Vote! Vote! Vote!

Here in the UK, as many of you will know, it is a very important day for voting. Firstly there is the small matter of the General Election (which I am so tense and nervous about I have been unable to edit any reviews I wanted to, read or really be any use) and secondly because of a vote which I thought you might all be somewhat more interested in/less bored of hearing about elsewhere… The Vote for Britain’s National Bird.

Picture from The Guardian

As I am contemplating a summer ‘reading the British countryside’ (more on that in due course when I have had time to plan it/decide if it is actually a daft idea long term) and reading more non-fiction and nature writing (which is becoming a huge new favourite in bookshops apparently along with colouring books) it seemed quite apt.

The shortlisted candidates are… Barn Owl, Blackbird, Blue Tit, Hen Harrier, Kingfisher, Mute Swan, Puffin (which I have eaten), Red Kite, Robin or Wren. How do you do it? Well you pop to this website here www.votenationalbird.com and select the right bird, simple as that. You have until midnight GMT tonight. I thought it would make for a nice bit of fun amongst all the other madness today! You can see their manifesto’s on The Guardian’s website here. Let me know if you do and what you vote for.

Who did I vote for? I chose the bird that brings the most nostalgia for me and that is the Red Kite, my grandparents used to make me play the ‘how many Red Kite’s can Simon see?’ game as we travelled up and down the country to and from my mum’s on and back from holidays. Though you could say that sums up my politics in general, voting for Red Kite’s rather than Blue Tit’s. (Sorry I couldn’t help it!)

2 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

2 responses to “Vote! Vote! Vote!

  1. dirtmother

    I voted Hen Harrier.

  2. Hehehe I didn’t know about this have gone online and voted barn owl🙂

Leave a Reply

