Where Does The Time Go? (I Used To Be A Blogging Machine)

Without blowing my own trumpet, as this is not something I can do and I have tried, over the years lots of people have asked me the same question quite a few times. No, not that one, another one. ‘How do you make time and fit everything in?’ I used to look bewildered or just, with a vague smugness, say ‘oh I make time’ and serenely drift off. Well, karma is a bitch and recently I have been asking myself just how on earth I managed work, a social life, reading, blogging and podcasting all in one week because over the last few weeks it has seemed impossible. Where once I was some kind of blogging machine, who could read a book every other day and blog every day, I have now become a man who takes a week to read a book or two and seems to only find snippets of time not long enough to write reviews. Or finds he has a day so back dates a few and then realises has no future content. It has all got a little muddled somewhere.

Not that I am complaining I have been busy doing lots of things that I love. Work has been good with some lovely literary Liverpool projects to work on as well as lots of exciting festivals over the next year or three, though my probation meeting is next week and I am somewhat nervous as you never know. Then there’s been decorating, trips to Cyprus, an engagement, time away with my mother seeing some family I hadn’t seen for over a decade last weekend, got far too excited by an All Saints reunion, hosted some live events with Joanna Cannon (have I mentioned you really must read The Trouble With Goats and Sheep) oh aswell as becoming a Stonewall School Role Model (and giving my first talk), being made a member of the Library Advisory Board and a This Girl Can Forum, so am feeling like a proper grown up. One of my new year’s resolutions was ‘to do lots of different things and lots of things differently’ and I am definitely doing that.

One of my internal new year’s resolutions was to blog more and I am a bit narked at myself that I haven’t been blogging as much. BUT I have been plotting and planning a few projects off blog all around books, book prizes and the like which will be coming to, or featuring on, the blog soon (two of them this week in fact, so I am not just being vague with no actual grounds) so things are coming honest and equilibrium is being reached, which feels very nice as I do miss blogging. Speaking of which I haven’t caught up with a blog or a bookish podcast in ages, I need that magic spell Hermione Granger has that allows her to do several things at once, don’t we all?

Anyway, this is a long winded (though hopefully not wanky and self indulgent or just on the safe side of) was of saying ‘oops, I haven’t blogged as much as I would like’ but I should be, even if it is just a random blog asking you what you are all reading, or a simple snapshot of something bookish like a shameless picture of Liverpool Central Library who I am working very closely with and am secretly hoping I could get a desk in a few days a week, I mean look at it…

Cb-SW5HWwAEReq3

Anyway, even more long-windedly as it turns out, that is where we are, things are getting more balanced again. Ooh and by the way, I would love more of you to take part in Other People’s Bookshelves, the volunteer pool seems to have dried up and I love this series as much as, if more so, than regular readers here do, so please do volunteer your services and your shelves. I would also love to know if there is anything you would like me to do on the blog I am not, or any other thoughts, all welcome. Right I am off to try and catch up with something else I have been meaning to do for ages, watching the Icelandic crime drama Trapped. What are you all up to?

5 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

5 responses to “Where Does The Time Go? (I Used To Be A Blogging Machine)

  1. Michelle

    I follow several blogs and it seems to me that you post as much as, if not more than, many of these other blogs. Your posts are always well thought out and engaging and your book recommendations are fantastic. If you want to blog even more, that’s great news for all of us, but please don’t feel that you need to unless you want to.

    Best, Michelle

  2. Quality not quantity! Do what you can, when you can🙂

  3. David

    I know nothing of Harry Potter, but that doing-several-things-at-once spell sounds like something I could do with at the moment, Simon. I usually get through ten or eleven books a month but at the moment am struggling to get through five – it took me over three weeks to read Shehan Karunatilaka’s ‘Chinaman’! But like you I’m not complaining as the reason for the lack of reading time is a mountain of very enjoyable (if slightly stressful) work.
    I think everyone realises that bloggers blog for the love of their subject and have lives and jobs as well, so don’t feel guilty for not posting as much as you’d like to.

  4. I have always been impressed by how much you seem to do while spending most of your photographed time in bed.😉 But you are just in a different life groove right now and there’s no reason to feel bad about that. It’s just as fun to hear about your bookish events and see beautiful locations!

  5. Um, how could you just casually drop the All Saints reunion in there?! I had not heard this, WHAT!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

