So What Are We All Reading Then?

I have had another bonkers week followed by a lovely weekend away with my mother. The former has meant I haven’t done much reading, the latter has meant I have done loads as a) the weekend away was five hours by train away on the other side of the UK b) I had a hotel suite to myself which always means more reading. So I thought I would share what I am reading right now, in the hope that you might tell me all about what you are reading, have read and want to read too.

IMG_3248

So my current read is Sunjeev Sahota’s The Year of the Runaways. Remember I mentioned authors whose debuts are so good you are nervous of the follow up? This falls into that category as I thought Sunjeev’s debut Ours Are The Streets was pretty brilliant when I read it back in 2011, when I was somewhat more succinct in my book thoughts. So far The Year of the Runaways  is proving to be just as brilliant, if not even more so. I should say here that this picture is actually slightly misleading, though does show you my second favourite train pastime – eating M&S picnics, as I am not only reading one book but two. I am  also slowly (because it is so good) reading Christos Tsiolkas’ Merciless Gods one story at a time so as I can savour it for as long as possible. That said Deborah Levy’s Hot Milk is begging me to read it at the moment, well next.

I can also tell you what a few other people are reading. The Beard has devoured The Trouble With Goats and Sheep (which his mum is now reading) before he comes to see Joanna Cannon and I in conversation at Liverpool Waterstones tomorrow at 6.30pm, he is just about to start Love Nina by Nina Stibbe, now with Savidge Reads fiancé status he has to get his reading habits up frankly. My mother was almost finished reading A Little Folly by Jude Morgan, apparently I started her onto Jude’s books, it seems I need to read them. She is going to read (a signed copy of) Carys Davies’ The Redemption of Galen Pike which I gave her this weekend, I would buy that book for everyone in the world ever if I could.

So what about all of you? What have you been reading, what are you reading and what do you possibly fancy reading next?

36 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

36 responses to “So What Are We All Reading Then?

  1. Latest from Istros books here simon quiet flows the Una Faruk šehić and after that another Patrick Modiano I think

  2. I’ve just finished The Ballroom by Anna Hope which was brilliant and I’ve started The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George.

  3. Andrew Cole

    I read ‘wake’ last year by Anna Hope and I am sure you would like it Simon, and I am keen to read The Ballroom. Last week I finished Carol in anticipation of Hear read this and also ‘Moving’ by Jenny Eclair. I am now on Beatlebone by Kevin Barry and enjoying his writing. Next possibly ‘ The drivers seat’ by Muriel Spark.
    P.s Congratulations.

  4. I wondered if The Beard was a reader! I’m just doing a bit of fun sci-fi reading at the moment. I read a couple of heftier tomes this month and needed to just make a bit of progress through books for a change.

  5. I’m reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall which I’m enjoying. Also recently loved Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig and Girls Will be Girls by Emer O’Toole.

  6. I’ve just finished The Bees by Laline Paull and All DaysareNight by Peter Stamm. I’ve just started John Crow’s Devil by Marlon James and (as a total contrast) All Cheeses Great and Small by Alex James (of Blur fame). Next up will be Pink Mist by Owen Sheers.

  7. I’m reading Oblivion, by Sergei Lebedev, a super novel translated from the Russian – New Vessel Press

  8. I just started reading H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald!

  9. Kateg

    Finished Carol recently and am excited for Hear Read This! Currently reading South of Broad for a book group. I have never read Pat Conoy before and with the sad news of his cancer diagnosis, I am glad I am reading it. Next up, H is for Hawk based on your say so; I almost bought it as a Christmas gift for myself, but I got very lucky and won a copy from BookBrowse.com in order to participate in their online book discussion. Congratulations!

  10. Thank you for introducing Sunjeev Sahota’s book. It sounds very good. Will be looking out for his first book as well.

  11. I have been meaning to get to Sunjeev Sahota’s The Year of the Runaways ever since I saw it on the Man Booker list, sadly that has not happened, but I was unaware that this was not a debut. If I like this one I will definitely check the other one. I am currently reading an ARC of “These Heroic, Happy Dead: Stories” by Luke Mogelson, I have barely started it, but I have high hopes, books about war are some of my favourite to read.

  12. I’m reading a quite crazy but really delightful book about how a witch and a scientist try to save the world from imminent destruction: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders. It’s just out from Titan Books and although SF isn’t always your thing I think you’d like it. 😀 I just finished My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante, which I absolutely adored. And next I’m going to be reading Arsenic for Tea by Robin Stevenson, which is the second in her children’s mystery series set in a 1930s girls boarding school. It’s all murder, buns and lacrosse. A proper relaxing read.

  13. I’m in a bit of a slump, I can’t pick anything in particular. I think the last book I read was Chess, which was rather good.

  14. I’m in Reading Ireland mode so have just finished Kevin Barry’s amazing Dark Lies the Island and am starting Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume.

  15. yesterday finished Saga, Volume 3 and the series keeps improving by each volume🙂

    currently reading Far from the Spaceports by Richard Abbott and so far so good. Also currently listening to The Diamond Age: or, A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson, still good but not so much as previously mentioned book

  16. happyphantom

    I’ve just finished What Belongs To You by Garth Greenwell which I bloody loved, but it does seem to me more a book of three stories than a novel, not that it matters. The writing is fantastic and the sense of repression throughout is wonderfully done. Just moved on (finally) to The Song Of Achilles which I’m liking but not loving so far. Next is either Gold Fame Citrus by Clare Vaye Watkins or The Cauliflower by Nicola Barker. Anybody read either of them?

    Congratulations Simon.You’ll have beautiful children. Or cats.

  17. Ann

    I often read two books at once.

  18. Victoria

    Currently reading Exposure by Helen Dunmore, which in some ways reminds me of early John Le Carre, and The Secret River by Kate Grenville, as I’ve been inspired by another blogger Kim of Reading Matters to read more Australian books this year.

  19. Well, I’ve just finished “Owls Do Cry” by Janet Frame to review on Edith’s Miscellany in March… and I have “Look Who’s Back” (or really its German original “Er ist wieder da”) by Timur Vermes at hand to start as soon as possible.

  20. I’m currently reading ‘Proud’ by Gareth Thomas and have ‘The Trouble With Goats & Sheep’ ready to read after I finish it.

  21. Goats and Sheep is in my near-reading-future (and, for the record, I really enjoyed Love Nina). I’ve just finished Shirley Barrett’s sublime Rush Oh!, a story set in an Australian whaling town in 1908. Next up, Fred Ulhman’s Reunion.

  22. I just finished Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa and it was incredible. It will be hard for someone to beat this out as my favorite book published in 2016.

    Right now I am reading Brother by Ania Ahlborn. It’s rather gory and twisted, but I am enjoying it.

  23. Last week was great, I had quite a lot of time to read, so I finished Americanah, We Have Always Lived in the Castle and Murder in the Museum. Next on my radar as The Shore and also Hot Milk, I’m very curious of your review of Hot Milk.

  24. Fiona

    Just finished An Officer And A Spy, which was a fascinating read but didn’t find it as gripping as others seem to have done – something to do with Harris’s writing style I think. Now onto Dean Koontz’s Intensity, but have bought The Year of the Runaways and it is calling…

  25. Delyn

    I have just finished Kauthar by Meike Ziervogel , a story about a British girl who becomes involved in Islam to the extent of becoming an extremist. It is a short book, but very powerful. I’ve also read the Space Between Us by Thrity Umrigar which is about the relationship between two Indian women, servant and mistress. A wonderful picture of India and is heartbreaking at times.
    Now reading Tracy Chevalier’s The Last Runaway concerning the life of Quakers in Ohio and their involvement in helping slaves to escape – duty v. conscience.
    With so many attractive recommendations from other readers , when will I have time to read them?!!

  26. komal

    The Year of the Runaways sounds like a book I need to pick up soon. I’m a bit late to the party but I’m finally reading A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James.

  27. Michelle

    I recently finished Helen Klein Ross’s engrossing psychological suspense debut “What was Mine”, told from multiple points of view and Rachel DeWoskin’s wonderful, “Repeat After Me”. I am now reading the debut novel by Sunil Yapa which is a very good story. It is interesting to hear him speak as he did tons of research for this novel.

Leave a Reply

