Books All Over The Underground (They Made Me Do It)

I am down in big London at the moment, which is becoming my second home at the moment, for lots of meetings. What has been lovely to see as I have dashed here, there and everywhere from meeting to meeting is how many adverts there are for books, and not just your usual suspects – you know the big dark thrillers aimed at men or the bright pink ones aimed at women commuters. Okay, maybe I am being slightly harsh, however the ones I have seen have shown books for the joys we know they are; a gift that keeps on giving, a lovely present someone will really get joy from, etc.

So well done Foyles…

FullSizeRender

And well done The Folio Society…

IMG_1065

I blame you both for the amount of books that I have bought so far on this trip. I think I need to take shares in Foyles the way I am going. Though I actually popped into Persephone Books yesterday and had a wonderful shopping splurge, one of which was a gift for my lovely pal Polly who I met for lunch. Bookshops eh? I can’t be stopped.

IMG_1082

What is the latest book you bought for yourself and for someone else? I would love to know, because I am a nosey so and so.

7 Comments

Filed under Book Spree, Book Thoughts, Random Savidgeness

7 responses to “Books All Over The Underground (They Made Me Do It)

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings

    The Persephone shop is irresistible, isn’t it? My most recent buy is an old book on Dorothy Richardson, which came out in 1973 and arrived looking in better condition than some new books I buy!

  2. Have just bought the budget cookbook ‘A Girl Called Jack’ for my student daughter and ‘Spill, Simmer, Falter, Wither’ for myself. I actually went shopping for a warhammer book for my son but it was out of stock…

  3. I’m reading The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan. I know I am behind the times, it has been sitting on my bookshelf for a while. It has to be my favourite book for this year. Dylanesque, beautiful prose lightly written and totally absorbing, I feel a pang of sadness when I have to put it down, like the ‘family stomach’ Gwenni suffers from.

  4. Louise

    I get books for my kids regularly, my daughter loves Fancy Nancy books.
    For myself I’ve recently bought No One Writes Back by Jang, Eun-Jin ,
    The Book of Ebenezer Le Page by G.B. Edwards and The Libraries of Thought and Imagination: An Anthology of Bookshelves

    Uh I’m going to London next friday, where should I go to shop 2nd hand books?

  5. That Foyles advertisement is great! I actually haven’t bought anything recently, but I’m waiting patiently to put in my pre-order for Sittenfield’s “The Austen Project” adaptation. As for other people, a lot of people will be getting copies of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up from me this Christmas, hopefully they won’t be too offended😀

  6. Tara

    I bought a cookbook for myself signed by the author & Patti Smith’s newest memoir for a friend, also signed by the author. I love that London has a strong reading culture. I’m currently living in Nashville, and we also have strong literary ties. 💚📚

  7. Pingback: The Persephone Project is Back (Again) | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

