Happy World Book Day 2016

It is World Book Day, hurrah, and I thought as we can’t physically swap our favourite books with each other today it might be nice to swap some recommendations of some favourites. I have chosen a few catagories of books that I would love to give copies to everyone if I could and thought you might like to do the same in the comments below…

Your favourite book: Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier (no surprises there)
A recent reading highlight: The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota (so newly a highlight I haven’t reviewed it yet)
A book people might not have heard of or read but really should have: A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra (because it is brilliant on so many levels)
A book which might get someone who doesn’t think they like reading back into books: The Redemption of Galen Pike by Carys Davies (a short story collection where every story could charm everyone and anyone)
A book you can’t wait to read by a favourite author: The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain (it arrived yesterday and my joyous bellowing could be heard throughout the land)

Now your turn, over to you. I look forward to your five recommendations…

10 Comments

Filed under Book Thoughts, Random Savidgeness

10 responses to “Happy World Book Day 2016

  1. David

    My favourite book: “The Mountain and the Valley” by Ernest Buckler (which could also be the book people might not have heard of).

    A recent reading highlight: “My Name is Lucy Barton” by Elizabeth Strout.

    A book people might not have heard of but should have: “Rhapsody” by Dorothy Edwards.

    A book that might get someone back into reading: “Captain Corelli’s Mandolin” perhaps?

    A book I can’t wait to read by a favourite author: I’m going to cheat here and say there are three at the moment – Ethan Canin’s “The Doubter’s Almanac” which I already have a copy of but am waiting until I have time to really immerse myself in it; “Father’s Day” by Simon Van Booy which is due in May; and also in May “Principles to Live By” by David Adams Richards.

  2. All time favourite rings of Saturn by WG Sebald
    Recent highlight The dirty dust by Mairtin ó Cadhain
    Rec for a non reader a lot men don’t read so for me tomorrow Pamplona the short road trip novel perfect for male non readers

  3. Favourite book: The Little Prince
    Recent Highlight: Pascal Garnier’s Too Close to the Edge – so recent it’s not even out yet – comes out in April!
    Book people might not have heard of or read: Mihail Sebastian: For Two Thousand Years
    A book to get non-readers back into books: Fahrenheit 451 or Animal Farm
    Book I can’t wait to read: Your Face Tomorrow by Javier Marias (but it’s a trilogy, so I need to find the time and space to embark upon it)

  4. Favorite book: Wuthering Heights
    A book people might not have heard of or read but really should have: At Swim, Two Boys (It’s a rough read with the Irish brogue, but it’s worth the trek!)
    A book which might get someone who doesn’t think they like reading back into books: I would honestly say a graphic adaptation. They provide enough of the story but leave you wanting more! Plus the graphics jar you out of “reading.”
    A book you can’t wait to read by a favorite author: Eligible, Curtis Sittenfeld’s retelling of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

  5. I’d have to have Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier on my top 5 list too. I would also pick The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien, Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and The Screwtape Letters by C S Lewis.

    To celebrate World Book Day at the school I work at, pupils and staff dressed up as book characters. In Year 6 the staff all went as characters from Alice in Wonderland I went as the white rabbit🙂

  6. My answers to these could change by the hour!
    Favourite book – I always used to say Jude the Obscure, but I haven’t reread it for years, so I’d go with The Blind Assassin. Or Brave New World. Or A Clockwork Orange… I’ll stop now!
    A recent highlight has to be Graham Swift’s Mothering Sunday. Beautiful.
    One you might not have heard of -The Hunger and the Howling of Killian Lone by Will Storr. One of my favourites from last year.
    One for a non-reader – The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris. Just good fun and a great storyteller.
    Finally, the one I can’t wait to read by a favourite author – A God in Ruins which I’ve been ridiculously tardy in getting hold of.

    Ask me again in ten minutes though, and I’ll come up with a whole different list!

  7. Pingback: World Book Day 2016 | Dawn of books

  8. Thank you for these lovely recommendations. Anthony Marra’s book is already balancing on top of my waiting to be read stack, but I’ll make sure to check out also the rest! Your lovely post inspired me to break by blogging slump, so you’ll find my five recommendations here: http://wp.me/p3YPpH-TE

  9. 1. Regeneration by Pat Barker and I know this is cheating anything by Beryl Bainbridge.
    2. The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebank – brilliant, beautifully written and about so much more than sheep!
    3. Firmin: Adventures of a Metropolitan Low Life – this is about a rat who learns to read. It’s set in a second hand bookstore and written by another Savage, Sam.
    4. The above
    5. I love Olivia Laing and she’s got a new book out called The Lonely City. I loved her previous two: To the River and The Trip to Echo Springs

  10. chatebooks

    I’ve read tons of books from different writers and genres so whatever I write here can change on an hourly basis. Here goes…

    Me Before You (Jojo Moyes)
    The Fault in Our Stars (John Green)
    Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn)

    I do love the works of Nicholas Sparks and Colleen Hoover. Unlike other romance books, Sparks and Hoover’s work are filled with emotion and can hit you right in the gut. ChatEbooks posted: https://www.chatebooks.com/blog-Books-to-Read-in-2016-7-Titles-To-Add-To-Your-Reading-List

Leave a Reply

