Whoops!

I’ve been a little more silent on the blog the last few weeks with fewer reviews. I have been busy doing this…

Yep. Reading like a loon making sure I have got all my last Hear Read This, You Wrote The Book and book group reads before I have a break from them over the summer, plus some other books for various events I have. All this BEFORE I start the serious reading task of the Fiction Uncovered submissions, some of which have arrived already and I am really excited to read.

The picture above was taken by The Beard as I read my choice for book group. Seems I’m having a reading binge before the reading binge I can’t talk about. Means I have plenty of reviews lined up while I am hidden away judging though. Now best start Susan Hill’s I’m the King of the Castle so back to more reading!

What are you reading at the mo?

19 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

19 responses to “Whoops!

  1. Leonora the novel about leonora Carrington

  2. I’ve just finished The Lewis Trilogy by Peter May being “The Blackhouse”, “The Lewis Man” and “The Chessmen”. Good reading. I’m a bit concerned you’ll burn yourself out with all the reading you’ve got planned. I hope you’re pacing yourself.

  3. Michael F

    I am midway through “Wolf Hall” and Ms. Mantel has me totally engrossed in the world of Cromwell. I am hoping to finish this and “Bring Up The Bodies” before the BBC mini-series is broadcast here in the U.S. Cheers.

  4. lululove88

    WOW…I just fell in love…with your bookshelf…

  5. That’s the trouble with this blogging thing. Sometimes I’m just too busy reading to blog about it. I’m about to finish my first book by Bill Bryson – The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America. Happily, Bryson is about as funny as I’d hoped he’d be.

  6. Just finished an ARC of a new book by Dolen Perkins-Valdez, Balm, that I thought was very good.

  7. Barbara B.

    Two nights ago I finished “The Girl on the Train”. Loved it. It was such a fast read and I’m a slowish reader. Tonight I began “The Explorer” by James Smythe. Don’t know where it’s going but it’s intriguing.

  8. Jo

    Fairly productive week, finished a review copy from netgalley, an Agatha Christie and now started The Rose of Sebastapol.

  9. David

    Your shelves are looking very tidy, Simon – I wish mine were likewise!

    I just finished reading Laird Hunt’s ‘Neverhome’ about a woman who disguises herself as a man and goes off to fight in the American Civil War. As one character in the book points out it is a reverse Odyssey where Odysseus stays at home and Penelope goes to war. Anyway it was very good.

    I also just got to the end of a story collection published in the early seventies – “Beasts of the Southern Wild” by Doris Betts, an author who I will definitely be reading more of: there’s an honesty and a frankness to her writing and the subjects she is prepared to tackle – but no sense that she is being deliberately controversial or trying to provoke a reaction – which is refreshing.

    Now I’m reading ‘The Ballad of Desmond Kale’ by Roger McDonald, which won the Miles Franklin Award in 2006. Set in the early years of Australian settlement it took a bit of getting into because of the style which takes liberties with syntax – I think to give a ‘feeling’ of late 18th/early 19th Century writing without being an exact replica. Anyway, now I’ve got used to it I can see why so many of the review quotes refer to it as a “rollicking read”, “fast-paced” etc.

  10. Like the bookshelves! Have recently read and reviewed the Maya Angelou you are engrossed in. Currently re-reading (and its an absolute joy to re-read) “Crimson Petal and the White” by Michel Faber. Certainly, for me, one of the best books of the 21st Century

  11. kaggsysbookishramblings

    What lovely looking bookshelves Simon! I have been struggling to read but have been saved by Russian Little Black Classics, Penelope Lively and The Leopard!🙂

  12. Just finished A Small Place by Jamaica Kincaid and in the process of reading Saint Monkey by Jacinda Townsend.

  13. Jill

    Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey and I’m loving it so far.

  14. JO

    I am not reading my books as I should be, that is what I’m doing. The nearest I’m getting is my admin textbook so far lol. I am reading rubbish on my Kindle app and must stop it to read my pile of paperbacks
    Jo xxx

  15. I love your bookshelves! I’m reading Howard’s End by E. M. Forster, it’s as wonderful as I expected.

  16. Mary Arth

    I love the bookshelves. Are they new?

  17. I’ve just finished Elizabeth Gaskell’s “Lois the Witch” and now I’m reading “The Invisible Guardian” by Dolores Redondo.

  18. I’m reading Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas. It is taking me a long time to read. I think I expected too much from it. I am half way through so maybe it will pick up soon. I have ridiculous amount of books waiting to be read as well.

  19. Bad, bad case of bookshelf envy… very bad. I’m reading a biography of Martha Gellhorn by Caroline Moorehead. It’s very entertaining.

Leave a Reply

