More Thoughts…

Whilst I have not been blogging anywhere near as much of late, despite my best intentions, I have been thinking a lot about blogging, books, reading and all that stuff it is just finding the time to do it. Between a rather crazy work life, a fair few nights and all the forthcoming weekends in May doing lovely cultural and social things plus viewing potential new homes and trying to sell this one, it has been a bit difficult to do these booky delights. That said I have just done a lovely episode of You Wrote The Book with Wellcome Prize winner Suzanne O’Sullivan, which you can hear here, with a review (along with about 15 more) just waiting to be finished and up on the blog very soon. Anyway, I digress…

I was thinking about all the non booky things and thought I would ask your opinions on something, rather like I did a few weeks ago on vlogging and the like here. I have been wondering if I should blog more about the non booky stuff that is going on in my life of I am working on. For those of you who don’t know I work for Culture Liverpool and we work on most of the cities major events (Giants that walk through the city – see below which got me in the newspapers here, the Three Queens, the International Mersey River Festival, the Blitz commemorations a few weeks ago, Liverpool International Music Festival, the Tower of London Poppies tour and more) so I was wondering if you would like some posts on those, as we are about to go into festival season, on here to give you some insight into that?

BtY9GewIIAArXCe

I was also pondering if you might like more posts on some of the random things I do outside of work, blogging and books – I know who knew that there was anything else outside those things? For example more pieces on theatre trips be they bookish or not (I saw an opera set in a men’s toilet in a gay bar starring Lesley Garrett the other week which was quite something) or other outings to castles and museums and the like – I may have asked this before, forgive me – as well as trips away. I am off to Cardiff, below, with some of my dearest friends tomorrow and was thinking of doing some posts while I am away rather like I did with The Readers Roadtrip with Thomas last year. Would they be fun?

cardiff-bay

So yes, more thoughts which need more of your opinions. Would you like some non booky content amongst the booky content, or when I can’t quite sit down for long enough to give the booky content the time and thought it deserves? Do let me know, I value your opinions, even if I might just run along and do it anyway. Ha!

28 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

28 responses to “More Thoughts…

  1. jananav

    Please do! All of the things you mentioned sound wonderful. My life is devoid of castles, giants, Tower of London poppies, and operas set in men’s bathrooms.

    Bring it on!

  2. Kateg

    Love reading about your life as well as your book life. (Also, the house thing intrigues me beyond reason, I am addicted to HGTV here in the US).

    • Well we saw one house yesterday that I wanted just because there was an attic with the old tiny thin staircase I almost couldn’t get up that the servants used. It was slightly gothic and so historic. Sadly need major work! Sighs.

  3. Tricia

    Please stick to books. Like you I am really busy and I subscribe because I’m into books and not because I’m into your private life – sorry! This way lies losing readers.

    • Thanks for your thoughts Tricia. Do you know I’m not really fussed about readership. I think that way lies madness. I mean I am aware I have an audience, hence why I get slightly (only slightly as its a blog not life and death ha) bothered and guilty when I go silent. I think if people don’t want to read those posts they can just ignore them. It won’t be masses. Just a few. I take your point though, this was set up (mainly) as a book blog.

  4. Karen B

    I’d love to hear about theses things. In addition to all the bookish stuff, I really enjoy hearing about what you do and the places you visit. The Readers Road Trip was great and I totally enjoyed your escapades at the bookstore! You make me laugh and you make me think. I always look forward to any post or podcast you put out there. So keep it coming!

  5. Do it! It all sounds cool.

  6. Holly

    Yes to all of it. It’s so much fun to read about your adventures. The Poppies, the trip to Cyprus, all delightful. Go for it.

  7. Yes, if you find the time, those festival and culture posts sound very interesting🙂

  8. There are so many book blogs. I choose which ones to read partially based on the books but also based on the person. And sharing what else you do in life, what fills in the rest of your life, sounds great. In fact, you’ve got me thinking about sharing more of my life outside books on my blog!

    • I think you’re right about variety and I also think it’s nice to get to know the people behind the blogs too. Not everything obviously. But some bits and bobs.

  9. Mary Arth

    I would love to hear more about your job and your “other” life. I really enjoy your writing.

  10. I read your blog because i enjoy your writing. I agree with Christoph – your reviews are often quite personal and that is part of the charm of your blog and so I think the other stuff would fit in well with that.

  11. Jae

    Yes! I would love to have you include more personal things on your blog. I love book blogs but the ones that really are memorable and the most fun to read are those where the blogger infuses some of their personal life and personality into their posts. Of course following you on other social media is another fun way to get a glimpse of your non-bookish life, but in-depth blog posts are also great too, especially since you’re involved in so many interesting projects.

  12. I say go for it, especially when it comes to the work stuff. I don’t generally hear nearly enough about what’s happening culturally outside of London or my own city so welcome any opportunity for more information.

  13. Please do. At least I can live vicariously in Greece and Crete and Dublin and elsewhere!!!

  14. Kate (Sydney)

    Living in Sydney, I feel like you’re an (young) old friend (although not as old as me…..) who I check up on reasonably frequently (ok, very often). I’m an avid listener of The Readers (LOVE it!) and really enjoyed your road trip with Thomas! As you noted in another comment – if people aren’t interested, they just won’t read a particular day’s posting. So, dear friend, happy to have you post whatever!

Leave a Reply

