Time Away From Books…

I have decided to bring something new to Savidge Reads. Over the next few weeks I will be introducing a potentially weekly new series of posts which are all about ‘time away from books’. The idea behind this has come from an unofficial resolution I have made with myself that every week I have to do something unusual and fun and have ‘something’ to look forward to. Not because my life is dull and boring, as if, just to motivate me to go and do more of the things I love once a week. This might be going to see track down red squirrels in a forest, it might be going to a new exhibition at a gallery, it might be going on a big old walk up a hill or by the sea, it might be a day trip/weekend away with friends or might even be going to a stately home and pretending I am in Rebecca

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again...

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again…

The only rules are that it can’t be really bookish (for example the stately home above is not actually in Rebecca and doesn’t have any literary links apart from having a bookshop that was closed) and it needs to be something a bit different and preferably involve culture, fresh air and laughing – the latter isn’t something I find difficult. These are vague rules because it’s a fun venture and fun doesn’t have rigid rules, if any rules at all. I just want to get out more and ‘go be do’.

What do you think? Have you any suggestions of things I should try and do – try and make them in the UK and ideally legal – as part of my plan-of-fun? What are your favourite things to do when you are having some time away from books?

19 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness, Time Away From Books

19 responses to “Time Away From Books…

  1. This is a great idea! I’m looking forward to seeing what kinds of new things you do and enjoy.🙂

  2. Jen

    What a fabulous idea! I always tell myself I’ll do that fun thing next week…or in the spring…or in the fall. This way you will be doing fun things every week! When not reading a book, I am usually on-line looking for a book. 😉 Please keep us posted!

  3. pam

    visit whitby!! one of my fav. places in the UK. ok, so there is a literary connection (it was featured in Bram Stoker’s Dracula) – but it’s worth overlooking to enjoy the picturesque abbey and churchyard and nosh on some fab fish and chips.

  4. Ann

    You deserve to take a break and do some fun things — being from the US I can’t say what is in your area, but just walks are always good for clearing our heads-Enjoy.

  5. Alison

    Definitely visit Yorkshire Simon. I live in York and there are loads of things to do here. Or there’s the Dales and then the Yorkshire coastline. You’d love it!

  6. There are little cottages in Scotland that I think are called”boothys”. One has been restored and lined with books in honour of a special woman..I have no idea who she was..ha…but find a remote place like that….go to that place written about in “Rim of Bright Water” ( the otter place). I would go there. However, you are young so do what you think you would enjoy!

  7. One activity a week is definitely doable. I should be more purposeful about this too. I can’t wait to see what you find to do!

  8. I love it – I do a monthly post that I enjoy where I recap the non-bookish cultural thing I do around Boston. Not sure I could keep up with a weekly one as I’m so lazy some weeks😀

  9. Sounds like an excellent plan! I’ve been trying to get out and explore something new (not hard since I live in a new-to-me area) on Saturdays. Lately I have an interest in exploring harbors and maritime related things. I second Pam’s suggestion that you visit Whitby.

  10. Ruthiella

    Please visit Cornwall and give us photos of any possible real location for Manderly. P.S. I love the fog in that photo.

    There is a Dickens festival every year only a few miles from where I live and I have always meant to go…but I haven’t managed it yet.

  11. Love the idea. Stay with it, and do let us all know how it goes each week.

  12. Great idea and I’ll be interested to see what you find. We’re touring the UK in our caravan this summer so might well follow in your footsteps.
    If you’re around the South East corner, Hastings Old Town is good for a wander or cycling the Cuckoo Trail from Eastbourne to Heathfield.

  13. Sounds like a great idea and I can see many other bloggers jumping on the bandwagon as well.

  14. it’s a good job the bookshop was closed – I bought lots when I was in there! x

  15. Time away from books? I now play the flute seriously again (and have two teachers now), though some of my friends question whether it is fun or just another form of hard work! About 7 years ago a good (academic) friend told me to have more fun in my life; I shan’t reveal here all that has led to, but working with the fabulous Morgana of Iberian Black Arts has been an amazing experience and probably a little nerve racking too. If you go to her website and click on Portraits you will find several examples of our collaborations.

  16. Fenella

    Just make your way through the National Trust catalogue. I’m a huge fan of the NT. Tatton Park and Speke Hall and Dunham Massey are some big beautiful ones in your vicinity. My grandfather was a room-steward in Speke Hall before he passed on.

  17. Formby’s red squirrels are on my list to do. Just a trip to the seaside is always good for a land-locked Midlander. How about trying some Geocaching?

  18. Rent a bicycle and follow a country lane to the end, take a thermos and say hello to a local🙂

  19. Jaie

    where are you in the uk? a very cool and bizarre place in london is the Operating Theatre and Herb Garret, the oldest operating room of its sort in Europe — small, but very very interesting. it makes memories of book fragments about victorian doctors, operations, amputations, etc. come alive! i highly recommend it if you are near london. http://www.thegarret.org.uk/

Leave a Reply

