And He’s Back, Where The Funk Has He Been?

Forgive me readers for I have sinned, it has been ten days since my last blog post. Ten days which actually feels like ten months as I have been working on the lead up to, delivery of and then derigging of a huge music festival and I am utterly, utterly shattered. I know I have shared a fair few video’s on here with you (some of you love it, some of you not so much) however I thought I would share a vlog I made last week whilst working on the festival, and a few other things, so you could see what on earth it is I do. You know, getting to know me a bit better and all that…

Bar festivals, and working around 15 hour days, I haven’t really done much else i.e. reading or writing reviews. I have mainly been bingeing on Stranger Things on Netflix or pizza’s when I get in. Then sleeping, as much sleeping as possible. So I guess I have been a bit boring book wise. What have you all been up to and what have you been reading? I would love to know.

Also, how can it be Man Booker longlist day tomorrow already, I haven’t even played guess the longlist this year which feels very odd. I might try and squeeze that in if I can maybe, though all I want to do is sleep, sleep, sleep. Oh and host an event with Jenn Ashworth tomorrow night, then I plan a long weekend of nothing but sleeping and reading, bliss. Bring it on. I am hoping to see Sarah Moss, Sarah Perry, Charlotte Wood, Garth Greenwell and Paul Beatty on the list. I need to give it more thought, what about you?

7 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

7 responses to “And He’s Back, Where The Funk Has He Been?

  1. Ann

    Oh Simon – I love your play on words and it has been so hot here in Michigan USA that I can hardly stand to climb the stairs to the computer and then it is hotter p here in my attic. So actually I have not missed your blogs for Vlogs or whatever you call them. I call them cute.

  2. Kate D

    I hope you get some rest soon so you can read more and tell me about books I need to read! I’m just back from a lovely holiday in Thailand and amongst my holiday reading was At Hawthorn Time thanks to you. I loved, loved, loved it – and have recommended it to everyone. It’s a book that would never have crossed my radar so thank you. You are a terrific source of good books for me Simon (and I love your podcasts with Thomas which I listen to as they distract me at the gym) and I’m looking forward to the Man Booker longlist too. It’s reasonably chilly here in Sydney but gorgeous out in the sun. I hope you’re enjoying your summer.

    • Oh I am so pleased to hear you were a fan. That’s lovely news. Hooray. Also lovely to know we help you at the gym. As long as we don’t make you drop or fall off anything.

  3. Tina

    Do you live in Liverpool?
    Have you met Luca Veste the crime writer who is Scouse?

  4. Tina

    Thanks,he seems like a nice chap.
    I liked your video walking round your house.Is there a list of your videos i can access in one place?Like a menu thingy?Sorry not very technical.

Leave a Reply

