Guessing the Bailey’s Prize Longlist 2015

I haven’t done this for a year or two I don’t think, yet as it is International Women’s Day it seemed fitting for me to celebrate it by celebrating female authors and what could do that better than by playing guess the Bailey’s Prize for Women’s Fiction longlist which will be revealed on Tuesday next week. Initially I didn’t think I would be able to hazard a guess at this, yet when I started thinking about the books that I have read and loved plus went and looked through my shelves of all the books I have meant to read in the last year I suddenly had far too many. You see that is my criteria for guessing, which books have I read and loved that are eligable and which ones would I love to see listed because I am desperate to read them and think they may well be corkers, as may you!

So here are the books that I have read and would LOVE to see on the list on Tuesday, I have linked if I have reviewed them…

The Bees by Laline Paull, He Wants by Alison Moore, After Me Comes the Flood by Sarah Perry, Thirst by Kerry Hudson, Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey, Animals by Emma Jane Unsworth, The Repercussions by Catherine Hall (which I edited one edition of so haven’t reviewed yet but will with that caveat) and finally The Miniturist by Jessie Burton, which I just read and absolutely adored, more soon.

Then for the books that I really want to read…

Dept of Speculation by Jenny Offill (which I actually have finished since scheduled this post), Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel, Viper Wine by Hermione Eyre, How to be Both by Ali Smith, Mr Mac and Me by Esther Freud, An Untamed State by Roxanne Gay, Rise by Karen Campbell, Her by Harriet Lane, Weathering by Lucy Wood, I Am China by Xiaolu Guo, Mother Island by Bethan Roberts and Young God by Katherine Faw Morris.

(I could also have mentioned The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart which I have read all of. And I also mulled over Academy Street by Mary Costello, The Ship by Antonia Honeywell, The Exit by Helen Fitzgerald, The First Bad Man by Miranda July, Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller, The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters, A Blue Spool of Thread by Anne Tyler and The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer.)

Blimey hasn’t it been an amazing year, again, for women’s fiction. What are your thoughts on the Bailey’s Prize longlist, let me know if you have had a guess and if not which ones would you like to see on the list? Have you read any of the above and if so what did you think? Who would you love to win?

P.S Sorry the pictures aren’t all the same size, it is setting off my OCD slightly too!

9 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Random Savidgeness

9 responses to “Guessing the Bailey’s Prize Longlist 2015

  1. LauraC

    I enjoyed Elizabeth Is Missing, and I’m halfway through the Girl on the Train, but Station Eleven was wonderful!

  2. I’ve loved reading the predictions, and I can’t wait for the actual list. So much great stuff to choose from.

  3. David

    I’ve only read three of those, Simon: ‘How to be Both’ is brilliant; ‘Station Eleven’ was one of the most purely enjoyable books I read last year even if it is a little derivative in places; ‘After Me Comes the Flood’ I found promising but with some significant flaws.

    This is the second prediction I’ve seen and neither has included Marilynne Robinson’s ‘Lila’ – I’ve not read it but I haven’t seen a bad review of it yet, so I’m slightly surprised that it isn’t seen as being in the running.

    One I’d love to see on the list would be Catherine Lacey’s ‘Nobody is Ever Missing’ which I loved though I suspect you have to be in the right mood for it; one I expect to see even though I was on the fence about it is Miriam Toews’ ‘All My Puny Sorrows’.
    Anyway, I admire you for having a go at guessing – the way the Bailey’s prize is judged (where the judges don’t each read every book, meaning some longlisted books might be the choice of just one person) must make it nigh-on impossible.

  4. I read The Girl on the Train, and enjoyed it thoroughly, not sure whether it is award-worthy though.

  5. “The Miniaturist” is pretty good, I liked the atmosphere and the plotting of the book. “Elizabeth is missing” is still waiting to be read. The rest of the titles is unknown to me.

  6. Your looks pretty good, however the real longlist is missing some black women writers as always….

  7. Wow! You did a much better job than me. I only predicted 1 and sadly read 2 of the 20 nominated. Guess I need to keep reading!🙂

  8. quinn

    OMG, omg, OMG, omg……and the winner is REBECCA!!! Thank UUUU Simon…i just finished….omg….had me at every word….such talent….plays the reader like a fine fiddle….and i’m not usually a ‘mystery’ reader….just an amazing talent. thank u big time. i am making everyone!!! read it now. and have a few of her others in the tbr. big time gratitude simon…so daphne has my vote…so there! quinn

  9. Pingback: The Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist Giveaway: How To Be Both – Ali Smith | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

