And The Fiction Uncovered Winners 2015 Are…

I am thrilled to announce that after many weeks of wonderful reading and re-reading, some brilliant debate and lots of laughter with three other judges who are all stars (India Knight, Matthew Bates and Cathy Galvin) and now some of my new favourite bookish chums, we have chosen the eight winners of Fiction Uncovered 2015. They are…

  • The Incarnations – Susan Barker (Transworld)
  • The Redemption of Galen Pike – Carys Davies (Salt)
  • The Offering – Grace McCleen (Sceptre)
  • Significance – Jo Mazelis (Seren Books)
  • Mother Island – Bethan Roberts (Chatto & Windus)
  • A Man Lies Dreaming – Lavie Tidhar (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Animals – Emma Jane Unsworth (Canongate Books)
  • Mobile Library – David Whitehouse (Picador)

To whittle them down from fifteen marvellous books was no easy feat at all, it took quite a few hours of pleading, threats, swearing and it all kicking off – okay I am joking, it did take several hours of debate and was much, much harder than I anticipated. The eight books are corkers from a very strong longlist. To find out more about the books and the authors do head over to the Fiction Uncovered website here as I am off for a celebratory sherry or three. I will be reviewing the winners and the longlist in due course though…

You might think that was it now, no more Fiction Uncovered 2015 for me, but you’d be wrong. There’s events being planned for the books and authors over the summer which will be announced in due course. More imminently, in fact this Sunday, there will be Fiction Uncovered FM taking over your speakers on Resonance FM from 12pm – 5pm, guess who they have gone and asked to co-host? So if you want a wonderful five hours of book chat co-hosted by a slightly rogue Savidge DJ then tune into that. In the meantime what do you make of our list of the final eight; which have you read, what did you think and which are you going to read? Obviously the correct answer is all of them!

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction Uncovered

3 responses to “And The Fiction Uncovered Winners 2015 Are…

  1. It was a fab evening. Thanks Simon for getting some bloggers like me invited, and huge congrats to all the winners! Some wonderful novels there.

  2. snoakes

    Well, I’ve not read any of those (yet!) although four are already on my wishlist. I shall have to investigate the others further…

  3. A Kiwi in Oxford

    I have read three of the winners and I am waiting for our local library to buy the others. I liked Mother Island, another great book from Bethan Roberts who shows a real understanding of human relationships. I am part way through The Incarnations – a really interesting premise and very funny. But best of all I loved Mobile Library – a group of misfits who come together and create a family out of the chaos of their lives. So good and so redeeming, I was cheering them all the way. Thanks Simon for pointing me in the direction of these books.

Leave a Reply

