The Adventures of Bookmarks

I have been thinking about doing a post on bookmarks, which I seem to collect as many as I do books. Okay, maybe not quite as many. I still haven’t written that post, but am on it, yet whilst I faffing on the internet earlier today doing anything but what I should be doing I discovered this wonderful video about the life of a bookmark and so thought I would share that with you instead. It lasts about 5 minutes but is genuinely delightful, so grab a cuppa and then sit and watch it…

I love the idea that when you read your book mark goes on the same adventure with you. Funnily enough mine was in a boat on the ocean yesterday as I read Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea and now its in the Wild West with Joe R. Lansdale’s The Thicket. Yes, well spotted, I am reading books set on boats or heavily featuring horses at the moment – it is like my bookgroup and podcast pals do it for the laugh, scowls. Anyway, where is your bookmark adventuring with you currently?

12 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

12 responses to “The Adventures of Bookmarks

  1. sharkell

    I have a number of bookmarks actively (and not so actively) engaged at present. One is stuck in a Japanese internment camp in Australia during WW2 – After Darkness; another is stuck in the Glade – The Maze Runner; yet another is sitting idly in a book of short stories featuring animals during various historic moments – Only the Animals; and yet another is sitting between books 1 and 2 in The Harp in the South. Methinks I have too many bookmarks on the go at once!

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings

    My active bookmarks is currently travelling through Siberian snow with me on a rather wonderful train journey – would that we were both really making that trip!🙂

  3. David

    My leather bookmark is back in India in 1945 renewing its acquaintance with Ronald Merrick and the Laytons (‘A Division of the Spoils’ by Paul Scott), having just spent a few days in 1980s New Jersey (‘The Sacrifice’ – Joyce Carol Oates); my Book Depository ‘Solar System’ book mark is flitting around Southern California learning about the things people will do for money (‘Refund: Stories’ by Karen E. Bender); and my seldom-used Folio Society bookmark has been stuck for over a week in Kentucky screaming to be let out before it drowns under yet another wave of beautiful (yet somewhat purple) prose as it tries to find some semblance of plot or character to cling on to (‘Ancient Oceans of Central Kentucky’ – David Connerley Nahm).

  4. I make mine, either with fabric or wool. I currently have a wooly one in Wild!

  5. My bookmark is currently investigating a murder with Miss Marple in The 4:50 From Paddington..

  6. I’m using a variety of puffin postcards for bookmarks at the mo. My ‘Going to the ballet’ bookmark is, weirdly enough, trawling the gutters of 1930s India with me at the mo…

  7. Michael F

    Mine has been left behind on Mars, using its knowledge of engineering and botany (along with an irreverent sense of humor) to survive until a rescue team can arrive.

  8. I have a feeling that some of my bookmarks are staying in those adventures as they keep missing mysteriously😀

  9. I use paint samples as bookmarks and always pick the color matching to the book cover. Currently some sandy tone is traveling with me through Brittany, France and solving inspector Dupin’s first case there.

  10. I don’t use them so I can’t play😦

  11. Stephanie

    My favorite bookmark has just been executed for murder in Iceland (Burial Rites) and is now hanging with Thomas Cromwell. (Wolf Hall) My book club is on a historical fiction kick.

  12. Mary Arth

    I have been collecting book marks for several years. I keep them on albums. When we travel it is an inexpensive souvenir. I love bookmarks!!

Leave a Reply

