Winner of Young Writer of the Year Award 2015

Just under two hours ago Sarah Howe was announced as the Sunday Times/Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2015 with her collection of poetry, Loop of Jade. A huge, huge congrats to her and a huge, huge kick to myself who was going to try and fit this collection in before the announcement (not because I knew, as if, because it was the shortest and I wanted to have read at least one of them) but have sadly not found the time. Maybe this weekend. Anyway, huge congrats again to Sarah…

9780701188696

…And indeed to all the shortlisted authors because (as I said at The Green Carnation Prize winner announcement and party earlier this week) being shortlisted and longlisted from lots and lots of books is a marvellous thing too! Speaking of shortlists though, you may also remember that I promised to give a signed set of the shortlisted books away. If you have forgotten what the titles were, let me remind you they were; Ben Fergusson with The Spring of Kasper Meier, the aforementioned Sarah Howe with Loop of Jade, Sunjeev Sahota with The Year of the Runaways and Sara Taylor with The Shore.

IMG_0874

Well I have used random.org and I can reveal that the winner of the signed shortlisted titles is… Zeudytigre! If you email me with your details I will get these sent out asap so they can be with you before Christmas, a lovely early present or four!  Commiserations to everyone else. Do let me know if you have read any of these though, I shamefully have not (yet) read one of them – but I want to read all four, so the intention is there, ha!

3 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

3 responses to “Winner of Young Writer of the Year Award 2015

  1. Kelly Buckley

    Thanks for sharing. Confess I haven’t read these either – yet!

  2. Thank you! What a wonderful surprise🙂

  3. Pingback: Loop of Jade – Sarah Howe | Savidge Reads

Leave a Reply

