Books on the Nightstand Summer Book Bingo 2015

I don’t know about you but I sometimes feel that I need a bit of a mix up when it comes to my reading. Okay, aside from judging a book prize and being given a reading prescription with deadlines. When I am reading normally I have noticed that I seem to flit from new book to new book a little like a magpie looking for the next new shiny book, and actually that isn’t the way to read all the time is it? What about the older books, those books for a rainy day or those books you might have forgotten you have amongst your own shelves or in the boxes down the side of the wardrobe. This summer I am combating it with a second whirl of Books on the Nightstand’s Summer Bingo which gives you an unusual and fun way of tackling your TBR.

If you are wondering what on earth this marvellous sounding things is then fret not I shall explain. Basically the lovely hosts of Books on the Nightstand podcast, Ann and Michael, have come up with over 140 possibly categories for you which form a bingo card that you can work through, getting a line or full house, and base your reading around over the summer months. It is genius! I tried it last year and lost count of which books, erm, counted. This year however The Readers, aka Thomas and I, have decided it’s a competition to see who can get a full house, you can hear us talking about it here.

All you have to do to create your own, because I know you are desperate to and why not its super fun, is press on this link here and it should randomly generate a bingo card for you. You can see mine below, which I am having some issues with…

So what am I having problems with? Well initially it was Popular Psychology, because I didn’t know what the funk that was, Ann and Michael being the legends they are have talked about it very recently on the podcast and recommended many books including one I had which is The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks, which sounds like it will be utterly brilliant. No these are the ones I am having problems with and I would love your suggestions on books that are…

  • By or about a celebrity (which isn’t utter drivel, the only one I can think of is Angelica Huston’s memoir which is apparently stunning)
  • Humour or satire (I know of no books that are meant to be intentionally either of these things, help!)
  • Fantasy (wails and starts pulling out hair)
  • Sports related (I mean hello, have we met?)

These are the ones that are defeating me. I may even have some perfect ones, I just might not know I have them or realise that a book I have may count. Don’t forget if you would like to join in do follow the link above, or listen for more details here, the more the merrier. Right now I need your wisdom and book recommendations. Help!

33 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Random Savidgeness, Uncategorized

33 responses to “Books on the Nightstand Summer Book Bingo 2015

  1. This is a brilliant idea! So doing this😀 xx

  2. Pingback: Books on the Nightstand Summer Book Bingo 2015 | mylittlebookblog

  3. By or about a celebrity + humor or satire in one: Stephen Fry and his memoirs.
    Fantasy: Harry Potter
    Sports related: Something about mountain climbing, it’s more than sport and even though I would never do this myself I love to read those stories, really inspiring.

  4. Welcome to the club😀 I’m basically scouring my TBR shelves to tick things off the list.

    Here are my recommendations:
    Humour or satire: Pretty much anything you find funny. I’m reading the William Shakespeare’s Star Wars, as I mean it is a parody of both right?
    Fantasy: Go with young adult, it won’t be as long or complex, maybe try a Diana Wynne Jones, I was in love with her writing when I was younger (“Dark Lord of Derkholm” was my favorite, but might be a bit too much)
    Sports related: You could try “Out of the Pocket” by Bill Konigsberg, which was a coming out/coming of age story and he went on to write other great young LGBT literature.

  5. Pingback: Vacate you mind, but not your bookshelf | The Biblio-Files

  6. Celebrity – Steve Martin’s Shopgirl (bonus is it’s very short)
    Satire – Lost for Words by Edward St. Aubyn (for a satirical take on literary prizes) or many Waugh works
    Fantasy – go for a short work by Phillip K. Dick like Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? that the film Blade Runner was based on
    Sports – The Natural by Bernard Malamud (which beautifully elevates baseball as archetype/myth within a quest for American identity)

  7. pam

    for satire, i’d do “death and the penguin” by kurkov. what about “unbroken” for the sports one? it has sport in it, anyway. good luck!

  8. Does Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running count? It’s also about writing and not giving up, quite inspirational.
    Celebrity makes me shudder too… How about the Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter by Simone de Beauvoir? Or her biography by Toril Moi?

  9. snoakes

    Is Mr JimBob enough of a celebrity for you? If so I highly recommend The Extra Ordinary Life of Frank Derrick, Age 81.
    As for sport, The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver isn’t bad (although it’s not as good as Kevin). Snooker is sporty enough for me :o)
    Humour is difficult – laugh out loud books are rare, but I recently enjoyed Quicksand by Steve Toltz (the humour is of the darkest variety).
    Finally fantasy – there’s plenty about. You could always read a DiscWorld novel in memory of Terry Pratchett.

    Have fun!

  10. sarscoff

    I quite enjoyed Carl Reiner’s My Anecdotal Life, and he’s a celebrity! Though some of the other recs here are also great.

  11. Pingback: Book bingo (and so can you!) | Stuck in a Book

  12. neat! as you may know, I also run a book bingo, with various genres, but ll related i some way to France: http://wordsandpeace.com/2014/12/01/french-bingo-2015-reading-challenge/ – not too late to join!

  13. For fantasy, did you ever read The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon? It seems like you’ve mentioned it, but I don’t remember if you’ve read it. And what about the Mitford sisters for your celebrity? Since it says “by or about,” you could even read one of Nancy’s books for that, and they are fairly short. You could probably get away with an Oscar Wilde play for the “humor or satire” (it doesn’t say it has to be a book). Sports-related is where my help ends, but I’ll be interested to hear what you end up with for that one. Happy reading!

  14. For by or about a celebrity, try My Booky Wook by Russell Brand. He’s so smart and insightful on the printed page. Nothing like his buffoonish image.

    Also, Experience by Martin Amis is a very good autobiography by a very good writer. Definitely not drivel.

    Dare I suggest Life by Keith Richards? He collaborated with an excellent co-writer which makes it a great read, and he offers some fabulous insight into his lifelong quest for “that sound.”

    As for funny, Amis’ The Information is funny and well worth reading. In my opinion his most accessible book.

    Finally, A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson is one of the few books that ever made me laugh out loud. Hilarious.

  15. Ed

    For humour, have you tried anything by P.G. Wodehouse.

    I don’t normally read sport books, even though I follow sport. However, you could try “Fever Pitch” by Nick Hornby.

  16. I just read my first Wodehouse and it was very funny, or else Evelyn Waugh – Vile Bodies is my favourite. I can’t help with the others.

  17. how about David Sedaris for the humor; he narrates all his books on Audible and he’s excellent. really laugh out loud funny. and I’ll second the Shopgirl recommendation (and then you can watch the movie). that’s all I’ve got!

  18. Lots of good suggestions already! If you like 1920s/30s books, there are quite a few which are both funny and contain some sport , which might help if you can use the same book for two purposes. P.G. Wodehouse is quite often seems to feature a cricket match or two; you might also like “Decline and Fall” by Evelyn Waugh, published 1928, which is funny in a more satirical and less gentle way, and contains a disastrous school sports day (small boys shot by teacher’s starting pistol, that sort of thing). “England, Their England” by A.G. MacDonell, published in 1933, is kindly funny and contains a famous description of a village cricket match against a team from London.
    I’m unreasonably prejudiced against fantasy but lots of people say Terry Pratchett was very good (and I think quite funny as well?).
    Celebrity – David Walliams writes children’s books (I didn’t like the two I read at all but they are short and shouldn’t detain you too long).

  19. Neverland is about New York after 9/11, but the protagonist is on a cricket team and there’s enough discussion of cricket that it qualifies as “Sports-Related”.

  20. Sorry! It’s Netherland by Joseph O’ Neill.

  21. Lauramcb

    Satire: Fool, by Christopher Moore, or anything else by him. I like fool the best. Lamb is actually my favorite of his and is good as well as long as religion through the eyes of satire doesn’t offend you.
    Celebrity: Me, by Katherine Hepburn.

  22. Ed

    Actually Wodehouse writes about a number of sports. Mrs Ford suggests his mentions of cricket. I would also recommend his golf stories. They are collected in two books, “The Heart of a Goof” and “The Clicking of Cuthbert”. A lot of these stories are really humourous love stories which just happen to involve golf.

  23. Pingback: Bingo! | Annabel's House of Books

  24. I’ll try!

    Humour: “The Ascent of Rum Doodle” by W. E. Bowman (could also tick the “sports related” box too)
    Sports: “The playground of Europe” by Leslie Stephen (practically invented the whole genre of sport mountaineering and writing about it)
    Celebrity: “In Search of Wagner” by Theodore Adorno
    Fantasy: You have had some excellent suggestions, but how about “The Master and Margarita” by Mikhail Bulgakov?

  25. Sports? The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach wins.

  26. Pingback: Six Degrees of Separation – from The Signature of All Things to Disraeli Avenue | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  27. Pingback: It’s Monday and I’ve got more food pics for you! | Olduvai Reads

  28. Wow, you’re aiming for a full house? I must admit I’m really not trying that hard to complete my bingo card, though it would take me to some different genres for me. From your list, I recommend…

    Celebrity: John Peel Margrave of the Marshes or Bob Dylan Chronicles vol.1
    Humour: I second the David Sedaris suggestion
    Fantasy: Charles de Lint (fab strong female characters, no swords or dragons in sight)
    Sports: This comes closest to stumping me. I second The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver. And there’s some climbing books that are supposed to be good, like Touching the Void by Joe Simpson or Into Thin Air by John Krakauer

  29. Try Tom Sharpe’s books. Porterhouse Blue is really funny. And what about PG Wodehouse? Jeeves and Wooster may be dated but they are still terrific.
    Or if you prefer dark humour joshua Ferris’ To Rise Again At A Decent Hour is very, very good.

  30. Pingback: Books on the Nightstand Summer Book Bingo 2015 | it's a teenage librarything

  31. Jo

    For sport, Chad Harbach’s The Art of Fielding is kind of about baseball, but so much more…

  32. Linda Roberts

    I can recommend Chad Harbach’s The Art of Fielding for your sport’s book, and for fantasy, John Crowley’s Little, Big. Thanks for the Bingo idea; we’ll be discussing its use at school!

Leave a Reply

