Double Delights (And End of Year Thank You Giveaway)

As it is unusual that anyone buys me books as Christmas presents, because understandably they think that I have probably read it or have it within reach, and so to make up for this I treat myself to a book or four two to compensate. Well imagine my surprise when after I ordered myself the treat of Anthony Marra’s collection of short stories The Tsar of Love and Techno (which has been out in the US for a few months but isn’t out until August 2016 and I couldn’t wait after loving A Constellation of Vital Phenomena so much) and then a parcel from America turned up in the post, which I had no idea was coming, and I opened it to discover… A signed copy of that very book, which then was followed by the one I ordered on Tuesday!

FullSizeRender

So I thought as a lovely person has done such a lovely thing and I like to think I am a lovely person (most of the time) I would give one of you a copy as a thank you for being lovely folk who pop by, leave comments, have a chat on Twitter etc. Then I thought why not go one step further. You see after the shelve sorting I not only discovered all the books I meant to read this year, I also discovered all the books that I had doubled up copies of, so I thought I would give those away too. So joining a copy of Anthony’s The Tsar of Love and Techno are the following…

FullSizeRender (1)

  • Nora Webster – Colm Toibin
  • Stammered Songbook – Erwin Mortier
  • The Well – Catherine Chanter
  • How To Be Both – Ali Smith
  • The Room – Jonas Karlsson

Yes, I think that is a decent thank you for popping by, commenting or lurking and lingering, ha! Oh and it is open worldwide as you lovely lot visit from all over the place! So what do you have to do to win these treats? Well as The Tsar of Love and Techno is a book that was out in 2015 and will be out in 2016 (which sounds bonkers doesn’t it?) I would like to know which book was your favourite read of 2015 AND which book you are most looking forward to in 2016? You have until the clock strikes midnight  in the UK and 2016 officially begins, then I will announce the winner in this post (which will be updated, so keep your eyes peeled) sometime on the 1st of January 2016! Good luck, and thank you again for being a lovely bookish bunch.

Update: Very belatedly, because of being a bit busy, I have finally pulled a draw for the winner from the 47 eligable responses and the winner is…

Random Org

Who is Frances Evangelista (@nonsuchbook), congratulations! I have dropped you an email and will be winging that pile of books out to you next week, hoorah! Commiserations to everyone else, though there will be many more giveaways in 2016 I am sure.

62 Comments

Filed under Give Away, Random Savidgeness

62 responses to “Double Delights (And End of Year Thank You Giveaway)

  1. My favourite book of 2015 was A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler. I’m very much looking forward to reading The Ballroom by Anna Hope, I loved Wake.

  2. Michelle

    One of my favorite fiction reads of 2015 is a debut novel that I think has flown under the radar, but everyone I know who has read it has loved it.
    The book is Val Brelinski’s “The Girl Who Slept with God”.
    I also loved Laline Paull’s “The Bees” which is not my usual type of book, but I cannot recommend highly enough. I also loved Kate Pullinger’s “The Mistress of Nothing” which was published a few years ago, but which I only recently read.

    • And what book are you looking forward to in 2016?

      • Michelle

        The novel that I am really looking forward to reading in 2016 is Dana Spiotta’s “Innocent and Others: A Novel”. I am a huge fan of her books and really enjoyed her recent short story in the New Yorker.

        Very best wishes to Simon and to everyone who enjoys his blog!

        Michelle

  3. sharkell

    How exciting! But sooo hard to pick one book as a favourite😆. I will go with The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman for it’s originality, scope and voice. The book I’m most looking forward to reading in 2016 is Kate Forsyth’s The Beast’s Garden (I hope I’m not cheating here by naming a book that was published this year). Thanks for your blog this year – it has given me many hours of enjoyment both from reading your posts and reading some of the books that you have recommended.

  4. My favourite book of 2015 was Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee. Not only because it was a surprise to find it would be published but the story really got to me. There is one chapter which really affected me and that is a sign of a good book. The book I am looking forward to reading is The Noise of Time by Julian Barnes. I also look forward to discover new authors.

  5. pam

    how exciting!! the book i loved most that was published in 2015 was “a little life”. although “the assassination of margaret thatcher” by hilary mantel was also fab. wait a second – was the question which book did we love most that was published in 2015 or which book did we love most that we read in 2015? because if it was the latter i would include “a good man is hard to find” by flannery o’connor or “station eleven”. but maybe by mentioning all these books i am cheating. but of course not, i would never do that. 2015 was also the year i finally read “american psycho” by bret easton ellis. what can i say but – whoa. i’m open to 2016 and whatever reading comes my way. i can’t name a particular book i’m looking forward to at the moment, but i always get lots of great recommendations from this blog and books on the nightstand. thank you, simon, for all you do for us. i love your blog and podcasts and feel smugly up-to-date on the world of publishing from it (but not too haughty). can’t wait to see what 2016 brings!

    rock on,
    pam

  6. Vera Rebrovich

    My favorite for 2015 was Circling the Sun by Paula McLain. I hope she has another book in the works … And if so, I’m looking forward to it! Otherwise, I too am looking forward to The Noise of Time by Julian Barnes. Does Herman Koch have anything coming out? I think we’re overdue! Not sure what else might be coming in 2016! Happy New Year!!

  7. Kelly Cesari

    My favorite read of 2015 was Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. It was fun and unexpected. I’m looking forward to reading H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald in 2016. A friend who knows I love birding, and books gave it to me for Christmas.

  8. I find it difficult to choose just one but if pushed, The Nightingale would be my choice. Happy New year.

  9. Stephanie

    Thank you for including the whole world in this giveaway! I read so many great books this year, but my favorite, I think, was All the Light We Cannot See, with second being How to be Both. I just made a list today of things I plan to read next year, leaving plenty of room to add new things, of course. But from the list, what I am most looking forward to is Madame Bovary, which I received in a purple leather-bound copy from my husband for Christmas.🙂 happy New Year!

  10. Kristy

    Although not published in 2015, the best book I read this year was Small Island by Andrea Levy. I am looking forward to reading The Past by Tessa Hadley next year–which will be published here in early January.

  11. Geraldine

    My top read was Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Buried Giant. Several months later I am still thinking about it. I am looking forward very much to The Secret Chord as I have loved every book that Geraldine Brooke has written. Happy New Year to you Simon.

  12. Happy New Year, Simon!

    My favorite 2015 read was Me, My Hair, and I by Elizabeth Benedict which is a lovely essay collection on feminism, race, and hair. And my most anticipated book of 2016 gotta be The Noise of Time by Julian Barnes.

  13. I have two favourite books, The Child Thief by Brom and A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James. Both of these books had led me to think so hard, that I could not simply forget them, they will remain with me for a very long time. And I am most excited for The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie. I have read his MIdnight’s Children and a lot of other novels, but the one I have always wanted to was this one, but I have never gotten it, next year it will be one of the first books I buy.

  14. Happy (almost) new year to you Simon!
    I can’t go past Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life for my book of the year. No other book has affected my emotions so deeply to the point where I was ugly crying.
    For 2016, I’m desperate to read Curtis Sittenfeld’s Eligible – I adore Pride and Prejudice and Sittenfeld’s work, so this is perfect for me.

  15. My favorite book of 2015 was The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua, which was an unexpected delight since I usually don’t get much out of graphic novels. For 2016, other than more Savidge Reads posts of course, I am looking forward to Bill Bryson’s The Road to Little Dribbling; hopefully it will be as amusing as his other works. Happy reading in 2016!

  16. Vardit Magid

    My favourite book of 2015 is Preparation for the next life by Atticus Lish. The most anticipated book for 2016 is Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld which is a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice.

  17. Amy

    One of my best reads of 2015 (it’s too hard to pick a definite favourite!) was A Brief History of Seven Killings; although I didn’t necessarily find the experience of reading it enjoyable all the time, it’s a book that I’m still thinking about. My most anticipated book for next year is probably the new Jonathan Safran Foer book, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is one of my all time favourites and I’ve been itching to get my hands on a new piece of fiction by him! Happy New Year🙂

  18. Happy New Year Simon! What a great idea for a giveaway.🙂

    My favourite book of 2015 – the one that made me happiest and full of joy – was The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. It’s a YA novel about about racing mythical sea horses, which sounds crazy but is actually wonderful. And the book that I’m looking forward to in 2016 is really hard to narrow down. Can I pick three? First, the final book in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle books (The Raven King) – she was my absolute best find author this year. And then The Ballroom by Anna Hope, because I loved Wake and this new one is set in an asylum in my home town. Yay. Finally one that isn’t out till much later in the year: Wayward Heroes by Halldor Laxness, which is being translated from Icelandic for the first time. It’s his medieval saga and since Independent People is one of my favourite books of all time I can’t wait to try this one.

  19. This year I got into psychological thrillers and mysteries. One book that took me by surprise in 2015 and turned into an all night page turner was, “YOU” by Caroline Kepnes. In 2016 the sequel to “YOU”, “Hidden Bodies” is one book I am looking forward to reading this year. Thank You for the opportunity to enter. Happy New Year!

  20. The book I most enjoyed in 2015 was The Chimes by Anna Smaill and the book I am most looking forward to reading in 2016 is A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler although having read some of the above I have to add Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. Have a great new year and thank you.

  21. louise trolle

    The best books I read this year were The Crime of Sylvestre Bonnard
    by Anatole France and The Soul of Discretion by Susan Hill.
    In 2016 I’m most looking forward to is The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Happy New Year everyone🙂

  22. Alex

    Favourite books read in 2015? One book, that is hard, tempted to go “Skin” by Ilka Tampke though think its still resonating strongly as its a recent read … but Barricade/Steeple by Jon Wallace) or H is for Hawk or Being Mortal , with honourable mentions going to Gamehouse trilogy by Claire North

    The books am most looking forward to in 2016 ?A Brief history of seven killings or The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

  23. Niyati Joshi

    I think my favourite book of the year was ‘The Followers’ by Rebecca Wait. I loved her debut ‘The View on the Way Down’ and with ‘The Followers’ I was basically reminded of why I love her writing so much – it’s supremely addictive. She has this ability to keep you hooked even though plot-wise there’s nothing significant happening but you just have the feeling that it’s all culminating into something sinister.
    However, favourite book that I read this year was ‘Station Eleven’ by Emily St. John Mandel. What a fascinating twist on the dystopian genre. Absolutely glorious.
    As for a book I’m looking forward in 2016, it’s ‘Here I Am’ by Jonathan Safran Foer. I enjoy his reading and can’t wait for this one.

    I’ve very recently discovered your blog but have been enjoying it a lot. Looking forward to a brilliant literary 2016!

  24. elimy293

    No idea when the tsar of love and techno will be out here in Australia, so I’m very keen to win this one!!

    My favourite read for 2015 was Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan quartet (yes, all four!) and my most anticipated read of 2016 is her collection of essays, called Fragments.

  25. With such generosity how could I resist?? My favourite read of 2015 is the very last book of my reading year , Michael Ondaatjee’s The English Patient. For 2016 I’m looking forward to Breach which is being published by Pereine. It tells the story of the refugee crisis through six voices based on interviews with refugees in Calais. Not due out until August unfortunately but I’ve already ordered it….

  26. I am a lurker and don’t tend to comment, because although I read a lot it doesn’t tend to be new books. Having said that, I’ve read two of the books that you enjoyed in 2015 = H is for Hawk, and The Miniaturist, but I have to say I didn’t enjoy them quite as much as you did. Gut by Giulia Enders is a recent book I’ve enjoyed, but my favourite read in 2015 has been John Galsworthy’s Forsyte Saga (I’m on book 8 of 9 in the series now). Despite the date of publication there’s a lot of relevance in the modern world, or at least some insight into how our society’s problems have changed.

    My TBR shelf never seems to get emptier, but in 2016 I’m looking forward to reading The Fifiteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North, which my sister has recommended (and then given me a copy). But I would love love love to win your package of books!

    Happy New Year!

  27. Right now I’m reading “Without you, there is no us” by Suki Kim… this past pear I’ve been a bit focused on NK. Next year I’m looking for anything and everything on Cuba.

  28. Sarah Cubitt

    My book of the year was Wild by Cheryl Strayed. Really enjoyed looking back through my list & choosing! I am most looking forward to reading Sacred Contracts by Caroline Myss in 2016🙂

  29. Gina

    My favorite in 2015 was Saint Mazie and in 2016 can’t wait to read The Queen of the Night. Happy New Year!🎉

  30. Pingback: Savidge Reads’ Books of 2015 Part Two… | Savidge Reads

  31. Karen

    My favorite book published in 2015 is “Fates and Furies” by Lauren Groff. I’m looking forward to reading “Three-Martini Lunch” by Suzanne Rindell in 2016.

  32. Ooh, what fun! My favourite book of 2015 was ‘The Summer of the Bear’ by Bella Pollen. It just got under my skin, in a good way!
    In 2016, I’m looking forward to Clare Fuller’s ‘Our Endless Numbered Days’. I’ll catch up with Rebecca Mascull’s first offering ‘The Visitors’. Also have two non-fiction volumes – Paul Heiney’s ‘One Wild Song’ and Guy Grieve’s ‘The Call of the Wild’. I’m going to be busy!
    http://wp.me/p4d2Gh-se

  33. My favorite 2015 read was T.H. White by Sylvia Townsend Warner and the book I am most looking forward to in 2016 is the new Helen Oyeyemi title. And I am, in fact, the lovely person you are looking for to bestow these books upon.🙂

  34. Fab giveaway! My favourite book of 2015 was Out of the Darkness by Katy Hogan. The book I’m most looking forward to in 2016 is The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon. Wishing you a happy new year!

  35. I think i have a tie for my top pick for 2015, between Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike #3) and Furiously Happy: A Funny Book about Horrible Things.

    And without a doubt, the one book I’m looking most forward to in 2016 is Here I Am, Jonathan Safran Foer.

  36. Pia

    My favourite read was Kafka on the shore by Haruki Murakami.
    I’m looking forward to read Did you ever have a family by Bill Clegg and The melancholy of resistance by Laszlo Krasznahorkai.
    Happy New Year from Sweden!!

  37. This year my favourite read was Ali Smith’s How to be Both and I can’t wait until Elemental by Amanda Curtin is published in the UK. It was published a while ago in Australia so it’s been a long wait. I’ve pre-ordered it!

  38. My favorite books of 2015 were A little life and My Brilliant Friend and the book I’m looking forward to in 2016 is Party Headquarters by Georgi Tenev. Happy New Year Simon!

  39. Tiff Lomas

    My favourite book of 2015 is A Place Called Winter by Patrick Gale – so descriptive, so divine. The book I am looking forward to most in 2016 is Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld – a Pride and Prejudice retelling and the 4th part of the Austen project. Can’t wait!

  40. Liz Rudloff

    I think the book I enjoyed most in 2015 was Tell the wolves I’m home by Carol Rifka Brunt. Good read, not to mention lovely cover! For 2016 I’m dying to read The murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R. King. Comes out in April and I can’t wait.

  41. Katherine Sikes

    What a lovely thing to do, Simon – cheers! And Happy New Year. My favorite read of 2015 was The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon, and I’m most looking forward to The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon – you’ve really sold that one🙂 (My favorite book that I read in 2015 that was published before was Rebecca. That is not me pandering to you, I swear – I just am really glad you chose that for Booktopia…) Happy New Year!

  42. Ann Bradley

    My favourite book of this year has been The Black Country by Kerry Hadley-Pryce. Salt Publishing (fantastic titles) Dark,compelling believable page turner. Han Kang’s Human Acts is the book I am most looking forward to in 2016.The Vegetarian will remain with me always. Deborah Smith’s translation making that possible. Happy New Year Simon🙂

  43. I loved Sarah Winnans a year of marvellous ways I am looking forward to the new Maggie O’Farrell and the new Jessie Burton

  44. Absolute favourite book was Lisa McInerney’s The Glorious Heresies! For next year… Hilary Mantel’s third Tudor book, hopefully, but also Zadie Smith’s new essay collection. One I’ve read in proof that I’ll be recommending to everyone when it comes out in February is Ian McGuire’s The North Water – a brutal and fascinating historical thriller. Top stuff!

  45. komal

    My favourite 2015 read was Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson. Its amazing, I just don’t have words to describe it! For 2016.. I’m looking forward to Anna Hope’s new book– The Ballroom.
    Happy new year!

  46. Hello Simon!

    My favorite read of 2015 would have to be Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller❤ I am most looking forward to Sleeping Giants by Slyvain Neuvel in 2016. Thank you for being awesome and introducing me to so many books!

    Brittany

  47. Rhonda

    Loved The Daughters Adrienne Celt.Lucy Barton high on my list.Happy New Year.

  48. Favorite books read in 2015 – The Warmth of Other Suns, The Memory of Love, Between the World and Me, and Lighthead
    Looking forward to 2016 releases of – The Book of Harlan by Bernice McFadden, The Birds of Opulence by Crystal Wilkinson At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracey Chevalier
    Happy New Year!🙂

    • Katherine Sikes

      Ooh, yes – I forgot Chevalier was coming out with a new book – very much looking forward to that one, too!

  49. louise trolle

    Any lucky winner picked out yet?🙂

Leave a Reply

