Vintage Pride – A Giveaway

This weekend sees the launch of the UK’s Pride season (which seems all the more apt after the news in America today, well done United States you should be very proud) where the cities, towns and all sorts of places celebrate everything LGBT up and down the country over the (hopefully sunny) summer months. To coincide with this, the lovely folk at Vintage have decided to proudly (see what I have done here) celebrate some of their classic novels both by LGBT authors and with LGBT themes. The books they have chosen are Radclyffe Hall’s The Well of Loneliness, Alan Hollinghurst’s The Swimming Pool Library and Rita Mae Brown’s Rubyfruit Jungle.  None of which I have read yet, shame on me. They look gorgeous and I happen to have a spare set…

FullSizeRender (1)

I couldn’t even line them up straight, ha!

So I thought I would do a giveaway of a set to some lucky person. All I want to know is which book with an LGBT theme you have most loved and why, without spoilers? That simple. Now because postage of books across oceans is so expensive, as I have discovered trying to get some books I want from America, I’m afraid I can only send these to a lucky winner in the UK or Europe*, sorry but the Hall is huge so it’s a bulky set to post – *unless you are coming to Booktopia Petoskey and can wait until September in which case I can pack them in my luggage. Right, get recommending. and good luck. You have until end of play Sunday the 28th of June.

Oh and in case you’re wondering mine would be a tie between Catherine Hall’s The Proof of Love or Bethan Roberts’ My Policeman. If you’ve not read either or both of those then you really must!

32 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Give Away, Random Savidgeness

32 responses to “Vintage Pride – A Giveaway

  1. Judith Kent

    The Color Purple by Alice Walker! So beautiful

  2. Last year I read Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller and it is just so beautifully heartbreaking, the ultimate love story.

  3. Excellent. I am not entering the giveaway as I have too many books (no that is a thing) but can I just say I loved The Well of Loneliness which although dated is a fascinating novel in many respects. I read it a few months ago, and discovered it is a book that really divides people – which is understandable (I shall say no more).

  4. Ryan Nelson

    Giovanni’s Room, by James Baldwin – pure poetry in prose about all the whirlwind confusion and conflict of falling in love with someone unexpected, by one of America’s greats.

  5. Anything by Richard Zimler

  6. quinn

    Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg….kept me up all night reading to end, forcing myself to read thru the tears…such a powerful, honest, loving and sane voice. (i’m in usa…just wanted to give Leslie a shoutout…) gorgeous covers.
    quinn

  7. ‘In one person’ by John Irving- he always writes intriguing stories with believable characters you can empathise with and addresses the idea of cross dressing in a father figure really well

  8. ‘In one person’ by John Irving
    His stories are always engrossing, believable and inclusive of lots of different groups (LGBT or other)

  9. Sorry for double comment- promise I’m not cheating by entering twice- my phone didn’t show my first comment had come up lol!

  10. Christopher Isherwood’s A Single Man. The most beautiful and heartbreaking prose you will ever read. ‘A few times in my life I’ve had absolute clarity. When for a few brief seconds the silence drowns out the noise and I can feel rather than think, and things seem so sharp and the world seems so fresh.’
    The first women I loved send that qoute to me and there was no way back. #LoveWins

  11. Christopher Isherwood’s A Single Man. The most beautiful and heartbreaking prose you will ever read. ‘A few times in my life I’ve had absolute clarity. When for a few brief seconds the silence drowns out the noise and I can feel rather than think, and things seem so sharp and the world seems so fresh.’
    The first women I loved send that qoute to me and there was no way back. #LoveWins

  12. I’m going to say Boy meets Boy by David Levithan. It’s just gorgeously written and honest and perfect!

  13. I very much liked The Story of the Night by Colm Tóibín.It’s a very moving story, beautifully written set in Argentina during the Falkland/Malvinas War.

  14. I did love The Song of Achilles, but I think my favourite is Jeanette Winterson’s Why be Happy When You Could be Normal? Beautiful writing, and books as solace.

  15. Maurice by E.M Forster. Such a groundbreaking book for the time it was published. Deals with coming to terms with your sexuality in a time when you could go to jail. Reading it in the 21st Century shows how how far attitudes have changed in a relatively short space of time.

  16. Jonathan Pizarro

    Lost Souls by Poppy Z Brite. It grabbed me like a fever.

  17. Martin Bauman by David Leavitt. I remember it never wanting it to end.

  18. Going to go for ‘The Good Children’ by Roopa Farooki. Although it is not an LGBT story, it depicts the many colours of love as simply a part of life.

  19. I would go for My Dearest Holmes, by Rohase Piercy, originally published by Gay Men’s Press. It is a very touching story of Watson’s unrequieted love for his friend. This take on the Holmes stories is quite common now, with the Sherlock-inspired slash fiction, but it was innovative then and is still the best.

  20. I live in the US (and sadly NOT going to be at Booktopia) so this is just a comment for comment’s sake. My recommendation is The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. It’s a beautiful love story among three people…and comic books!

  21. Ann Bradley

    Loved Sarah Waters recent book,The Paying Guests. Was deserving of shortlist for Baileys prize.

  22. Tipping The Velvet by Sarah Waters. Great book set in victorian England. Really shows how times have changed too

  23. Pingback: Ten LGBT Books That You Might Not Have Read But Should… | Savidge Reads

  24. I live in Canada so I am not eligible to win (unless you want to arrange a quick pick up when I run through Heathrow early on July 8). However I wanted to throw in my favourite. I am currently in South Africa, a country with a number of amazing LGBT writers, hard to chose, but I would think my favourite gay themed book would be Damon Galgut’s Beautiful Screaming of Pigs. A subtle and disturbing coming of age story.

  25. I was going to say Tales of the City, such a wonderful book. Then I thought Id go for Sarah Waters’ Night Watch, which I loved so much that I started a second reading the minute I finished it. I see you’ve allowed yourself a tie so hopefully I can have one too! x

  26. Tipping the Velvet opened my mind in a major way (I didn’t even know what the phrase meant when I bought it). It was just so detailed and honest that I gobbled it up.
    I’m not eligible being an Aussie, but I’ll be checking out those books at my local bookshop🙂

  27. My vote would go to Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters. A fantastic piece of storytelling. My first overtly LGBT read that led me to so many other fantastic books.

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”Savidge Reads” Date:Fri, 26 Jun, 2015 at 14:03 Subject:[New post] Vintage Pride – A Giveaway

    savidgereads posted: “This weekend sees the launch of the UK’s Pride season where the cities, towns and all sorts of places celebrate everything LGBT up and down the country over the (hopefully sunny) summer months. To coincide with this, the lovely folk at Vintage have decide”

  28. I do love “The Swimming Pool Library” – I lent my copy to a friend and never got it back. I reviewed it recently on my blog site. It reminds me of a real-life incident with a vicar and some lost letters (you’ll have to read the review on my blog to find out more). Then there’s also “The Lost Language of Cranes” by David Leavitt and the hilarious “Vanity Fierce” by Australian author Graeme Aitken and for a sequence of books it’s hard to beat the Benson series starting with “Sucking Sherbert Lemons” by Michael Carson. I know that’s more than one- I still haven’t got over the shock of you never having read “The Swimming Pool Library” !

  29. Gosh, most of my choices have been picked. Probably Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? I also enjoyed the theme in it of the healing power of literature and education, and it’s interesting to wonder whether, had Jeanetter Winterson NOT suffered such a dreadful childhood, would she have become the great writer she is? Also, can I just mention The Night Watch too – my favourite Sarah Waters – and most of Alan Hollinghurst’s work? – he’s SUCH a talent!

  30. I’m in the U.S. so not here for the giveaway, but wanted to share one of my favorite LGBT books which is Sudden Death by Rita Mae Brown. It was the first novel I’d read with lesbian/gay characters (30 years ago when I was 19) and so for that reason remains one of my favorites. I’ve often thought about re-reading it but don’t want the warm feeling I have for the novel to be chilled if I no longer connect with it. Oh, and the novel is about tennis–based in part on Brown’s relationship with Martina Navratilova back in the day. Also, I just ordered The Proof of Love from an online retailer–couldn’t get it from my local indy or the library system here…shame. Read Days of Grace a few years ago and enjoyed it very much.

  31. David Wright

    So many to choose from but one of my favourites is The Lost Language of Cranes by David Leavitt. It’s an unusual story of a son’s emerging sexuality being paralleled by his father’s closeted homosexuality. The writing is subtle & elegant and the book packs an emotional punch that leaves me reeling every time I read it. A classic novel that also happens to be a classic lgbt novel.

  32. The Portrait of Mr W H. It’s a wonderful exploration of how it’s possible to fall in love with an idea and believe in it as literal truth simply because it’s aesthetically right.

Leave a Reply

