies of the Warhol scene were the first inklings of something like me in the world. Of course it would take a long detour through marriage and a couple of children to finally discover that gay identified transgendered or transsexual men existed and that testosterone and surgery would allow you to alter the body in which you were born and finally feel whole (with surgical limitations). Now, at 54, sixteen years after coming out as a gay transman and starting to transition it makes me smile to remember going in to that little bookshop and ordering my copy of A so many years ago.

    Thanks.

  2. The ignoramus in me doesn’t really understand the appeal of his work. I get that he was breaking the mould but I’m not excited when I see any of it. I do however love the Tate in Liverpool where a fabulous job has been done on preserving the architecture of the building. There is one niche which let’s you sit and contemplate the Mersey

  3. I’ve not read him, but loved seeing him at the big Pop Art exhibition at the Royal Academy some years ago. Recently, I was excited to find out that the guy who actually designed the Brillo logo was himself an abstract expressionist painter – ironic that Warhol should then subvert that!

  4. I did read his journal a long time ago. A big massive book. It left me with “Wow he’s bitchy!” Interested to see what you have to say about it. All in all I love his work.

  5. kaggsysbookishramblings

    I read A a long time ago – alas I can remember very little but I really would like to revisit his work!

  6. mee

    For once I will be at the right time at the right place! I’m going to Liverpool this weekend and will surely be checking out this exhibition. Can’t wait!😉

Leave a Reply

