We’re Here in the Hills of Perugia (and Holiday Reading)

After twenty four hours in the wonderful city of Lucca, we spent several hours (some of us having to go back for some luggage that has been forgotten, not me for once after the awful incident with my passport in America last year) driving from there to the wilds of the mountainous woods of Perugia and into our, simply stunning, villa. I think you will agree it looks like a reading haven and no mistake…

IMG_8012

We are now here for a week and with no other house in sight, or near us for miles, let alone a town we are just going to spend the days chilling by the pool, reading, playing games and eating vast amounts of the gorgeous local produce and hole ourselves up here for a while. This really, for me with my Dercums, means mainly lying by the pool with books. Which books have I packed with me? Well funny you should ask that, and how kind of you for doing so, I have actually packed seven books in my case and I made a video all about them and why I chose them which you can see below…

… I have finished of the Gerritsen already and am now heading into the Atwood, perfect pair of authors to start my holiday with. That said, the library that this farmhouse is pretty brilliant. I have been eyeing up Ross Raisin, the new Sarah Waters and several more already. Oooh the tempation. Hope you are all well? What have you been upto of late, what are you doing this weekend and what have you been and what are you reading?

11 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

11 responses to “We’re Here in the Hills of Perugia (and Holiday Reading)

  1. I feel I’m on holiday with you Simon! Very cool – all those books to read and relax with!

  2. Gina

    The villa has a library – excellent. I have the next four days off and am looking forward to lots of reading and a little Netflix binging. Glad you are enjoying your holiday!

  3. Ann

    absolutely a stunning retreat. Enjoy!

  4. Kateg

    Beautiful! Perugia was our first stop last Fall and we loved it! I have not watched your video, but jealous you have a library. Finished work this morning and I am on vacation as we say in the States. I need to finish Circling the Sun by Paula McClain for a book club and then it is on to The Sympathizer. After that, it is either your recommendation, The Bells or Thomas’ recommendation of The Inn at Lake Devine. They will all be read, the order is the question. Have fun by the pool with the Burtons!!!

  5. Kate D

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the Atwood – I love her earlier books but not her recent ones …. at all!!! I’ve just finished “Coming Rain” by New Zealand prize winning author Stephen Daisley – very, very good – tough but good. Also recently read the new Maggie O’Farrell – loved it, just brilliant. Enjoy your holiday – looks wonderful.

  6. I’ve been very slowly reading Kenzaburo Oe’s Rouse up O young men of the New Age. It’s about him reading the poet William Blake and about his severely disabled son. It’s extremely intense. So my reading has gone like this – read one paragraph, stare into the middle distance for an hour. Read another paragraph etc. It’s not like anything I’ve read before. Happy holidays to you – it all looks lovely.

  7. Janette Miller

    Full of envy.

  8. Hi Simon, This is the first time I’ve commented on your blog but I’ve been following your the site and ‘The Readers’ for some time (not in a creepy stalker way though). I love Lucca, it’s easy to get carried away there isn’t it? The villa looks gorgeous too and the perfect venue for that TBR list. I’m interested to hear what you think about the Atwood novel. I loved it and it’s take on relationships in a spec. setting. Enjoy the sun and that gorgeous pool!

  9. Isabel

    I just moved to a new city and will be attending a book club meeting. I am looking forward to it.

    The Atwood novel sounds like “hotel California”.

    Enjoy your vacation. It sounds like you will be very busy for the fall.

  10. Karen B

    I’m so jealous! I’ve been wanting to go to Italy for many years and just haven’t been able to afford it. I have distant relatives there, so I may need to go in search of them. Maybe they’d put me up and feed me!🙂

    Your villa sounds and looks amazing. And a library! Absolute heaven…

    Please keep posting so I can live vicariously through you! I hope you’re having a great time.

    Oh, I finally received the copy of The Essex Serpent I ordered. Took ages to get to NY. I can’t wait to start reading.

  11. Is it that shady all day, or did you take this picture late in the day? It looks beautiful. Read away!

Leave a Reply

