An Evening With Joanna Cannon…

As many of you will know I am a huge, huge fan of Joanna Cannon’s debut novel The Trouble With Goats and Sheep, it is one of those books which I would called ‘required Savidge reading’, ha. So I was delighted last night to host the first event of her book tour at Waterstones Liverpool One last night, and it was a real treat – hopefully as much for the audience as it was for Joanna and myself.

IMG_3327

What I love about live events with authors, whether I am hosting them or not, is the fact that you can find out so much more about the book than you could ever imagine because people always have some really quirky questions. I also just love hearing from authors on how the story comes to live, not so much the writing rituals (though that can be fascinating) more the way certain little sparks can lead to a stories creation and where characters come from. I love all of this and was enthralled as Joanna read and answered my questions and even more interestingly lots from a very engaged audience.

IMG_3328

I would highly recommend you read The Trouble With Goats and Sheep at your earliest convenience and, if you can and happen to be in the vicinity, I would highly recommend you go and see Joanna on the rest of her tour, she is charming, fascinating and a joy. So there! Can you tell how big a fan I am of this book. Anyway, come on, join the flock…

IMG_3344

I am feeling quite spoiled as I will be chairing the Manchester event next Tuesday at Waterstones Deansgate, so get to do it all again. It would be lovely to see some of your smiling faces there. Do let me know if you can make it. If you can’t make any of these dates you can hear Joanna and I on the last episode of the second series of You Wrote The Book here. Right enough of The Trouble With Goats and Sheep for now, though I will be banging on about it a lot throughout the next year… or five, or more. Ha!

2 Comments

Filed under Joanna Cannon

2 responses to “An Evening With Joanna Cannon…

  1. Fingers crossed! I’ve requested the first book from Netgalley.

  2. Oh I’m really sorry I missed this event. I love author events too – you are completely spot on about the unexpected joy of the random questions.

Leave a Reply

